Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Top Down Jacket

Knit cardigan sweater with peacoat-like button front. Pleated pieced material at bottom and back. Buttons on bottom of sleeves. Darts in back, for feminine look. *55% Cotton, 45% Modal *Hand Wash *Import Measurements for Size Medium: *Length: 27 1/2" *Chest: 33 1/2" *Waist: 34 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Customer Reviews for Top Down Jacket
Review 1 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:california
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Great Sweater
3.10.2011
"I was afraid to purchase this jacket as I thought that the pleats would cause me to look huge. I ordered the medium and it was laughable because it was sooooooooo large. I returned it to FP locally and they advised me to purchase an XS. I did and I love, love, love this sweater. I then ordered a natural color and was apprehensive about the pink color but it is just wonderful. I only found a S and it fits exactly as the black XS. This is a great price and I would not pass this one up. I would however, not even consider full price."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:Indiana
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Great jacket for spring
2.15.2011
"I have this jacket in black and warm natural, size medium. It does run a little loose. It's lightweight, so it's perfect for spring. I thought the side pleats would make my hips look really wide since I'm curvy, but they don't. They lay flat and accentuate the jacket nicely. Personally, I don't think the jacket is worth $128. When I saw it marked down to $29.95 I couldn't resist. So glad I got both jackets for such a great deal!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:NJ
age:26-30
body type:petite
Cute but not exactly what I was expecting
1.9.2011
"I loved the way the jacket looks on the model but it did flare out quite a bit at the hips. I think I'm just going to put a stitch in the pleats to hold down some of the extra fabic that bells out. This is a light sweat jacket that looks best worn open. It is true to size. I bought an XS in the black and I'm 5'3, 117lbs, and a 34C. The buttons are adorable and I love the sleeves. For the sale price, it's a nice free people purchase. I'm going to hold on to it even though I'm going to have to alter it slightly to fit the way I want."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:Burlington, Ontario
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Cute top/blazer/jacket
12.31.2010
"When I first put on the jacket, I thought I was going to send it back. Then then I found the right shirt to wear underneath and the right jeans - and I think it looks cute. I will wear it in the winter as a blazer or shirt and then in the spring as a jacket. It looks better open then it does closed. It defiently bells out a bit at the hips - but I bought the black, so I am hoping that this does not add alot of bulk to me. My favorite thing about the jacket are the buttons on the sleves. I bought an extra small and I am 5'6" and weigh 118 lbs. The extra small fit just fine."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Flattering jacket
12.28.2010
"Unlike some of the other reviewers, I was impressed with this jacket! I realize it is not that heavy but that isn't what I was looking for. It is more like a structured sweatshirt type style (but better), which I love. I ordered the black, size s, and I am very happy. I liked the fit but did wonder if I would like it better if it were smaller, so I have ordered an xs for comparison. I will definitely be keeping one of the sizes. This is a versatile piece that can be worn year round."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:fl
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
My favorite jacket
12.26.2010
"Got this jacket a few months ago and didnt love it at first, but now whenever a jacket is needed, thats what i wear. I am constantly getting complements on it! Bought it in a beautiful green color that goes with everything. Thank you FP!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Flattering but size down
12.1.2010
"I really like this jacket. It is a very lightweight but sturdy material. Feels durable. I love the feminity of the descending ruffle cut on the sides. Also very flattering. It does have more of a baggy look. It is not form fitted except in the chest. Cute sweater jacket."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:Mansfield, Ohio
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Cute But Can Make Hips Look Wide
11.22.2010
"Love this sweater! I have it in a dark green that they don't sell anymore and it looks really cute and military inspired! I love it, but my only problem is that the little flaps on the hips can make you look wider than you are. I would still highly recommend it though!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:Houston
age:31-35
body type:slender
DISAPPOINTED
10.28.2010
"This jacket shouldn't be referred to as a jacket. It is so thin it's more like a tee shirt. The material on the sides of the jacket is made from a really thin cheap fabric and just looks bad.. Wish it had the same soft knit fabric throughout and I probably would have kept it."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Cute Jacket, Weird Buttons
9.22.2010
"I loved everything about this jacket EXCEPT the buttons. I am slightly chesty and the buttons on the front landed right on the left side of my chest which made for a very unflattering look. I was very disappointed because besides that I loved the jacket. The detailing on the sides created a flowy look that was gorgeous. I understand this is a military type look, but really, it just ruined the entire jacket for me."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:Nashville
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Great jacket
9.11.2010
"I bought this jacket in store and fell in love. I purchased the light pink which looked much better with my dark hair than the black. I'm 110 lbs, 5'5" and the xs fit perfect. Its great for layering over my fp summer dresses to transition them into fall. I got so many compliments on this jacket when I wore it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:california
age:36-40
body type:athletic
super comfy, super cute
8.27.2010
"I actually never thought i'd buy this jacket only because i had my eye on some sweaters. But i needed a light black jacket/sweater and the top down jacket fit the bill. I went to the store just to browse and i came across it there and thought it wouldn't hurt just to try it on. I finally decided to go with this top because i love the style of the jacket and the buttons on the cuffs make it unique. It's a very flattering jacket on anyone, but from the other reviews i read i would have to recommend the black, and maybe even sizing down one size. It's not a "jacket" but more like a "top" that opens up like a jacket because of the buttons. You would want to wear it like a fitted jacket, though, and not a top, of course. I bought the jacket in the xs (i'm 5'5" 128, 34c) and sizing up to a small would not have been as flattering, i don't think. It is very comfy and stretchy and perfect for cool weather. The price is a little excessive, but if you try it on and you love it it's definately worth it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:Dorset, VT
age:14-20
body type:petite
Cute-looking, not so cute-fitting
8.26.2010
"I was about to order this jacket online but decided to go to a store and try it before I spent the money. The color was as expected but when I tried on the xs it was way to loose. The second I put it on, my friend just said "no". The bottom trapezing part of the jacket is too wide and is not fitted at all. The pictures only show the sides and sleeves of the jacket because those are the only nice parts of it. Overall, try it on before you order it because I guarantee it will be a waste of shipping money when you return it."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:31-35
body type:slender
Nope!
8.21.2010
"I tried this in the natural color (decent color) and the only good thing I can really say about this jacket is that I like the look and fit of the sleeves. The body of the jacket, however, is a totally different story. At about the natural waist level the fabric changes- which isn't bad in theory, except that when they sewed in the extra fabric they added pleats which means a ton of extra fabric that bells out around the waist and hips. I don't know about everyone else, but I don't really care to maximize my waist! It was just weird and unflattering so I sent it back.
I ordered an XS, and I'm a 32B, 5'6" 120 lbs, for reference. I don't think sizing down would help anything because I think it's the pleats that are the problem.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:Houston,TX
age:31-35
body type:slender
SUPER CUTE!
8.19.2010
"Love this jacket and love the warm neutral color- in fact, I wish I could find more tops and sweaters in this color- it's so pretty. I wanted something comfy to wear to the park with my kids or to throw on when it's a bit chilly but wanted something different than your everyday sweatshirt. This was it! My only complaint is that I wish the sweater fabric was throughout instead of the cheap pleated material on the sides. Despite that I'm keeping it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Not flattering
8.16.2010
"Unfortunately, the fit of this sweater made me look bizarre. It starts to flare out before your bust ends, transforming your body into a complete rectangle with a teensy weensy bust. It's also sort of rough feeling, meaning it wasn't as soft and comfy as it looks. I love the lines in the top, but it's simply unredeemably unflattering. If you feel that you absolutely must own this jacket, I recommend either trying it on, or (if you have pretty thin arms) sizing down and triple crossing your fingers."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:36-40
body type:petite
cute jacket, not-so-cute color
8.2.2010
"The design of this is really cute, but the warm natural color (a muted grayish pink IRL) looked blah on me. I'm sure it looks good on other people, though!"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:Mexico
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
buy it!
7.30.2010
"This is the perfect sweater its soft, stylish, dressy, form fitting, long sleeved, everything i was looking for, I'm planning to getting it in pink also!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:California
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
F for construction A+ for a cute design
7.29.2010
"When it arrived and i put it on i was in love!...i washed it in cold and air dried, It became a different jacket, due to the inner lining not going all through out the jacket it becomes droopy and pulls the shape of the jacket to be sloppy. Im sad cause it had such potential to be a grab and wear, instead it will take ironing and even then im unsure? This is an expensive item that should not do this, i expect this from a $30 jacket;-(
F for construction
A+ for a cute design
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Top Down Jacket
Name:
Location:manhattan beach, ca
age:over 45
body type:slender
top down jacket, thumbs up
7.19.2010
"I bought the Top Down Jacket in warm neutral. It is adorably gorgeous and comfortable. I love the styling, especially the buttons and the pleats. I am slender (5' 7", 120 lb) and bought XS. I find the jacket to flatter my figure both from the front and back."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large