Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Summer Fun Dress

Sheer chiffon floral printed summer dress with beaded embellishment. Oversized fit with slight drop waist. Small keyhole opening at back of neck with button detailing. Beaded embellishment around keyhole. A pretty and easy dress to throw on before running out the door. **Special Note: This dress does not come with a slip, and is unlined. *100% Polyester *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 36 1/2" Bust (all around): 39" Sleeve Length (from shoulder): 5 1/4"
overall average rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Summer Fun Dress
Review 1 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:21-25
body type:slender
Cute but...meh
9.7.2012
"This dress is very pretty, but so big that it looks like a night gown! I'm 5'7, 115 lbs, 32A & ordered an XS. Its a bit longer in the back than in the front and is bigger around the waist than I'd expected. If it was fitted at the waist it would be so perfect, but no such luck this time. The beading looks nice and seems sturdy enough that it wouldn't fall off easily. However, still not in love with this dress enough to keep it, so back to FP it goes."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:slender
Cute, but read reviews first!
8.29.2012
"I bought this dress for a brunch after my cousin's wedding. It was perfect for the occasion -- dressy, nice, unique, but not too formal. It is quite boxy/large. I normally am a S in FP, but I decided to go with an XS (5'5", 125lb, 34B), but it's still very roomy. I think the best way to not drown in it, is to wear a tight slip underneath. The dress is quite see-through, so wearing a tight something underneath really helps show off your figure that would otherwise be lost in the dress.
Now I'm just struggling to dress it down enough to wear it out and about...perhaps some clogs/platforms with some cute socks?
Overall, this dress is cute and unique, it's really the little details that get me. It's not as neutral-colored as appears in the photos, it's more of an aged yellow."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Returned this, but hard to describe why!
6.1.2012
"This is a lovely dress that I would highly recommend, but I just didn't like it enough to keep it at the time. My "statement piece" choices from Mar. catalog let me down (1 not made available and 1 dramatically changed between time catalog was shot and production run) so I was looking too hard for something to love. I thought this dress was cute, but it did not speak to me. Then I watched the video and was drawn to the flowy babydoll drape...very 90's. I purchased my usual M in FP dresses, but it was huge. The bust measured 44". I would have needed to exchange for a S and the dress was sold out at the time in all sizes. As an overall comment, I find that I am no longer a solid M in FP dresses. I guess vanity sizing is still going strong as I am now a S about 1/3 of the time. For reference, I am 5'5", have an athletic build, measure 38-26-36 and wear a 36C bra. I thought the dress was well made, the details elaborate/unique and the colors nice enough. I don't wear cool toned pastels, so the addition of baby pink and baby blue to the otherwise warm palette of the dress turned me off. I also generally don't like large floral prints, especially Asian style prints such as this one. I prefer tiny florals.I did not dislike the dress, but I felt that it was one of those pieces that would either grow on me or I would regret quickly. I didn't want to take the chance so returned it. I must say that I still look at the photos and wonder if I made the right choice. I cannot say anything bad about the dress for anyone considering it. I actually love the loose flowy babydoll shape, so that is not an issue. Def size down though unless you like your dresses REALLY large."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:New York City
age:26-30
body type:slender
Love it. Romantic and Lovely
5.18.2012
"I bought this dress and it is more see through than it looks in the picture. But... I love this dress with ivory slip. I wore it to wedding and it is cute, romantic, and lovely. I bought xs and I am 5'5" with 120ibs, and it is slightly baggy on the side, but I like the baggy look. It is so comfortable as well. I recommend it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:California, USA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Pretty, but big.
5.16.2012
"I fell in love with this dress when I saw it in the catalog! It's really gorgeous, and the colors are great. BUT, it's really roomy. I'm 5'5" and 120 lbs and I ordered the XS. The waist part is not very flattering because it's so wide and I'm a tad disappointed."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Pretty, but large
5.14.2012
"I ordered this dress online after my mom insisted that I order it, I fee like it is the dress every mom wants her daughter to have. It's very sweet and beautiful. When it came though, we both decided it wasn't for me. It is extremely see through so you absolutely need a slip underneath. It hit me where it hits the model. I understand that this dress is supposed to be loose and not fitted at all, but I just felt like it did nothing for me, it didn't feel flattering to me, it was just a little too boxy, so in the end I decided to exchange it for the Fitted with Daisies Dress. This dress is very beautiful, it just wasn't for me in the end."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:Portland
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Perfect spring/summer dress
4.1.2012
"I ordered this dress not even sure what to expect. The pictures look like there is a lot of pink and yellow, but really it just looked so girlie! I loved it immediately, and when I got it I was not disappointed. The fit is loose (its a shift) and it is sheer so plan for a slip, but overall I couldn't be happier! Gorgeous detailing and perfect for a sweet summery look. We are having an outdoor reception this summer (first chance we've had to get home since the wedding) and I'm wearing this as my dress. Should be perfect!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
just gorgeous
4.1.2012
"i find this dress to be exactly as expected. the print, colors, beaded details and fit are all as pictured. the body of the dress is a bit loose as designed, and i wouldn't size down or the sleeves might become tight. i'm 5'3" and the bottom just hits my knees. it's completely sheer as stated. i tried it with the ivory seamless romper, the color combo works but the ivory romper is still a bit sheer to be worn with this. instead i went with the black/gold lurex now seamless bodysuit and the colors still work. i find this dress to be unique and different and i personally love the fit. this is one of the best spring pieces from fp."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:PA
age:21-25
body type:petite
A "girl" item
3.27.2012
"I got this dress yesterday totally unsure what I would find as the reviews have been mixed. I'm 5"1 and 100ish pounds and the XS fits fine. I like baggy clothes, though. This dress is a little longer than anticipated. It is very sheer. In the pic, I am wearing it with black leggings simply because it was late at night and that was what I had on. I think any slip would do. I personally think the dress is really pretty and timeless. I'm not exactly sure when I'd wear it. The beading makes it a bit too dainty for running errands. And the lack of fit makes it too casual for certain events that you may want to dress up for. I may end up returning it because of its lack of wearability. One last comment - this is definitely an item that most women/girls will think is cute, but all of the guys I've sent the pic too or have seen it dislike it. I do think there are those items in one's closet that are there to impress the girls and not the boys, and this is one of them. The lack of fit and loud print really make it more a "cute girl" dress than a "woah look at that girl" dress."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:louisville
age:14-20
body type:petite
Pretty, but not as pretty as pictured
3.22.2012
"I was so excited to get this dress. I knew in advance it would be sheer but I had slips so that would be okay. The problem I have with the dress is the beading is so much more prominent than in the pictures. It kind of looks like it doesn't belong on the dress. It's still pretty though and I will most likely end up keeping it. I am 5'4 and the small went right above my knees, it was longer than I expected."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
not as pictured
3.14.2012
"I was SO excited to get this dress. However I completely missed it when I was at my local FP store. It looks NOTHING like it does in the catalog or online. It is completely see through, no peach or pink tint at all. and is so large. I am 5'9 128 pounds, 36B and I had to try on an XS to even consider wearing it out, I am usually a medium in dresses (because of my height). Even the sales girls said they were disappointed with this dress."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:Washington, DC
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Simply Beautiful
3.13.2012
"This dress is gorgeous. It has a very delicate fabric, but the beading on it is amazing. Yes, the dress does run a little large, but its meant to fit that way. I got my usual medium, and now I wish I got small, but it still works. This dress is going to be perfect for spring time. I highly reccommend it, but just know it is meant to be a looser fitting dress."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Summer Fun Dress
Name:
Location:Washington State
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Big Flowers Dresses Paint a Beautiful Picture
3.2.2012
"I'm a huge fan of Free People's "Summer Fun Dress". I love the delicateness of the fashion look. I would definitely wear this beautiful dress to a mother tea, or a ladies luncheon....It would be a part of my profound display of things I covet.
I would wear a white lace sweater to accent the soft pastel colors in the dress...then add a pair of tan suede booties and accessories with a small top handle bag...
Now I would be set for a totally fashionable day for a ladies luncheon."
2 of 11 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large