Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Freeport Plaid Shirtdress

Distressed plaid shirtdress with acid washed pleated detailing at front of chest and upper back. Button opening at front. Bottom hem is raw edge and gently frayed. *By Artisan De Luxe *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 35" Bust (all around): 42" Sleeve Length: 26 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.318 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Review 1 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:Ireland
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
worn it every day!
3.19.2013
" I bought this shirt dress ( long shirt on my 5' 11" frame) in the washed black and cannot say enough about how much I love it. I have had in on my wish list for a while and was delighted when I decide to buy it to find it was on sale!. It is a really comfy easy to wear shirt that looks great with leggings or skinnys whilst it is colder. Buy one now before they all sell out!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:Long Beach, CA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Great buy!
3.13.2013
" This is my third Artisan de Luxe shirt, and like the other two - it is great: soft, nice colors, flowy. Yes, it runs a little loose in the waist but it is fitted in the chest area (I am 34B) and bought my usual size (S). I will probably wear it with a belt around the waist. Got the blue color which I think is the prettiest.
You can't go wrong with this shirt.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:36-40
body type:petite
Great for lounging
2.15.2013
" Love this dress over jeans or with tights and boots. I do get razzed a bit for looking like a farmer but I love it. It's soft and comfortable but a bit too roomy. I'm 5'1" and ordered the XS and it is still quite roomy - I had to pin the back. I ordered the red version but if I had to do it again, I'd go with the more subtle blue/gray color version instead. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:lala land
age:26-30
body type:petite
cutie
1.23.2013
" oddly enough even though this is shapeless it still looks good on me. i look like a cute, country girl wearing it. would've given it 5 stars if the material was better quality. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:East Coast
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Love it!
1.10.2013
" Based on the previous reviews that this item is very "roomy" and many others chose to go down a size...I decided to order the XS. (I am usually a straight-forward SMALL in FP). I am very glad I did. However, if you are large busted (I am a 34B) I would recommend sticking with your regular size. For reference, I am 5-5, weight 125. I wear this top with skinny jeans & boots, leggings & boots and some lacy1/2 bra tops or funky tanks underneath. I purchased the BLUE color and I love the color tones! A great piece! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:New England
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Yeah 100%cotton
12.9.2012
" Liked this dress ... Especially the fabric, all cotton and nice soft cotton, and very light weight.. 3 seasons , i'd say. It is very lose fitting so don't be afraid to order down a size. Im 5'4" and 125lbs. And bought the xs, still plenty of room. Nice to layer, i wear a fu.l leotard under it and a sweater over too.
Not exactly flattering but good for all around and outside work, if you are one pioneer type girl who still works outside in a dress.
A little overpriced but i will wear it alot.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:31-35
body type:athletic
One good one bad
12.5.2012
" I purchased the grey color first and really loved the shirt. It was rustic and comfortable. It really is more tunic rather than a dress, at least on taller folks. I loved it so much that I purchased the red as well. Unfortunately as soon as i went to put the dress on i noticed a rip on the button collar. It spread very quickly. The red seems to be made a little differently, more flimsy, so sadly I had to send it back because it was unwearable. Just for reference I have washed the grey color at least three times and it has stood the test of durability thus far. I really wanted the red color though so I am very bummed. :( "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:LB
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Love it!
12.5.2012
" I was bummed because I thought this was a bit expensive, but I just had to have it! I bought it in red, and I love it so much! It is super soft/comfy and has the perfect worn in look. I love the check pattern on the inside! I haven't worn it yet, but I can't wait - I bought the xs and it fits perfect. It is still a bit loose, but I think that was the intended look. For ref, I am 5'7", 34B, 125lbs. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:Arizona mountains
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Too Cute!
11.26.2012
" This little shirtdress is a winner! I got it in the red plaid which looks and feels like a readily worn favorite. The bib detail, frayed edges, length and checkered lining are darling touches. In the real world, I consider myself a medium...yet I took and XS in this, and there's still a lot of material in the skirt area...but it works for me. Great for casual, yet somewhat hip attire any day! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Just what I was looking for!
11.25.2012
" I got this dress in red, and it's everything I hoped it would be! It goes nicely with a denim jacket, and when I wore it with a black scarf, black knee socks, boots and a black purse and it looked really sharp too. I am 5'10", 140 lbs, 34B and usually a size 27/28 (or 4/6) and the small is a perfect fit. If I was any bustier/heavier I would have sized up, but the dress is designed to fit more like a tunic, so it's definitely roomy in the waist and butt. It doesn't look baggy from the front, and while it does from the side, it's still very flattering so it doesn't bother me. The front is a little shorter than the back, but it's definitely not too short. I washed the dress cold, inside out and hung it to dry, and it's in great shape. Minor fraying on the bottom, but not really more so than it was when I bought it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:Winnipeg, MB, Canada
age:14-20
body type:petite
AMAZING
11.21.2012
" I fell in love with this dress in red as soon as I saw it but had to wait till it was back in stock to get it! Finally it came in the mail and I honestly cannot stop wearing it. It's so comfy but so cute, I'm from canada and it's cold now, so I have to wear it with tights and boots and it looks perfect! It does run a little bit looser but for myself it looks good that way. I'm 125 lbs and 5'3, ordered this in a small, and it fit perfect. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:UK
age:over 45
body type:petite
freeport plaid shirtdress
11.14.2012
" I ordered both colourways, and absolutely love both. The red is vibrant and the blue subtle but so pretty. I am a uk exrtra small and am 5' 2 tall. Both fitted perfectly on the shoulders and chest but on me were quite voluminous from the waist down. The red although being the same size did have longer arms. As such as I write, they are being altered to streamline them a little. They really are worth tinkering with. They look great with skinny or bootcut jeans and look so nice with leggings. I am glad Freepeople have launched a Uk site, the selection is just so pretty and wearable. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:petite
#loveit!
11.9.2012
" This dress is adorable, the length is great on any height, I share the dress with my sister who is about 6 inches taller than me and we both love it! The wash is brilliant, really looks worn and vintagy. Add a black or brown belt if you would like a bit more shape, but the dress is cute both ways! put any color lacy slip underneath to give the dress a little bit more snazz! LOVE IT SO MUCH! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:Denver
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Comfy and casual
11.8.2012
" This dress is really comfortable and well made, but it is very shapeless. The model must have the dress pinned in back because it does not actually fit that well. It is a warm and cozy piece for sipping coffee and lounging but I wouldn't wear it out unless I belted it or could tie in back somehow. I ordered it in red and I love it because it reminds me of my college days when grunge was totally in. Most men hate it because of its lack of shape, though. I ordered it in small and returned it for an extra small and the sleeves and bust are fine in the smaller size. It might be too expensive for a lounge piece but I think it is still high quality and I love it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:Austin, Texas
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Disappointed
11.3.2012
" I loved this shirt when I first saw it, but it arrived and was huge. I ended up returning it.... "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:St Joseph, MO, USA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
So comfortable and cute....
11.2.2012
" I tried on both the soft slate and the cabin red. While I was first drawn to the red, on me the slate color looked much better. I am olive to medium complexion and have low lights and high lights in my hair with a hint of red. The dress runs a little large, adding a skinny belt high adds form to the dress. I also am adding the Emily Slip in ivory underneath with leggings and boots. I like the comfort and easy care of the dress. Love it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 17 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:Mississippi
age:31-35
body type:petite
cute, comfortable
10.30.2012
" i really like this dress. It was more roomy than i thought it may be. I am 5'1 and 120 lbs. I ordered the XS and it is very loose. Very cute, long enough for a dress without leggings if you want. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Not flattering at all
10.27.2012
" This dress looked great in the catalog and on the model, but it made me look pregnant. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:monterey bay
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
BEAUTIFUL but sizing varies
10.23.2012
" I am IN LOVE with this dress. I am a huge fan of free people but I must say, this is my favorite free people product I have ever bought. I love it so much I bought both colors, and ordered both in medium. Medium is my usual size but if things run large I sometimes go for a small. I am 34DD though and because of the buttons I decided to go for a medium. The other reviewers are reporting that the fit is true to the depiction in the pictures of the cabin red with the sweater leggings. the soft slate dress is very true to the fit in those pictures on me in the medium. however, in the cabin red the fit is much more like the catalog photos. If I didn't know better I would have guess they mistakenly sent me one dress in the wrong size, but both tags do say medium. Not sure what this means for those unsure about the size to order. Judging by the other reviews I would guess it is safe to guess that this is typically more oversized and the cabin red dress I got must be some sort of fluke. I am lucky it still fits me great! I just can't have it shrink much more so will have to see how the soft slate fares in the dryer. The fabric is soft and hearty and I absolutely love the feel of it. I am not crazy about the neckline but this is not a huge problem because the buttons allow for a v-neck sort of look. The color of the soft slate is much more faded than the pictures show, and the cabin red is darker and not as in-you-face, both colors are much better in person than in the photos. There is obvious distressing in the fabric, with little threads sticking out here and there, but personally I am a fan because it looks more worn which I feel goes with the overall look of the dress. Overall, I am very pleased with both purchases and will love both for years to come, I just wish the cabin red was a little looser, like the soft slate, but I am still happy. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Freeport Plaid Shirtdress
Name:
Location:Southern Cal
age:41-45
body type:petite
WHOA..THIS IS VERY COOL!!!
10.22.2012
" When I saw this dress on the site, I just had to have it. I bought the Slate color. The color is faded just right and the checked fabric on the inside looks so cool when the sleeves are folded. I think this has got to be one of the best tops/dress that FP has ever put out. The fabric is absolutely soft, soft, soft. I usually wear a size small but I ordered an x-small because the dress looked to be oversized in the pictures. Lucky I did. The x-small was still a bit large on me but no prob. I'm going to order the cabin red as well! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>