Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee

Distressed wash muscle tee with extreme hi-low hem. Short cap sleeves. We the Free brings us back to our down-to-earth, All-American roots, made mostly with casual cottons that have a lightly distressed and perfectly worn in feel. This tee will ship to you rolled so it arrives soft and ready to wear.
overall average rating:
3.864 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Customer Reviews for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Review 1 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:over 45
body type:petite
worth trying again in a larger size…..
1.1.2014
" free people xs is usually my size. of course, some styles are still huge on my 5'2" 105 lb frame…..but this time the xs is not the relaxed oversized look as modeled here, it fits too neatly, not tight, just not loose. so, i am returning it and taking a chance on the small. gets expensive with the shipping, but the fabric is soft and i just can't give up on this without another try!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Nice but does run small
12.16.2013
" Very soft tee. I ordered the army in a medium. Usually a medium is a little roomy on me but this was not the case for this particular tee. This was the only reason I didn't give this a 5. I am curvy and this does fit a little snug but not so snug that it detracts from the look. Perfect to wear all year round. Sorry for all of you who may have missed out on this one. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Comfortable with very minor downsides...
12.16.2013
" Mind-blowingly comfortable...material really soft and supple. Feels like pajamas and looks a little like it too. Downside is washing instructions is hand wash only. For such a throw-it-on kind of shirt sure is a little high maintenance. Material probably too delicate for the wash and I think another reviewer said it created holes in hers so I won't even risk it. With my body type (more petite upper and fuller bottom half/5'6" 130lbs, C cup, hips maybe 38-40in), it didn't look as relaxed and "carelessly cool" as the model. It is a piece that definitely needs layers like a vest or maybe a particular belt...with my body type. The sleeves look much longer on model whereas mine looked more cinched. Of course, the threat could probably be pulled out to make them longer... Another thing is because it has pockets, having fuller hips can cause some lumpiness in that area and it was on the brink of that. I think I could get away without feeling like I have to adjust the pockets all the time but I haven't washed it yet. Will make sure its coooool water so it won't shrink. Like it a lot but don't love it. Worthy of keeping, though! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Indonesia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Love it...but
12.7.2013
" Love the material, design, color..
But too bad it runs small. Usually the large size perfect on me.
I'm curvy and prefer loose top.
But I still love it.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:petite
LOVE
12.5.2013
" This is an awesome T! Does run on the smaller side; but it is soft and so charming. It will be hard not to wear it often. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Muncie, IN
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Returning, not exchanging
12.2.2013
" This top is super soft and breathable...and I like an oversized shirt as much as the next girl. However, this top was over-the-top is terms of a 'broken in' look. When it arrived it looked like someone had washed it 100 times already in highly-chlorinated water (I bought it in brown). I'm sending it back. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:USA
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Great Tee
11.25.2013
" I just happened to get the last large of sedona
blue jean tee. I love it
They do run small
Goes with so much
Dont care for the sleeves tacked up but you
can not take them down,dark blue dye with show!
Alittle pricey for a tee,but these are hard to find
Glad i got this one "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Soft, comfy and a great everyday piece!
10.22.2013
" Bought the Sedona color in a size S. It's a little more brown than on the photos, still a beautiful color. I am normally XS or S depending on fit and brand. I decided to order the S and I am glad I did! I have a bit of room in it, XS might have been a bit too tight for my liking. Probably could have even gone with a M.
Great piece to layer or wear on it's own depending on the season. I am definitely considering buying one more color.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Laguna Beach
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Runs a bit small, beautiful colors
10.20.2013
" Very soft and cozy-feeling. Colors are great but the material is a bit clingy so it's best worn by trimmer silhouettes, or, order up if you want it a bit more forgiving on those of us who run to the zaftig. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Love it but also have a problem with tiny holes
9.25.2013
" I do love this top/dress...very soft, comfy easy to wear. Am a little concerned with the fabric and how it will stand up to wash and wear. Although beautifully soft, it is quite thin and delicate because of the distressing process I guess. Anyway, I can't be sure if it they were there before or whether I have somehow caused them, but it has a couple of tiny holes in the front of it already...which will get bigger no doubt. Disappointing as it is lovely and Its barely been worn and I have only washed it once, in a bag on gentle cycle. Still I'd like to get the rust colour too. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb9.25.2013
Oh no! We'll be in touch right away. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Australia
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Comfy and cool
6.29.2013
" I ordered this in the khaki colour, and I love it. It's a great fabric, and looks so casually cool on me. My only dislike was the neckline, I found it a bit small for my taste, so I cut and re-stitched it to suit my decolletage better. I am seriously thinking of getting this in the rust also. I haven't stopped wearing it since it arrived, with skirts, skinny jeans, shorts. Just awesome! Love, love, love! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Southern Cal
age:41-45
body type:petite
VERY COOL, VERY SOFT, LOVE IT!!!
6.28.2013
" This top is going to be a favorite and will get a lot of wear. I bought the Sedona which is a brownish red, exactly as pictured in the studio shot. A really pretty color! I went for the size small which fits me perfectly. I'm a petite 5'2 and I can actually wear this as a mini dress. I'm going to pair this with my Cursoe sandals which I will be receiving soon. I think it will look awesome together. I'm stoked! This top has pockets which is a real plus for me as I can carry my keys, cell phone and doggie bag when I walk my dog and still look fashionable. The short sleeves hit just at the perfect length giving the shoulders a nice line. The fabric is soft and feels good against the skin. This top will easily transition into the Fall and even into the Winter as a great layering piece. GREAT BUY. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Cursoe Fest Sandal
4.6 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 13 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:iI live in Portland Oregon
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
soooooooo soft!!!!!!!
6.22.2013
" there is absolutely nothing I don't LOVE about this top....I got the army color and could not be happier....I am going to order one of the other colors tomorrow....Not sure which one yet. Eventually I hope to own all of them....I love the longer back and I love the pockets. I love the little sleeves and the overall fit on me. I don't think I have ever owned a piece of clothing this soft before. As always, FP stand alone...Unique to say the least. Not perfect but who is.....Idefinitly highly recommend this top to everyone. It's worth the price.too...:) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Nova Scotia, Canada
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Softest T I'll ever own
6.20.2013
" I ordered this T in the navy colour and might have to buy the other ones too because it is seriously the softest easy to wear t-shirt I've ever worn. There aren't any defects on mine at all. It did come a little wrinkled from the long journey to Nova Scotia, but I hung it up overnight and it was good to go in the morning! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Rich colors, Poor Quality
6.18.2013
" I was so excited about this item; it was everything I had been looking for - drapes nicely, rich colors, laid back style; the item, is just as pictured....I was initially thrilled with it and purchased all three colors in addition to pre-ordering the black color (doesn't show on the site yet, but available at the store#. The store I visited had the blue/navy color, the other three colors to be ordered. Unfortunately, when I got the blue one home, I noticed it had a hole near the pocket. When I received the auburn color, I noticed that one had a hole near the pocket as well. Additionally, the brown one had tiny pin holes which essentially will turn into bigger holes with regular wear. I hate returning things, I seriously hate the hassle of it. I have years of items from Free People and have NEVER had the issue of quality before. Additionally, the items came balled up in plastic - wrinkled #absolutely not accustomed to this poor presentation from Free People). All in all, I guess I am just very apprehensive about ordering in the future, and SUPER disappointed - too expensive for such poor quality. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.19.2013
Hi , We're so sorry to hear about the tiny holes! We'll be in touch to help make the return process as easy as possible! This tee will intentionally ship rolled to give it a softer feel so it arrives perfectly worn-in and ready to wear! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:26-30
body type:petite
Unique, Unexpected Love
6.13.2013
" I really love this shirt, although I didn't expect to. The material is super soft and comfortable, the colors (I got it in both Sedona and Washed Navy) are gorgeous... rugged, and distressed looking (without a distressed feel) with a little fade. The fit is unusual only in that I am not used to wearing long shirts or tunics like this but it could works well as a shirt, tunic or dress. I love throwing it over a maxi skirt or short shorts. And it has pockets! Great way to balance and contrast an elegant skirt or different textured shorts. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:21-25
body type:petite
really like this shirt.
6.12.2013
" So a few people have been saying it has an odd fit, and I haven't found that to be the case. I'm kinda skinny, but my hips that I've previously referred to as 'baby cannons' fit nicely under this new spin on an old classic. It's so soft, and I'm very happy with it. The sedona color is a little more rusty orange in person, but the rest of the shirt makes up for it. To compare, I'm 5'7", almost 120#, and wear a size 4 in pants. I'm almost considering getting the mermaid skirt, just because the outfit looks SO good in the picture... "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
softest shirt...oddest fit.
6.11.2013
" Hoped that mine would fit but sadly ...nope. Its supersoft and i LOVE the color..got the blue... and the very top part fits great but from there on...not so good. the back is way to triangular and it looks superfunky from the side where it poufs out just below the shoulder blades.. I do have narrow hips so perhaps this is part of the fit issue... "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:New England
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Great shirt , bad fit!
6.8.2013
" This top is great as far as the color ( sedona is beautiful) , the cute sleeves , flattering neckline ,luv the pockets & the fabric is soft and good quality. IT DOES NOT FIT , even sizing up- the top of it fits well but the waist/hips are a very tight ,unflattering fit. It needs a bit of a flare on the bottom half to be the perfect shirt. It is also just a bit too long , especially in the back. If you are stick thin and no hips it is the shirt for you ! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for We The Free Golden Eye Muscle Tee
Name:
Location:glendale,ca
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
SOO SOFT!
6.8.2013
" Two in one shirt! This is another easy to wear piece to lounge around all day feeling comfortable! I wear this mostly as a dress by itself and pair it up w/my JC Romana fest sandals! Super cute! Definitely, defines your figure too! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>