Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Buckled Up Menswear Dress

pWoven plaid dress with pintucking at the front and back. Button down front with eyelet hem. Sweater knit panels at the sides. Faux leather crossback straps with buckle detail. pp 99 Cotton, 1 Spandex br Dry Clean Only br Imported ppMeasurements for Size 6 br Length 28 br Chest 33 br Waist 30p
overall average rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Customer Reviews for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Review 1 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Orygun
age:over 45
body type:slender
Long Time Coming
10.24.2012
" Well since the July 2008 Catalog first introduced this awesome jumper dress, I have adored it from afar. But finally got one on Ebay, oops, yes, that place. New with Tags in a size 6. I read all the reviews and not one scary story seemed right to me. It is a true piece of art. I am 5' 5" 115 pounds with 32D and it just looks like made for me. The bust is so unique with the wool sides that wrap around to form fit. the pintucking in the tummy area is not tight at all and flares out so perfect to the skirt area. Love the straps as well, can adjust so the bust empire area hits right for evey person. That eyelet lace at hem isn't given justice in the pictures! It is an ecru warm brown tan that matches the little stripes through out the plaid. Comes to just barely above my knees, and I layered it with one of their older black skirt mesh slips so a bit of black ruffle peaks out . Seems like my collection was just waiting for this to come together. Such nice fabric, quality all the way. I have been wearing it all day every day for a week. Goes with my Joe 2 brown and black lace up over the knee boots. Layer on my Heritage wool coat, I am cool, oh Yeah. Happy Hippie. Free People I love you very much. Every day is better when I deck out with layer s from my FP collection!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:san francisco, CA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Beautiful dress, IMPOSSIBLE SIZING?!
8.21.2011
" i have this dress in size 0 and it's beautiful but it just does not work for me! the 2nd and 3rd buttons always gape, it's really annoying. however, i'm generally a size 4 in free people so i'm not sure whether to size down to 2 or 4, if i buy a new one.
the entire dress fits well, a little long since i'm 5'1" 1/2, but otherwise nice. now, if i can just find the right size, which seems to be impossible!!!!!!
i love to wear this with the star burnout thermal in black :]
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
The perfect plaid dress
1.29.2011
" The title says it all. This is my favorite plaid dress to date. I think it's the straps that do it for me. I'd still wear this, but it's too big on me now. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Saugerties, NY
age:14-20
body type:curvy
My favorite
2.20.2009
" I got this dress in red for Christmas - it is absolutely amazing!
The plaid is great, the cut of the dress is perfect for my body type, it's easy to layer, the straps match my favorite boots - in a word, it's just perfect. It is a little low cut but that's not a big issue, really.
I was set off that it's dry clean only but I just hang it up after I wear it and it's fine.
I got my normal size [size 8] and it fits me perfectly! This is my favorite dress of all time!!!
Buy it!
It's so worth the money.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Cali
age:36-40
body type:petite
Luv this dress!
12.8.2008
" When I saw this dress, I had to have it even though it was a lot more than what I normally pay for a dress. I wear a medium and it fits perfectly. I do wish it was as short as pictured on the website, it comes down almost to my knees and I'm about 5'1" but it is a keeper! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Jamaica, NY
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
It's cute but...
11.30.2008
" The pleating is what makes this dress not so flattering. I can't complain about the top part though, as it is warm and great for winter. I still haven't decided whether I'll return it... I just don't want to have to get it tailored on the back but.. I'll see :/:) "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Woohoo Free People
10.24.2008
" Once again, I've fallen in love with this article of clothing. I honestly don't think I ever want to take it off. It looks really cute with a black turtle neck underneath or even the gray dare to flare dress that you guys don't seem to have online. Ahh, I love it sosoossoooo much. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Washington DC,
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
too big!
10.5.2008
" I'm typically a S, so I bought this in blue online in that size. I found that it was much too big and returned it for an XS that was also much too big in the waist and hip area. I'm not a small girl, either.
It's a very cute dress, but I reccomend it for medium to larger sized girls.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Great, but a bit big
9.28.2008
" I got this dress in blue and I really love it! The only problem is, it's awfully large on me. I had the alter it, but it fits great now. I suggest you get a size down if you want to buy this dress. Other then that, its super comfy and soft, and the details are so cool! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Alaska
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Absolutely adorable
9.28.2008
" I got this dress in a 4. I am normally a 4, and I do not have a large bust (about a B), and the dress fits amazing, even on the top. I love how it buttons up and the little flaps at the top are folded over and sewn. It creates a more sexy, revealing look. The length is perfect (even for me, I'm 5'10) and I love the white ruffle at the bottom. It is the perfect dress for fall/winter and plaid is soo in right now! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cute dress!
9.23.2008
" I got this dress in the royal blue color as I had already ordered the pleated camp skirt in red. I love this dress, but as others said the bust/chest area is loose and I think the dress could have been better if they had made that area tight. This would make the dress more sexy! I have to wear a tank top under this so my bra won't show through, usually just a black one or something. You could go bra-less, but if you are small chested like I am and the dress is already pretty roomy in the chest area for ya, you definitely wanna wear a bra. I wore this dress with flip flops, but will probably be warming it up with a long sleeve and boots for fall and winter. I ordered a size 2, but I suspect I could have ordered a 0. This was my first dress from free people so I just ordered a 2 because people said it ran big. I go for a size 4 when I wanna be safe. This dress is still super cute and I recommend it. I think for the fall it will be super cute to dress up! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:petite
Love it!
9.15.2008
" This is such an adorable dress! Based on the reviews from other users, I ordered a size smaller than I usually do at Free People, and it fits absolutely perfectly. I was afraid it would be too tight around the bust (I have a medium chest; a C-cup on a sz2-4), but it was not at all.
My one complaint about this dress pertains to where the waist ends; it isn't as slimming as I had hoped because it flares a little too high and makes the skirt just a little too roomy around the hips. But I'm going to alter it though to cinch it in a bit, and then it will be perfect.
All in all, I would totally recommend this dress!! And buy a size smaller! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:athletic
So Disapointed
9.12.2008
" I bought the zero in red and I'd have to be a C cup to fit into the top! Everything but the bust fits perfectly so I'm not sure what they were thinking when they sized it.
Here's hoping I can get it tailored but with how its constructed I'm worried its not an option.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Amazing Dress!
9.4.2008
" This dress is amazing! I checked about 4 different Nordstrom stores to find it, just so I could see which size to get. I'm generally a 6, but the buttons across my bust said get an 8. Anyhow, it's an amazing dress by Free People--one of my favorites for sure. I recommend it 100%. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Delaware
age:14-20
body type:slender
loved it!
8.26.2008
" I immediately knew I wanted this dress as soon as I saw it in the catalog. I got it in blue and it looks great especially because I have blonde hair and blue eyes. I looks great by itself or with a long sleeved shirt under it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
love it
8.11.2008
" such a sexy dress and so original. its a real knock-out. Its a tiny bit roomy around my natural waist and hips though. I got a size four and it fit me with more give and room than how a FP size 4 normally would...but it still looks great. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:21-25
body type:petite
wonderful!
8.5.2008
" the quality and detail of this dress make it worth the money. :) i absolutely love this. i am currently wearing it with wideleg pants underneath and a tank top over. it is SUPER cute! i bought the blue in a size 4. i definitely would suggesting staying with your true size. the dress is a tad loose, but i think it adds to the look. and the blue color is great! i think that the red would look good with blonde hair, though. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Buckled Up Menswear Dress
Name:
Location:San Pedro
age:14-20
body type:slender
Your Gonna Love it!
7.13.2008
" Once I got the catalog i knew i had to have it. Its so awesome and different. Its got a down- to- earth feel with a punk punch! It runs a bit big, so if you like it tight get a size smaller than your own. Great for people with a smaller bust! "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large