Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Lace Bell Bottom

Bohemian chic sheer lace flared pants with stretchy waist. Upper part of pants have attached lining. The Nightcap Lace Bell Bottom was inspired by the culture and style of 1970s Southern France. Wear them with a giant sunhat, large oval sunglasses, and your boyfriend's oversized t-shirt for an ultra-chic and unique look that can't go wrong! The lace is manufactured in Paris and has now taken on the reference "Nightcap's Birkin Lace." *By Nightcap *95% Polyamide, 5% Elasthane *Dry clean only *Made in the USA Measurements for Size 2: Inseam: 34" Rise: 8" Waist: 24" Relaxed **Special Note: Sizes are equivalent to XS, S, M, L.
overall average rating:
4.564 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Customer Reviews for Lace Bell Bottom
Review 1 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:Houston, Tx
age:14-20
body type:slender
adorable and unique
5.31.2012
" These are so darn cute! I absolutely love wideleg pants and the lace was so different I HAD TO HAVE THEM. I don't mind the see through lace but for a more conservative person it may be a little too revealing. I ordered a size 2 and they fit very well I normally wear xs in Free People clothing and am a size 25 in FP pants. I am 5'5 and they are pretty long even with 3in wedges they still sweep the floor, one could always get them hemmed though. Overall these pants are a definite statement piece and you will for sure stand out. I LOVE THESE PANTS! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:ny
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Beautiful design
4.26.2012
" I love these! I got them in ash because I felt like the color had the best coverage, but the tobacco color is also gorgeous. I do have a dilemma figuring out where and how to wear them, because for me the shorts are a little too little coverage. I think they'd look cute with a flowy tunic tank. I am 5'9" and 125lbs and got the 3. The smaller sizes also fit, they're super stretchy, but I got the 3 so that the lace wouldn't be stretched so much and would be more opaque. They do look really delicate, and I haven't even worn them besides trying them on in the house, and they're already pilling a bit. But the lace print is really unique compared to a lot of the knockoff lace pants, which makes the difference and makes them worth the price. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:Southern Pines, NC
age:21-25
body type:petite
AWESOME and loooong
4.20.2012
" Just got these, haven't had a chance to get them hemmed, even with my 6" heels they're a bit too long. I'm 5'3" and 95 lbs. They are beautiful though! Definitely worth it and ill be wearing them every chance i get, love the fit! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:Palm Beach, FL
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Be prepared!
4.13.2012
" You wil be the center of attention in these amazing pants!! I caused a sensation everywhere I went in them, and everybody wanted to know where I found them! The little shorts-type lining is really cute, just enough coverage if your top is short. if you're modest, a tunic will cover. They are quite stretchy, comfortable, with no sliding down in back when I sit. Nice pants! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:ny
age:26-30
body type:petite
staple
3.31.2012
" if you like the bohemian look and are comfortable with standing out and being sexy in a high fashion, tasteful way...then get these!!! yea they are very long, but if you are too short, just wear them with platforms or spend a couple extra bucks and get them hemmed. they are very well made. they are delicate but you don't need to be too too careful, just conscious. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
perfection
3.17.2012
" These pants are absolutely adorable. I got the tobacco in size 1 (XS) and I am 5'4" 120lb. Very trendy, sexy, and boho. They look best with really high wedges or Jeffrey Campbells, and they are totally slimming. LOVE! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:21-25
body type:curvy
In Love!
2.7.2012
" I have been checking these pants out online for months and finally made it to a Free People store to try them on and they are amazing! Beautiful lace with comfortable short lining, I tried them in Tobacco and they felt great and were very flattering. I had to leave them behind because I would prefer the Charcoal but they are a great pant and worth the price! I am 5'10" and 140 and the size 4 fit beautifully and were the perfect length with a heel. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:slender
Fashion Statement
2.6.2012
" These are def the most unique pants I own. They are super comfortable and look great with any long vintage tee. I bought the Tobacco color cause they match my skin tone better and don't look quite so see through. So many compliments when I wear. Everyone says they've never seen pants like these before. So if you want to stand out, buy these! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
totally awesome boho staple
1.18.2012
" ok, could not resist these anymore:)...took a deep breath, said terribly sorry to my bank account and called up a FP store that had my size seemingly like they're not going to be more affordable and already run out in my size online and in my local store.
am totally in love- they got here in a day, fit is awesome XS for 5'3 105 lbs, a little long as noted, but what else are platforms for...also loves to help sweep floors, like other reviewer noted. Tobacco is awesome color will wear nicely with my suede toffee crop tank over teal kachow thermal and much more...now if it were only not 20F and ice winds outside.... "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Suede Crop Tank
4.7 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
We The Free Reverse It Kachow Thermal
4 out of 5(21)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 10 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:Orange County
age:26-30
body type:petite
Rockstar pants!!!!
12.18.2011
" I just bought these for my sister as a Christmas gift. They are super comfy and not to revealing. I tried them on and thought they were super cute. Probably need hemming though because they are very long. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Wear these often!
12.16.2011
" Bought these in black, size 1. I could have bought a 2 but they're stretchy so it really didn't matter. The flares are a nice width, not too extreme in my opinion. Coverage of the shorts lining is decent. Beware that the bottoms of these pants pick up everything, like leaves/twigs that have to be picked out carefully after every wear. Definitely recommend dry cleaning these or hand wash according to instructions. I tried delicate cycle in washing machine once (I wear them a lot!) and it seems like the texture became ever so slightly fuzzy. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Such a great pair of pants to have!
12.8.2011
" I can't even say how much I love these pants. I bought these back in the summer but have yet to do a review. I took mine in to get them altered because I am 5'2 and they were quite long on me. I got them altered to where I could still wear heels and have that flowy bell look. Now that it is fall and coming up on winter, I still wear them but I paired a pair of black leggings (because I have the black pair) with them so I could still keep warm. They are also pretty comfortable! I'm 115 lbs and wear a 25 in jeans, I purchased the size 1(XS). "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
roaring 70s!
10.31.2011
" these basically fit true to size. depending on your comfort level with how tight it is, sizing up would give a bit more breathing room, and show no panty lines. the waist and shorts have a lot of give so these are pretty comfy. they're definitely long though. i'm 5'3" and with 5" heels, i'd still need to take a couple inches off. i really like the style of these pants. the lace details is amazing (i've seen cheaper ones in UO, but they just look cheap). the pattern on these are great and the lace is quite sturdy. i find wearing it on its own a bit exposed, but it works great with something over top that covers my bum, so a long tunic/shirt or even underneath a dress/skirt would work. an interesting fact about the lace is that it seems to be quite a magnet for dirt. after a night out, i found myself picking out grass from the bottom that has stuck on. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:Arcata, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Good Festival Pants
10.24.2011
" I ordered these in the tobacco and black. I liked the tobacco a lot online, but wasn't sure. I ended up keeping the black, the tobacco was way lighter than I expected. In the pictures it looks like it has red undertones, but mine are just a muted brown. I'm 5'1" so I'm going to need to hem a significant amount of the pants off. The rise is pretty high on me and the shorts butt area is not too flattering, but I will just roll the waist band down once and probably wear long tops over these anyway. They will be good for festivals next summer and lounging around my house when I'm lazy, but still want to feel stylish. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:nj
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
gorgeous
10.2.2011
" these pants are amazing.. the first day i got them i got compliments from even my guy friends.. (maybe cause the pants are see through, lol). i got them in the ash color which is much lighter than what is pictured, it really truly is ash, a medium gray. im 5'7, 135 lbs and got the size 3 and they fit perfect. the lace is detailed and dense enough that you really will feel very comfortable wearing them.. buy them, they are worth every penny! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:Asia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
very flattering!
9.17.2011
" I got the size 4 and I have a 29-30 inch waist, fitted just a tiny bit loose, but I like a loose fit anyway. I hemmed this with the bells just slightly above my platforms and was shocked when so much dirt gathered at the hems! I literally swept the floor and the lace picks everything up!! nasty shock but my advice is hem it well above your shoes if you want them to stay nice! otherwise this is very unique, and it's definitely not cheap looking lace which I appreciated very much. They are fairly sturdy but watch that you don't sit on anything that will pick on the lace! I am definitely ordering the tobacco one soon. It's suitable if you live in a warm climate. LOVE it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Grrr...
7.28.2011
" WOW these are long! I'm 5'2" and wearing 5 inch platforms there is still fabric dragging on the ground. How tall is the model, and how big are her shoes???????? There should be at least one flat footed shot for these types of garments AND model height info. Not providing this info wastes my time and shipping money. There's a reason I have MAJORLY scaled back my FP purchases, and it has everything to do with routinely finding out I'm too short for an item when had FP simply posted model height and shown the garment being worn by someone NOT in platforms, I'd have known better than to order!!! GRRRR!!! That said, if you're 5'8"+, these are gorgeous leggings, and generally well made. The fit is TTS. "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:petite
SEXY!
7.26.2011
" good god these pants are gorgeous. so unique... i couldn't picture my life without them.
The waistband is form fitting, but the pant leg is nice and loose, sticking with the boho feel. (the breeze you feel through the pants is also an added bonus!)
my ONLY complaint is that they were way too long. I bought a size 1 in black, and i'm 5'0 so i had no choice but to chop off a lot of that gorgeous material, while having to sacrifice some of the bell in the process. I still love them, but i would have loved them more if i didn't have to cut off so much off. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:ontario,canada
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Perfection<3
7.9.2011
" I just got these (in black) in the mail today,and I can't express how much I love them! As soon as I tried them on they became one of my favorite items in my wardrobe! I had agonized over whether or not to get them,worrying that this was a style that might not be flattering for those of us not petite like the models,but I'm so glad I took the risk! They fit like a dream,I almost couldn't believe how good they looked on me. The lining is long enough that I don't feel like I'm walking around in my undies,and the lovely lace smooths over & distracts from my problem ~chub~ areas,haha.They are super duper looong,so they're definitely not for wearing with flats,but that's not a problem for me since I rarely wear heels shorter than 4/5inches.All in all I couldn't be happier,thanks FP! <3 "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Lace Bell Bottom
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
So Fabulous They Should Be Illegal!
7.5.2011
" What an amazing fit! These are fitted through the hips, butt and thighs perfectly. The flare moves through the leg subtly ending in an updated bell. They are very long and skim the floor when I am barefoot (5'9). The pants hang and move nicely! I have them in Ash which is a lot more grey than pictured. I usually don't like to buy two of the same thing, but I am planning on getting the Black ones too. Beautiful pants! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>