Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Convertible Cape

Please Note: Runs slightly small, it is suggested to size up one size. Knit top with banded bottom. Drawstring tie around the top with braided cords. Can be worn many different ways. * 100% Cotton * Machine Wash * Imported Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 25" Waist: 27 1/2" <a href="http://blog.freepeople.com/2009/05/fp-convertible-tops-how-to/"target="_blank">Click here to see our video featuring ways to wear this cape!
overall average rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Customer Reviews for Convertible Cape
Review 1 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:philadelphia, pa
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
convertible cape
6.1.2010
"I got this shirt in yellow and i LOVE the color. The shirt is a little bit confusing, definitely go by the pictures on the website to help you figure out how to wear it. it is DEFINITELY tight in the waist area. i am usually a small-medium in free people clothes (5'0, 119 pounds) and i got the medium. It definitely fits perfectly except for the waist area, which is a little bit tight, but a large would definitely have been too big. i haven't worn the shirt yet, but for 20 dollars (what it is on sale), it is definitely worth the purchase because you can make quite a few different shirts out of it."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 2 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:San Jose, CA
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
If only...
3.30.2010
"If only this top was true to size. I bought this top on sale and they only had xs and s left. I bought the s (which is my regular size in FP), but it was definitely small in the waist portion. Like other reviewers, I could barely get the waist portion over my head! I wish FP would sell this shirt again. It's definitely cute and very versatile."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:South Jersey
age:14-20
body type:petite
good and bad
1.26.2010
"Awesome summer shirt...def order a size up than you normally are...wish the top cape part was a little smaller...i am 5'1 120lbs and I ordered a Medium..bottom part fit perfecly, but top is very big...takes some time to figure out how to wear it!! Worth 20$"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:Marietta, GA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
love it
1.26.2010
"This is a great top--the fact that it's convertible just makes it incredible. The waist bit does run a little tight, though. :-)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Cute Convertible
1.24.2010
"I love convertible clothes so I decided to try this top, and I am pretty happy with it. Although its still a little too cold to wear it in NYC without a tube top or cami underneath I am sure I will get alot of use when summer comes. I bought this top in the yellow which is more of a margarine color than the pale yellow in the picture. I am a S/M in shirts so I went with a M and it is a little snug if you try to wear it low around the hips but around the waist feels fine."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Good Purchase
1.16.2010
"The band on the bottom definitely runs small, I am a small girl (5'2", 125lbs) and ended up purchasing a large because I wanted to make sure it would fit and have a loose look. The large fits well for certain looks; but there is way to much fabric for the halter top look. If you are just interested in the halter look I would go with one size up from your regular size instead of two. Overall, I am happy with it and I am excited to wear it when the weather gets warmer; also will look good under cardigans or a blazer."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Runs Small is Right...
12.15.2009
"When I read that "this item runs slightly small", I assumed that meant to go up one size, so I ordered a large. This fits RIDICULOUSLY small! I was really surprised and although I liked the color, this is going to have to go back, even though the price was great.
Oh well, better luck next time!
"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Trying to decide
12.3.2009
"how I feel about my cape! I do love this concept, but after playing with it, I think I only like the cape style, possibly with one shoulder. The others just didn't look right on me because I looked like I was swimming in fabric.
I purchased this for a swim coverup for an upcoming trip, and the deal is so great that I will definitely keep this and try working with it some more. It is just such a unique concept."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Good price, nice piece
11.28.2009
"Good for the price since you can wear it so many different ways. It really does run small so order a size up. I typically wear a small in F.P. and I ordered the medium which fit perfectly. Glad I bought it at the sale price."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:Tolland
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
oh so versatile
11.23.2009
"after seeing the many many ways to wear this amazing shirt, i could hardly believe it on sale for such a low price. its so versatile, you can wear it so many ways, there's even a video. definitely get it if you are even considering buying it, but like other reviews have said, it does run a little tight. i just love all the ways this shirt can be worn, its a different look/style every time."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
cute
11.20.2009
"I bought this shirt in the grape color. it is so versatile and you can wear it so many different ways. I would recommend to size up though. i normally wear size small, but i went along with all the other reviewers and sized up and im happy i did. it's not my most favorite top ive bought from free people, but for the price and the versatility of the top, i would say it's worth the price."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:Iowa
age:31-35
body type:slender
awesome!
11.10.2009
"such a versatile top (and I even think I'll wear it during the winter over a long-sleeved t-shirt. the bottom band that goes around the waist/hips does fit a little snug - I ordered the M/L and I'm 5'6", 120 lbs. but overall, I love this thing!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:Baltimore, MD
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
tricky
11.9.2009
"I'm 5'3", 115 lbs, but I have a short torso so as much as I adore this top it is a little funky looking on me. I didn't have any problems with the bottom being too small, I got a size Small and it was fine. I love how versatile it is, and I was really excited to wear it ASAP but after a few failed attempts at layering, I'm saving it for the summer. Someone had mentioned that the cape look is a little restricting, and I agree, it was hard to drive when I had the top on in this way."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:Albuquerque
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Worth the Price
8.6.2009
"I agree with the other reviewers in that is is best to size up. I am 5'5, 130 lbs. and usually wear a small, but I ordered a medium so that the bottom stretchy part would fit around my hips. The fabric drapes wonderfully, and the pink color is brilliant, but a bit bluer than the pictures. Since it's like five shirts in one, I don't feel bad about buying this while it's not on sale. Enjoy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:petite
Cute...but
7.29.2009
"Yup, definitely runs veeeeery small. Its a great concept, but if you're short like me (5'2"), it feels as though you are swallowed in a sea of fabric. Probably better on someone who is much taller. I will be returning mine."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Several in one
7.28.2009
"Really cute & and kinda edg'y, you can wear this top so many different ways, you can layer it with a tank, tee, or bandu. Great as a beach cover-up or w/a cute pair of jeans. Several tops in one. Ordered it to wear to the beach but it arrived too late:("
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cute and unique!
7.21.2009
"This top is great - I've worn it with just a bathing suit or with leggings and a tube top. While wearing like the cape is a little restricting on your arm movement, its definitely eye-catching. Very true about sizing up, I'm normally an XS so I went with a S and while the band is still tight it fit fine!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:West Orange, NJ
age:31-35
body type:slender
runs small
7.13.2009
"It's true. This top runs SMALL! I originally ordered it in a small and had to exchange it for a medium cause I couldn't even shimmy it over my head. After getting the medium I couldn't help feeling like I was wearing a big sheet every time I tried it on in each way. I'm thinking of returning it. Shame cause I love the concept!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:maine
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
my review
7.13.2009
"I really do like this shirt, but like everyone else has said, it runs small. I naturally ordered a small, and it just barely fits enough not to return it for a larger size, but still. Anyways, I chose the yellow and it is sooo pretty!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Convertible Cape
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:21-25
body type:petite
<3
7.2.2009
"I love this! So many different ways to wear, so it makes it a great buy for the price. I went with previous reviewers advice and sized up, and I'm sooo glad I did! I am typically an xs/s, 0-2 in Free people and most other brands, but the bottom part is sooo tiny. I'm 5'5'' and 115 lbs (more pear shaped). The bottom is stretchy, but don't give into your ego, just size up. You will love this if you do. :D"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>