Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Smocked Hi-Low Dress

Texturized hi-low dress with stretchy, smocked upper bodice in a crisscrossing, off-the-shoulder style.
overall average rating:
1.286 out of 5
1.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Customer Reviews for Smocked Hi-Low Dress
Review 1 for Smocked Hi-Low Dress
Name:
Location:SF
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Doesn't work
9.23.2013
" Nice idea but when you lift your arms there go the straps!
I'm a short overweight girl and had no problem with the size, just the construction of the piece.
Didn't care for the quality of the fabric either.
Sent it back.
Unwearable.
"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Smocked Hi-Low Dress
Name:
Location:Iowa
age:over 45
body type:slender
Small across shoulders
9.11.2013
" I am not a rail but small enough that a medium should have fit. This dress I received is very narrow across the shoulders.
I love the fabric
I love the color
I love the style
Design of shoulder needs retrofit in order to work. If I can't figure out how to make it work, I will return it. Wearing a straight jacket is not my cup of tea.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Smocked Hi-Low Dress
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:slender
Uncomfortably small!
8.24.2013
" I loved this look, but as the other reviewers said, this dress runs TINY. The elastic shoulder does not stretch at all. I even sized up from my normal size and found this to be uncomfortable. Wish this dress was better quality and sizing. Not worth the effort. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Smocked Hi-Low Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:athletic
So small!
7.9.2013
" This dress is so small on top I could barely fit it over my shoulders. The bottom of the dress is more sheer than I expected. Sadly, it's going back today. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Smocked Hi-Low Dress
Name:
Location:Ann Arbor, MI
age:21-25
body type:petite
Disappointing
6.18.2013
" I was so excited about this dress and even paid extra to ship ASAP for a party I was hosting. I was very disappointed. I am a true size 2 with a petite 32 B bust. I read the reviews that this dress ran small, so according to the size chart, ordered a small (which should've still gave me room). This dress was WAY small at the bust/shoulders. Also, it was snagged and torn and the fabric looked cheap for the price. I see dresses with the same kind of fabric sold at other stores for like $15. In addition, the entire dress is WAY see through and will require you to buy a slip, which is not advertised (I got the peach/pink dress, maybe the greenish one is different). Overall, this is a dress that you would buy, wear out (IF you decided to keep it), and spend the whole night worried about it / fixing yourself in the mirror, etc. I am never one to leave a bad review, but I am a huge Free People fan and this dress was disappointing on a few different levels. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free People web6.19.2013
We're sorry to hear that it wasn't as expected. If you decide you'd like to return it, we're here to help 24 hours a day! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Smocked Hi-Low Dress
Name:
Location:Silver Spring, MD
age:31-35
body type:petite
what she said
6.9.2013
" I totally agree with the first reviewer; I too am a true xs, but when I tried to put the dress on, there wasn't enough stretch or give in the shoulders for me to wear it comfortably off of my shoulders. The material is really soft and comfortable on the bottom of the dress, but it is just not stretchy enough to wear it over your shoulders. I may try to size up and see what happens. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Smocked Hi-Low Dress
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
SO Small!
5.29.2013
" I am a solid XS but this dress would not even fit over my shoulders. My significant other was laughing his head off at me as I lumbered around like the Hunchback of Notre Dame trying to get this thing on. The problem is in the elastic shoulder wrap piece which is super tiny and not so elastic. Now that i take a closer look at the model she looks rather uncomfortable in the size S too so no use in exchanging- this one will be going back for a return. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.30.2013
So sorry this didn't work out -- extended, the XS bust should measure 53.5". We'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large