Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress

Pieced together floral printed chiffon maxi dress with bead and sequin embellishment at front of chest and neckline. Straps are adjustable. Lined.
overall average rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Reviews for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Review 1 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:london
age:14-20
body type:petite
bring back this dress
9.22.2013
"pleasee its so gorgeous!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto, Canada
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
It's Nice
6.5.2013
"It's a very nice dress. Flowing, light material and not see-threw like most of Free People's dresses. But I have to say I'm not sure if it's worth the price. The day it arrived the beads where falling off and the string keeping the other beads in wasn't hoisted down so with the slightest tug to the bead they come off. Now you can take the time and sow them back on but really, you shouldn't have to at the price you payed for it. The Dress doesn't really have any form to it, its just straight with no hugging of the body. So I would not recommend it for the curvyer, pear shaped girls like myself. Another thing is its very long. I'm 5'8 and i found myself occasionally stepping on the ends and its so delicate that it rips. So all in all its a pretty to look at and lovely feeling dress thats so delicate you can't do much in it but stand still and look nice."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:Brisbane, Australia
age:31-35
body type:petite
Beautiful but very fragile and arrived broken
5.30.2013
"The dress is amazingly beautiful, very flattering, fits true to size, makes me look taller and skinnier. The fabric and colours are gorgeous. BUT, the dress seems really fragile, and it actually arrived BROKEN, with the fabric at the bottom hem completely ripped on one side. I will fix it myself rather than going through the hassle of trying to exchange it; I live in Australia and postage is quite slow with orders sometimes getting lost, etc. It will be worth it because it is so beautiful but I am a bit upset that such an expensive dress arrived in such poor condition..."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.30.2013
We're so sorry this arrived broken, LilyOfTheValley. We'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:Boulder, CO
age:26-30
body type:petite
Beautiful, VERY Poorly Made
4.25.2013
"I just received this in the mail and, honestly, I almost started crying with disappointment. I had seen this dress in stores about 3 months ago and fell in love, but I couldn't justify spending so much money. After still thinking about it after all this time, I decided to save up and just go for it. It arrived today and, as you can see in the picture, the main line of beading down the very front of the dress is missing pieces and the thread that keeps the beads aligned is completely unattached. I literally unfolded the dress from the packaging and saw beads come unthreaded and fall to the floor. This is one of the most beautiful items I've seen from Free People, but at this price point, they should be ashamed of such poor quality. What on earth justifies that price if the item falls apart before it's even arrived?"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.26.2013
We're sorry your dress arrived in this condition -- we'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:21-25
body type:slender
very pretty print but could use better fitting
4.3.2013
"i'm 5'6 and the dress ends exactly at my ankles which for me is prefect since i don't like when my maxi dress is touching the ground. i'm 100 pounds, own a size 0 and it's a comfortable fir, i wish it was more fitted in the waist because it just hangs with no shape, a zipper down the back or side would've fixed this issue. as anther reviewer mentioned the beads are mismatched, one set is thicker than the other, it kids of ticks me off but not enough for me to return it. the material is very fragile, make sure you don't get your heels or anything relatively sharp caught in it or it will definitely rip"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Disappointing
4.1.2013
"PROS: Fast shipping and adjustable straps. CONS: I was VERY excited to receive this dress in the mail. It was a bit of a let-down. The dress is too loose around the waist and hips...so loose that it's not flattering at all (I'm usually a size 4/6 and I went with the 4 but wished I had sized down). I have pretty big hips and still the dress had no shape to it. It hung like a curtain. It's not very flattering around the bust either. If you're short you'll wind up tripping over the hem. I'm 5'2'' the dress swept the floor. The colors are muted down and kind of a drab in person. It's definitely not worth the price. I don't think it'd be worth even $50. FP normally has cute clothes but this one was a disappointment. I'm returning it."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:DC
age:26-30
body type:curvy
my fav FP dress so far!
3.29.2013
"The most precious dress ever! There are so many fun ways to layer, and it's simply gorgeous to wear as a maxi alone! FP, you've made it rite again! Btw, 5'2 115lbs, size 2 works just perfect!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:So Cal
age:41-45
body type:curvy
A new addition to my collection....
3.1.2013
"Glad I was able to try this on in a FP boutique. It's a fantastic maxi. I did think that it wasn't as bright in color as the pics, but it didn't make a difference one bit. It has a gypsy edge to it and the slits in the skirt make it even cooler. Great with boots or sandals. For me it ran a tad bit tight across the bust. I'm a 36B (almost a C) I went with the 12 for comfort. A great addition to my dress collection. You can always count on FP for great maxi dresses!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:petite
AMAZING
2.28.2013
"This dress is just perfect. It is exactly like how it looks on the computer screen. fabric, colors, front beads, strap, lengths, size, everything. I am absolutely in love with this dress. I thought the price was high for this dress but the dress is so lovely i eventually got over with :)
I personally wish it was a little longer so it comes down to the ankle, because it is right above the ankle and that makes me feel a lil awk... but thats not a problem :)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:Texas
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Great Dress
2.21.2013
"I love this dress! It fits true to size, the colors are much prettier in person! This dress looks good by itself, with a sweater over it, or with a shirt over it! The beading is very pretty, and the length is awesome. Great dress, you won't regret it.
I am 5'9 and 140 lbs, and I got a 4!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Best Pick Ever
2.16.2013
"This dress is absolutely beautiful. Totally flatters the figure! I agree with the other buyers, the dress is roomy - but it's really a comfortable fit. I thought I would be a 2 but a 0 fit a lot better. I am around 5'6, broad build, biggish hips and 32 D. I'm telling you this is an absolute must by! It's so elegant. I saw the picture online of the model wearing the boots and thought: It can be worn in the summer with sandals and fall/winter with the boots. However, I'm going to be wearing this to a formal event, and with a classy pair of shoes (strappy/simple sandal heels) the look is dressed up!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
on the fence
2.8.2013
"I absolutely love everything about this dress...except the fit in the bust and waist. It has no shape to it at all and just looks a bit frumpy. I am scared to send my small back for an XS. I'm not sure if I should just have the top portion taken in a bit to give it that extra bit of shape it needs or to just send it back. It's such a great dress and that's the only reason I'm even bothering with all of this.On the model it has shape, but when you put it on just imagine one straight line down from under your arms to the floor...Very disappointing. I'd definitely order a size down. I'm always a size S or a 4 (26-27 in waist)."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
age:41-45
body type:slender
Pretty but didn't work
1.31.2013
"I wanted to love this dress so much that this is the third one I order. ALL of them had a very crooked placket detail. Some people may not even notice it. I do. Also the colors, eventhough they are beautiful, i feel they kind of make me look dull, instead of fresh and fun. Maybe the dress will work perfectly for many other people, just didnt work for me :("
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
favorite purchase so far
1.25.2013
"Holy moly this dress is AMAZING! the colors are so rich and beautiful in person, I couldn't resist! It's one of those great FP pieces that is going to work through every season, too. All you have to do is pair it with some boots, leggings, and a sweater for the winter time, or a pair of gladiator sandals for the summer. There is literally nothing bad to say about this dress. The straps are adjustable and it runs a bit roomy so size down, but other than that, definitely don't hesitate to order this one! If you do, it's a piece you'll be sorry to miss out on! Worth every penny =]"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:21-25
body type:athletic
The Perfect Maxi
1.21.2013
"Everything about this dress is stunning and it is so worth every penny. Even though, the material is sheer, the double lining combined with the print allows the dress to be worn without a slip. It is extremely comfortable, flows beautifully and will go great with a rugged pair of boots or a cute pair of strappy sandals. This dress is made for a Boho Gyspy Queen!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Midnight Stars Pieced Print Dress
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
FABULOUS!!
1.16.2013
"This dress is stunning! The prints are gorgeous and the fabric just flows. Fits pretty true to size. I normally wear a 6 and that's what I got. It's a tad roomy but in a breezy comfortable way."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large