Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater

Pieced pullover sweater with hand-knit patterned body, sweater-shirt sleeves, and bottom banding. Elbow patches. *By Dolan for Free People *73% Wool, 27% Polyester *Dry Clean *Made in the USA Measurements for Size Small: Length: 20 " Bust: 41" Bottom Opening: 40" Sleeve Length: 31 "
overall average rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Customer Reviews for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Review 1 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:New York
age:26-30
body type:slender
Great piece
5.29.2012
" I ordered this sweater in Mayan Blue and I loove it. The color is beautiful and the material is light but warm. I think I can use this on cool summer nights and well into fall and winter. It fits true to size. If you size up, you'll get longer sleeves and a boxier look, so I recommend sticking to your size. I'm very happy with this sweater. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Many compliments on this one
5.22.2012
" I bought this in the Sunset colour, which in my view is very striking. I would not even have considered this in the other colour options. It has raw edges, which make it casual attire, beautiful casual attire. There is virutally no give in the body, so some might want to size up. I will take good care of this one. Eveyone who has seen it has complimented it "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:British Columbia
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Poorly Made
5.8.2012
" I ordered the sunset colour. The sweater is so cute. The issue is that it ran a bit big and the ends of the various threads were not woven in. I returned this because it was too too much to try and fix myself. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:UK
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Love this little cutie
4.12.2012
" I love the colours of sunset and I am pleased it was not as heavy as it looks in the picture. It's very light and wearable. The elbow patches are adorable and the wool front is very soft, not itchy at all. It is quite short, however I knew it would be as measured myself with the measurements supplied on the item details page so it was not a surprise. I will wear it with dresses or slightly higher waisted trousers or skirts. Is great for spring, will be great for chilly summer evenings. Surprised the small was not at all too small, I am a UK 10 on top so not huge but not normally a 'small' either, I usually go Meduim. All that was left was a small so I canhced it and so glad I did. LOVE this jumper. One thing, I have noticed the collar is fraying already after one use so will need to trim the loose bits and rethread some loose stiches. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:Melbourne australia
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Sunset poorly made
3.24.2012
" Hi. Love this jumper bought two. The Mayan blue and the sunset, Mayan blue is great, lovely colors and true to image. Sunset is a problem, although pretty its not a stretchy as the blue and thus I found it kinda rode up and after just and hour of wearing the band around the waist that is connected to the color jumper bit had come away, admittedly cause I pulled it down, but you would expect a jumper to with stand this as it wasn't excessive. But the blue is really cute and well made, cosy I think it probably the correct term :) "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:rolling hills meets prairie
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Woolie color
3.12.2012
" I was very happy to be able to pick up another Dolan piece. I went with the Mayan blue. Sized down to a small. Long sleeves. Shorter than I thought it was going to be. Made in the USA. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:NZ
age:21-25
body type:petite
Gorgeous! but poorly made
3.11.2012
" I bought this top in Sunset, it's truly adorable and unique. I'm petite, 5ft and the XS fits just like on the model. BUT! when I received it there were several of the woven wool strings pulled out in loops and even a few coming loose at the sides. plus there was a 2 inch gap at the back where the woven bit hadn't been sewn onto the sweater waist band properly. I didn't want to spend another $40 international shipping to return it plus due to shipping mess ups and delays it was already to late to return. after a LOT of fiddling and sewing I managed to mostly fix it and make it wearable so its not a complete loss. But seriously?? for that price I expect better quality. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:atlanta
age:41-45
body type:petite
such a cute top
2.13.2012
" I've had my eye on this sweater for a while, but was a bit put off by the price. I love all the colors, but when my favorite started selling out, I decided to just go ahead and get it. So glad I did! I typiclaly wear a size 4 or S top, but often get XS in oversized items. In this case I decided to get my usual S, and I'm glad I did. It is loose-fitting, but the insets do not stretch and I think a smaller size would have been too snug in the shoulders and chest. It is cropped - I'm only 5' tall and it hits just at the waistband of my jeans. If you want a longer or more oversized fit, I'd recommend sizing up. This really isn't a sweater, it's more of a very high-quality sweatshirt. The sleeves are a thick, heavy knit, slim-fitting but stretchy enough to fit over another shirt with no problem. The sleeves are too long on me, but I"m short so that's to be expected. The body of the top is a heavy woven material, almost like upholstery. I got the Sunset, which pretty much goes with everything and looks super cool. It's short and boxy in a good way, very flattering. If it goes on sale, I want the other two colors. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:NH
age:31-35
body type:petite
AMAZING!
1.31.2012
" If it was socially acceptable, I would were this sweater every day. I am completely in love! I bought the black in an x-small. Perfect fit, great material, super comfy and warm. EVERYONE comments on how much they love it. Such a great buy; so happy with this fun, funky, yet timeless piece! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Loveeee
1.8.2012
" This sweater is so darn cute! I went with the harvest combo in a small. I usually wear a medium or large, but I like my crop tops to be a little more fitted, so I sized down. This looks adorable layered over a dress, or with a tank underneath and jeans. I love the unique brushed wool finish. Great piece! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
A Styling Miss
1.6.2012
" I love the idea of this sweater and the quality is good. But the cut is super boxy - straight down from armpits to bottom hem which is not quite cropped, not quite long. For me (5'10", 125 lbs; I tried the small) it just looked unflattering and like it could not find a way to sit or settle. There was no evidence I have a waist and it would never be capable of becoming part of my body or move with me in a way all my most favorite pieces do. It was a sad but necessary return. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:california
age:21-25
body type:slender
TOO CUTE
1.5.2012
" i adore this sweater. its the perfect cropped length and the sleeves are super soft and a little strechy. the elbow pads won me over on this sweater. fits very true to size. i ordered the black and it is beautiful and just as pictured! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:Cambridge, MA
age:26-30
body type:petite
worth every penny
12.21.2011
" a bit pricey, but will be a forever favorite. very comfortable, unique, and well made. fits beautifully, a classic piece. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:indiana
age:21-25
body type:petite
per-fec-tion
12.15.2011
" This is a really cool sweater. First of all, let me say that by reading the name "Heavy Knit," I was under the impression that this would be a very substantial, dense wool. It's really not. It's very soft and the sleeves feel like a soft cotton/jersey like a really nice sweatshirt with the wool inset in the bodice. I think this is actually a plus because I want to be able to wear it inside/at work (retail, so I'm moving around a ton) without getting too warm. I love that it's made in the USA. I found it to fit true-to-size (I got XS, which is my typical FP size. I'm a true XS/00 so I can't size down) and I don't think you should size down, because a cropped sweater should fit boxy, you don't want to look to 1992. The black colorway is so cool & definitely classic. I will love her forever! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:Kirkland WA
age:31-35
body type:petite
Classic Piece for SURE!! ;-)
12.4.2011
" Love Love LOVE this one! So unique with subtle detailing and will be a staple for years to come! YAY! Picked up the black color and now drooling over the sunset color!!! Wish they could be hand washed though.... Really dislike having to visit the dry cleaners....
On fit -- I believe is true to size; cropped and boxy is the fit (I couldn't size down as I am xs but for others this may work well for you).
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
size down at least once
11.16.2011
" I love this sweater. It is so soft, and so brightly colored with interesting patterns. I recommend size down at least once, depending on how baggy you like it. Very soft, very warm. HIghly recommend. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
to contrast-y for me
11.13.2011
" Can see the awesomeness in this sweater, but for me, being rather petite, the strong patten took over my body:) great vibe and craftmanship, though. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
So cute!
11.6.2011
" I loved this sweater as soon as I saw it, but when I tried it on, it was a bit itchy so I recommend wearing something under. Also, the sweater runs a little small, so I would go a size up if you plan on layering. I absolutely love the design and the shape of it and if the store I went to had my size, I definitely would have bought it! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:Greenwich Ct
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
very cool sweater
10.17.2011
" Like the other reviewer said this is a piece of textile fine art! It does run tight at the sleeves yet the chest area is a little oversized, also, the wool can be a little rough. I do love the elbow patch and the unique design. Overall if you're thinking about buying it, do it! It's a bit pricey but good quality (made in LA) and a very unique piece! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Heavy Knit Pieced Sweater
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Pieced Sweater
10.12.2011
" Runs small
Tried on a M at the store cause it was their only size (im usually an XS)...and it fit
5'9 / 120LBS
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>