Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Lofty Down Tunic

Oversized super soft tunic sweater with rounded v-neck front. Slits on either side at the bottom. *48% Merino Wool, 32% Nylon, 20% Acrylic *Dry Clean *Import Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 29"
overall average rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Reviews for Lofty Down Tunic
Review 1 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:chicago
age:31-35
body type:petite
Like a giant teddy bear.
4.7.2011
"Super soft and snuggly. Love this sweater. Brown color is great. Fit is great. Goes with everything. LOVE IT!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Really Soft Cozy Sweater
3.29.2011
"This sweater fits just like on the model. It's supposed to be "over-sized," so if you don't like the baggy look then you probably won't like it. I pair it with a belt and leggings and it's a really warm cute outfit.
Buy the size you usually buy (or a size larger if you like it baggy). I'm tall with a small waist so I got an XS (31" bust, 24" waist)."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Philly
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
So soft. So Comfy. :)
3.24.2011
"Just got this sweater in the mail today :) I'm not sure why this sweater only has 3.5 stars...its amazing. It's ridiculously soft, I know it's a little thing, but I love the detail on the sides! The angle is very cool and the slits add a cool vibe to the sweater! Mine is in brown :) It is warm enough for winter, but I'm also going to test this out at the beach this summer. ~It seems perfect for nights on the beach! LOVE LOVE LOVE!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:21-25
body type:slender
Cozy, But Plain
3.19.2011
"I just got this sweater in the mail today. I couldn't resist buying it to at least try it on - especially at the super low sale price! I bought the taupe color in an xs (I'm 5'6", 130 lbs, 34B), and the fit is oversized, just as is described. The material is very soft and cozy, but it's just very plain. The scoop neck and solid color is a little too bland for my taste. I tried it on with a chunky waist belt, and it looked better - it gave it some shape at least. But overall, with how plain it is I just can't justify keeping it. However, if that's your style, I'd snatch it up at this great price!"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Santa Monica
age:21-25
body type:petite
seriously soft
3.16.2011
"I got this in the taupe size XS and was so pleased, it fits just as pictured and is so soft and comfy! The sale price just makes it even better."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Israel
age:14-20
body type:curvy
wow!
3.9.2011
"This tunic is so soft and nice!!
I got on my b-day from fp and its amazing!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:SF bay area
age:26-30
body type:petite
big but so soft!
2.10.2011
"I agree with previous reviewers -- this is a bit big. And if you're already an xs, *and* petite, this is even bigger (in other words, for me it's almost a short sweater dress). But I still like this sweater, particularly with leggings & boots or heels (something to emphasize slender length under the voluminous sweater)."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Toronto, Canada
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
soft but shapeless
2.6.2011
"I read the previous reviews, and decided to give it a shot. I ordered a small. I loved the softness of the sweater. It honestly felt like I was wearing a blanket. I thought I would be able to wear it out. Then I looked in the mirror. I looked like a potato sack! I looked so much wider than I actually am! It looked like a lump on my body. So I returned it. Sorry FP, but not for me."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Indiana
age:36-40
body type:curvy
I never want to take it off
2.4.2011
"I'm not sure why this sweater only has 3 stars because I love it! It is super soft and so cozy. I bought it in blue, size small. I'm normally a medium to large in FP tops, but I sized down so that it would fit like the model. I'm defnitely going to buy it in other colors. I paired it with the Viscose Voile slip in ivory and the Genetic Kelly Flare jeans. Super cute outfit!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Genetic Kelly Flare
5 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 10 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:26-30
body type:petite
So Soft.. so long!
1.21.2011
"I got this sweater in xs, (I'm 5,1 90lbd) it is so soft, I felt like I would never want to take it off,,, then I saw my reflection in the mirror and threw it right back where it came from! It is no long on me... t is ridiculously long! and the worse part is, it's actually tight, so instead of having the oversize I stole my boyfriend's sweater look, it has this lame asparagus aesthetic.
Unless your tall and pear shaped, forget it!
"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
I like it!
1.14.2011
"This is what an oversized sweater should be. Longer than it is wide, and light with movement. This looks FABULOUS with leggings; with shorts and tights; or with a slip as pictured. It's crazy comfy, and I love it for going out during the day. The material is soft and moves. Most will want to size down, but I didn't. If I had, I'd have still have a nice over-sized sweater, and the fit would have been more like the model. I just like really loose sweaters. Highly recommended!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
runs big
1.9.2011
"Big thick yarn woven into an oversized sweater. Kind has a slubby feel to it. Soft and thick. I sized from a medium to small for a fit like the model"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
So disappointing
12.17.2010
"I was waiting for this to go on sale, because it looks so soft and feminine. It looks pretty in the pic, too, but I have to agree with the reviewer who said this sweater doesn't have enough structure. I don't consider myself frumpy--I am 5'5", size four, with an hourglass shape, 128 lbs--but I felt frumpy looking in this because of the way it just hangs and bunches. It was very unflattering, when on. Disappointing."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Madison, WI
age:26-30
body type:slender
Oh so snuggly soft!
12.13.2010
"This sweater is so pretty! Yes it has "holes" in it, but that is the intentional way it is sewn. It is amazingly soft. I ordered taupe- very pretty color. I made the mistake of ordering a size up- usually I like things baggier on top, but it is so roomy under the arms I am exchanging for the next size down, so, yes true to size. Nice, long sleeves, great overall length- great with leggings or over a dress/ slip! The only thing i kind of don't like is where the shoulder seam sits. Not a big enough deal to make me dislike this top though. Great sweater!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:LA
age:26-30
body type:slender
disagree
11.30.2010
"this is a wonderfully soft and flattering sweater, i had to size down but other than that, i have no complaints, it doesnt hang anywhere it is one of the softest and prettiest sweaters i own."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Cozy
11.11.2010
"I'm going to have to disagree with the other reviews here. I love this sweater! The fit is true to size, I got my usual size small and it is oversized just as the description says. It is kind of see through where there are holes but I think its meant to be layered. It looks so cute over tunics and dresses! It's super soft, thick and warm overall a great buy!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Chiffon & Lace Slip
4.6 out of 5(31)
 
 
 
Directions In Lace Maxi Slip
4.9 out of 5(40)
 
 
 
Victorian Loves Lace Dress
4.7 out of 5(56)
 
 
 
FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
4.1 out of 5(22)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 17 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Big soft marshmellow
10.24.2010
"I was so excited when this sweater was available in dark blue again. But when I got it (I'm 5'11" 150 lbs, L size) I was soooo disappointed. The fabric is made from soft crafting yarn that's non-woven, making the sweater light, fluffy and essentially mushy. It's too light and doesn't hang flat. It's soft and fluffy and hangs away from the body. The images don't depict this. I was hoping this would be a repeat wintertime sweater. Sorry FP a swing and a miss on this one."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Lofty Down Tunic
Name:
Location:sedona
age:31-35
body type:slender
very roomy sweater
10.13.2010
"I ordered this sweater in a M. I'm 5'8 and slender, but busty. This sweater is HUGE. If you look at the sweater on the model, you can see how much material is between the waist and the arm. On the plus side, this sweater is very soft and pretty. I'm gonna try a size S to see if it fits any better.
I was going to pair this with a pair of black skinny jeans. What can I wear underneath sweater, as it is a bit "see through"..thanks FP! Any other style recommends with this sweater, FP? Thanks so much!
"
Response from Free People:By EmilyWeb10.14.2010
Hi There!

It would look very cute with a basic seamless cami underneath and jeans or cords. If you wanted to get creative with it, though, it would look adorable layered over a dress or slip with some tights!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large