Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Embroidered Parka

Acid-washed park jacket with colorful embroidered detailing on the back. Zipper and snap button closure at the front. Drawstring ties at front of waist. Two front utility pockets. Has hood that can be hidden into a zipper compartment at the back of the neck.
overall average rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Embroidered Parka
Review 1 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:36-40
body type:petite
Nice but runs large
6.25.2013
"Add this to the list of items I have tried in the smallest size possible and is still big on me (style pic uploaded to the other pics). I am 5', 85 lbs. The jacket fits on the shoulders, but is extremely roomy on the bottom. It kinda flares out like a huge dress. I love the embroidery on the back, and the drawstring waist helps to keep it from looking like a tent, so I will keep it. But I do hope FP will start making the smallest sizes small enough for the true petites. How about making limited numbers in XXS and 00?"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:virginia
age:14-20
body type:slender
unique and versatile
6.21.2013
"this jacket is great. you can wear it with or without the hood. it has pockets. it's rugged looking but still has a feminine touch with the floral embroidery on the back. it fit's pretty true to size but has enough room to wear layers underneath. the one i have is darker than the one pictured so i guess the colors vary."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, California
age:36-40
body type:petite
Beautiful and unique!
6.20.2013
"I love this parka, I bought it at a department store, and like to write a review for this at FP website. It is very beautiful parka jacket and well made. The fabric is good quality, not thin or thick or heavy at all. It will be a good jacket for spring and fall. The embroidery colors are sooooo beautifully matched with the military color tone of the whole jacket, which makes this parka look so unique. I like the stretch part of the sleeves it makes not only design look good (a little bit puffed sleeves) but also helps adjusting the length of sleeves on my arms which is a bonus to me (I'm 5'2").
I’m usually a S or 4 for most FP tops (sometimes M or 6 for a good loose fit), I bought 4 and it fits perfectly with a bit loose which supposed to be the way for this kind of jacket.
I highly recommend.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:Montreal
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Awesome
5.11.2013
"Not that I need it but I wanted to need!
Beautiful! bit military but with feminine twist, Very comfortable, good length, nice, versatile, soft warm color. Voila it is mine!
I'm 5'10" and size 12 is just perfect. I could fit into size 10, but iI like an option to wear a sweater.
.. yeah, hood is vestigial!
I am recommending this jacket.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Perfect
5.4.2013
"So unique. A perfect jacket. Went with a larger size; 10 instead of 8. Two reasons:
1) arm band would not allow anything other than a very light shirt underneath.
2) 8 was too tight across the chest.
8 was better through the body, but the drawstring made the 10 work.
A must have.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Amazing!
4.29.2013
"I noticed this jacket online but when I saw it in the store, it really caught my eye. I bought my usual size 2. The sleeves are a bit short when I flex my arms but it still looks good. The drawstrings allow the jacket to be fitted. It looks fabulous, so unique! Highly recommend this jacket."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:Long Beach, CA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
So cool!
4.15.2013
"I just bought it today at a local FP store. Usually I wait for the more expensive items to go on sale but couldn't wait for this one! As soon as I tried it on - I had to have it. Got my usual size 4 and it fits great. It is a bit tight in the chest when closed but I didn't want to size up as the 6 was really roomy. This jacket is awesome for layering. I love it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
So in L O V E !
4.10.2013
"As soon as I saw this parka I had to have it! I initially ordered it in a 10 but as soon as I got it I realized it was way too big. I called up my local FP and thankfully they had an 8 in stock. I ran down and tried it on and it was PERFECT! I can still wear a sweater underneath but it doesn't overwhelm me. I should probably mention I am 5'11 39-29-39. The embroidery on the back is stunning and so vibrant. I love the small details like the ruching on the sleeves. The hood is a bit wimpy but I didn't buy it for the hood...I bought it for the sheer beauty of it. I know this will be a favorite jacket for a long time to come!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:uK
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
easy to wear
4.3.2013
"I received my jacket and wore it for the first time yesterday. It is very comfortable and goes with a lot of different outfits. It is lightweight but feels substantial too. I love the embroidery which gives a military type jacket a feminine edge."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:Memhis
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE
3.17.2013
"TTS,..ordered sz 12 ---42 1/2 inch bustline --- without them --- 30 inch chest --an 8 would do. I love this piece. Washed cold, dryed low came out great. Super in person."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:MI
age:over 45
body type:petite
LOVE!
3.14.2013
"I received my jacket today. It is as if it were made for me! Just perfect. I ordered a large or a 12, and I have plenty of room to wear any of my tops under it. I like that. If you like the way it fits the model you may want to try a smaller size, but not sure about that.
I agree with the person that said the hood is small, doesn't go high enough on the head to be useful unless you have no neck. I didn't want a hood, and I love this jacket so much I just cut the relatively useless hood off! I am known for altering my clothing on occasion.
It looks much better in person!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
spring for it...
3.13.2013
"this is a very lovely parka, perfect for styling and true to size. it gives you a nice silhouette because of the drawstring waist, the elastic in the upper arms and the snaps on the shoulders. Its slightly high-low as you can tell from the images.
It is definitely a military inspired piece with shoulder snaps (lol epaulettes), camo print, and the large pockets, but the bohemian embroidery and the fabric strip inside the zipper softens the impression. It is very well made, in India, and its perfect for layering, i can fit a heavy Icelandic sweater inside no problem. neat that you can rest your hands underneath the pockets, too.
The only reason i am on the fence is because for this much money you'd like to wear a piece for many years and love it every time you wear it... i dont care much for the hood...it is a wimpy hood.. Yeah. that's what it is..dont get me wrong here, its neat that it can be hidden but it is soo teeny and does not have a draw string..and anyone who has walked along windy beaches or in the wind-tunnels of NYC know that this won't do......mmm i wonder if i can add some vintage sari trim with a drawstring to the front...hmmm
here are the measurements for an XS. I am 5'4'' 100 lbs and 32B and it fits me well
Length: front 27''back 32''
Bust (all around): 36"
Sleeve Length: 25"
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Embroidered Parka
Name:
Location:MASS
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
BEAUTIFUL!!!!!
3.11.2013
"I knew I needed this the second I saw it online! I love the embroidery and the bleached look. It does fit true to size. I recently gained 30 lbs :( so I weigh 160 and Im 5'4. I ordered the size 6 which fit perfectly everywhere except the arms were tight on the top where the scrunching is on the sleeve. I plan on losing weight so I almost kept the 6, but decided Id be better off with the 8.This coat is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large