Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Desert Peasant Tunic

Oversized slub knit tunic with gathered elastic neckline and ruched sleeves. Tie details and curved bottom hem. *100% cotton *Machine wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length 29 1/2" Chest: 38"
overall average rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Reviews for Desert Peasant Tunic
Review 1 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
love it!!
5.2.2011
"I loved this tunic from the moment I saw it online. I got the navy in a medium and it fits me perfectly (34b, 6 feet tall) . It's the kind of top that I think would flatter all body types because of the way it drapes over the body. I highly recommend it, especially now that it's on sale!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:Southwest
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Great shirt!
5.2.2011
"Top fit well (5'5 125lb ordered small) I found material to be sheer but not so much you have to wear a cami under. Lays well on body, covers but doesnt look like a sack. Great detail, cute with jeans, shorts or leggings. went back and just ordered the coral!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:NY
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Nice top
3.31.2011
"I didn't think it was my style at first, then i realized theres a couple ways to wear it and it fit my body pretty well. Nice shirt overall."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:santa cruz
age:14-20
body type:athletic
sale price=LOVE
3.4.2011
"I saw this tunic in stores about 2 months ago, it was sooooo soft! But for $80 i decided that i shouldn't get it. im very glad that i didn't, even though after tax and shipping/handling it was only $10 less than original price i still think it was a deal.
I got the sea green color, im excited to wear it with white leggings for my upcoming spring break trip:)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:NJ
age:26-30
body type:petite
Cute but just OK
2.27.2011
"The top looks fantastic in the pictures but wasn't the quality I was expecting. For the price($78), the fabric should be thicker. And considering I bought the white, it's completely sheer and have no choice but to wear a cami underneath. I agree with the other reviewers who said it would be great as a beach cover-up. Anyways, the sleeves are really cute scrunched up and neck line is flattering. I got the XS and the top was really long on me. It hit me at the top of my thighs and covers my butt. Granted I'm also 5'3 120lbs with a short torso and really long legs. Decent buy for the current sale price."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:So Cal
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Great Peasant Top!
2.24.2011
"This is super cute, especially with the sleeves scrunched up. The detailing along the neckline is unique and the fabric is lightweight which is perfect for warmer weather. I purchased the white and it's my new favorite. A definite must have for your closet. : )"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:31-35
body type:petite
cute and comfy
2.12.2011
"purchased the XS, & it's nice & oversized just like the pic. I got the green color and don't have to wear anything under it since the color is dark, & a bra doesn't show through. I was expecting the length to be longer on me than the model since I'm 5'3", but it's slightly shorter (not too much, though.) The reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because the fabric is so thin & overall I'd expect this top to be a little cheaper."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:petite
Very Unique!
2.10.2011
"I bought the red coral (more pink than red) in an XS (I am 5'1" 95lbs) and it is definitely oversized...lots of room in the middle and tonnes of fabric at the sleeves BUT it is super cute and unique. I will wear it with leggings as it is very roomy. the colour and detailing is gorgeous. It looks like it does on the model. Maybe a bit overpowering on me but I still love it:)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:Iowa
age:26-30
body type:slender
Adorable!
1.30.2011
"I bought this top in the cream color and I love it...it is cute with the sleeves tied up. This top is a little sheer so you have to wear a cam underneath,but it still looks cute. I would love to buy this in the navy."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
cute top
1.22.2011
"I purchased this top in a medium and then exchanged it for a small because the medium was very large. It's a cute top, but can make you look bulky. Since I am petite, the length is somewhat of an issue because it runs on the long side. Lastly, the red coral color (the color I purchased) is more like an almost pink, melon-y color. Otherwise, a very cute top."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:31-35
body type:curvy
So many ways to wear…
1.4.2011
"I went in search of this at my local Macy’s store because I saw it on FP.com and I wanted it for my vacation in a couple days. I found it! This looks great with the sleeves tied up, which adds a little something extra. I purchased the red coral, which looks slightly more orange than red in person. Like another review said, I plan on wearing this with shorts, skinnies, and even as a swimsuit coverup. Very nice."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:West Palm Beach
age:14-20
body type:petite
pretty much in love.
1.3.2011
"I got this top a few days before Christmas in Sea Green, it's fantastic! Like the previous reviewer said, it looks best with the sleeves tied and scrunched and such. It's so casual, yet chic. I'm short and small at 5'1 100lbs but this top didn't swallow me up. It's so soft and easy! You could wear it with skinny jeans and boots, flats, sandals...or even as a bathing suit cover, as I've done about 3 times over Christmas Break :). Amazing top."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:petite
A great basic for any season
12.31.2010
"I was looking for a good basic top to dress up and this was a great buy. I was afraid this was going to be a stiffer material, but it was soft and flowy. It drapes in a very flattering way and its easy to dress up. Recommended for any wardrobe."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:Eastern Connecticut
age:36-40
body type:petite
All around perfect top!
12.27.2010
"I just got this top in the mail on Christmas eve and wore to dinner at the fam's. I ordered it in my usual size small in the navy and was pleased with both the fit and the color. I wore it with some basic bootcut jeans but think this would look great with skinnys too. Don't get this top to wear with leggings cause I'm only 5" 2" and it di not work on me. It looks best with the sleeves tied and scrunched up like how the model wears them. this top is a bit loose but since its a peasent style thats how it should look so I say order your normal size. I love the semi sheerness of the cotton and the elastic ruching around the neck and back keep it from looking too basic. Overall a great purchase."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Very Nice
12.25.2010
"I just got the white in the mail, and am very pleased. I got it to pair with my 'Folk Festival Vest." It fits just as it fits the model, and I ordered the size I always get in fp. Longer than I expected, but that could be because of my 5'5" height compared to the tall models. It's a bit more white instead of the off white that the pictures show and the ties on the sleeves are also pure white, but that's neither here nor there. It's extremely soft and the perfect amount flowy for all of us "Meadows." If it goes on sale I can't wait to get the navy too."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Folk Festival Vest
3.8 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 16 for Desert Peasant Tunic
Name:
Location:Florida
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Fallen in Love
12.14.2010
"I have absolutely fallen in love with this top! Everything about the way it drapes on the body is flattering. I did order a size down, for a more fitted look, and I am so glad that I did. Still has that oversized look without being baggy and shapeless. So cute worn with a vest! Definitely recommend!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large