Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

My Darling Dress

Super soft maxi dress with tiny perforated detailing and high-low hem. Features spaghetti straps that tie in the back. Semi-sheer. Unlined. *65% polyester, 35% rayon *Import Measurements for Size Small: Front Length: 33" Back Length: 38" Bust: 22" relaxed
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Customer Reviews for My Darling Dress
Review 1 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:Washington
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Adorable
9.6.2011
" This dress is very soft, and very adorable. It is also very see-through, and fits very close to the body. If you're between sizes, you might want to size up--I got a medium, and I probably could have gotten a large and gotten away with it. The straps are long, but since you can tie it tighter, that's not a big deal. Just be careful putting it on, because it's complicated! :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:Detroit
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Sexy and comfortable
9.4.2011
" This dress is so soft and feminine. For me personally, I love the rose, as it blends in nicely with my skin tone for an almost nude look. Very romantic look over a simple t-shirt slip. I like to wear it dressed down with a jean jacket and some sandals. Or dressed up with a lacy black cardigan and some peep toes. I've hardly taken it off since I got it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:Alaska
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Sheer
8.19.2011
" I absolutely loved this dress, with the exception that the fabric was just too sheer to be able to wear without anything underneath it. The fabric is doubled up at the chest, but besides that, it's quite see through. I ordered the rose and loved the style and flow of the dress, but had to return it because realistically I wasn't going to wear it. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Flowing & Glowing
8.18.2011
" This dress is definitely a must buy. I LOVE the length and the way it lays on my body. Although, if you do intend to buy this dress, be sure to have a good slip; this dress is incredibly see though and it definitely shows everything thats going on underneath the dress.. if you know what I mean. But despite those sidefactors of the dress.. I still think that it is worth buying. I think that this dress is an all year long dress and best part is that since it is so simple and delicate IT CAN STAY IN THE CLOSET!!! (: "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:austalia
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
pretty
8.17.2011
" Grab one at this price as it is a perfect easy layering dress. Runs a little large as I'm tall & average build. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:Schererville, IN
age:31-35
body type:petite
Undecided
8.11.2011
" I'm not sure what to think of this dress yet. I ordered the rose color. It is sheer, I'm just not quite sure what I want to put under it yet. Whatever is under it will need to be incredibly thin, or it wont sit right. Cute design though! For $30 it's a keeper, but I wouldn't pay more for it. Could make a cute cover up. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:MA
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
pretty nice!!!
7.27.2011
" i just ordered this piece and can't wait to wear it! I am 5'9", about 120 lbs. and a 34C and I chose the rose in a Medium. This is so pretty but is see through and a little loose in the back with the tie but is still a great dress for the price! It looks pretty much the same as on the model, but is a little dull without a belt or jewelery! Hope this helps! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Love the rose, now I'm ordering the white!
7.21.2011
" It's pretty simple but it's unique! I ordered the Medium and I'm 5'7, 136-140, size 6 and a 34 D. I'm very happy with the Medium in the rose color. I put the marvel slip pictured below underneath the dress and loved it! I do wear a shaper underneath mine to look extra sexy but don't necessarily need it with this product. I'm hoping this looks just as good in the winter with some leggings and boots! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Marvel Seamed Slip
3.8 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Fabulous for price
7.21.2011
" At the sale price, you simply must have this. I got this in XS in rose and it is soft and versatile. It is very comfortable. It is clingy, but not in a bad way. The cut of the dress is pretty forgiving. It is a little low cut (but I'm busty - 32D) and will snag easily, so be careful! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:Orlando, FL
age:26-30
body type:slender
love it
6.27.2011
" I bought this in pink first, and i've worn it so many times since, i decided to get it in white too. It's very comfy, and flowy and girlie, and you can change it up with a different under dress. i'm 5'3.5" 120 lbs, and the xs fits like a glove. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:Nebraska
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
ugh
6.19.2011
" I got this in the ivory. I basically hated it. It looked terrible on me. The material is very slinky and with a fitted tank dress underneathe it it was very unflattering to my hourglass shape. Very lumpy and bumpy and didn't sit right and was a giant mess. Also the dress and material is totally not worth the sale price of $50. If you bought this at the regular price you are a fool. This is from the FP beach collection so keep that in mind. Don't expect an actual item of clothing. "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:UT
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Well....I thought it would be cuter
4.13.2011
" This is soft, feminine and flowy, but I thought it could be better somehow. I don't think it goes with the white crop recommended by the other review, cuz I have them both, and they just look weird together. I tried to add belts, but still it doesn't look right, and trust me I got lots of belts of all kinds. I'm 5'5, 108 pounds, xs fits well. The strings on the back confused me for 5 - 10 min. It's a great layering, but I feel something is missing. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
GREAT
4.5.2011
" I love this dress in the rose! I ordered a large and it fit nicely at the bust, and flared gracefully from the hip. The pointelle fabric is so cute and girly. The length hit my 5'9" frame just like it does the model. I adore this dress!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Style Ideas:
Add a mesh slip underneath, a cropped bralette over top the dress, and a waist belt for a romantic look.
Add the rib and lace slip underneath, and a cropped top over the bodice for an everyday look. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
FP ONE Mermaid Maxi
4.1 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
FP ONE Reflected Florals Crop Top
4.8 out of 5(22)
 
 
 
Layering For Love Cami
4.7 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 14 for My Darling Dress
Name:
Location:ct
age:21-25
body type:petite
need style ideas!!
3.25.2011
" Got this in the mail today in a size Small. At 5'3 the length hits me perfect, i can wear flats with this no problem as it does not touch the ground. my 34C/D chest fits the top no problem but my waist (25") and small rib cage look a little boxy in this. I may decide to exchange for an XS to get the more fitted look I desire but before I make that decision I really need to make sure this is something I need in my closet. I tried it on with a similar slip that the model is wearing but it still didnt look as good. I usually dont like wearing waist belts since i have a larger chest. Overall though the material is really soft and airy. I just need to see how and where I would wear this! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large