Product Reviews

Indian Summer Hobo

Colorfully woven and embroidered hobo bag with studded leather handle. Folder zipper closure at the top. Zipper compartment on the front. Inside is fully lined with two pouches. *By Free People
overall average rating:
3.222 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Indian Summer Hobo
Review 1 for Indian Summer Hobo
Name:
Location:B.C. Canada
age:41-45
body type:slender
Nice but doesn't wear well
5.3.2014
"I have carried this bag for a few months...First the beads all started coming off...So I sewed them on properly. Then the threads started to unravel on the outside of the bag...I tried to clip them a sew what was left down but it keeps happening and it leaves bare patches.. Now the inside of the bag is full of pills and they catch on the zipper when you try to close it. It is a shame cause it is so pretty. To bad they didn't put more effort into quality and this would have been a great bag."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free People5.6.2014
Hi Mspanic,

We're sorry to hear about your trouble with the Indian Summer Hobo. Someone from our team will be in touch shortly to help make things right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Indian Summer Hobo
Name:
Location:Tennessee
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Beautiful but falling apart
1.20.2014
"I absolutely adore this bag and I got it on my trip to nyc. It was the best purse I had ever gotten until like a week after I got the bag all the beads started falling off. I wish the beads would not have fallen off because I would be wearing the bag all the time."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Indian Summer Hobo
Name:
Location:CA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Great bag but...
1.16.2014
"I received this bag as a gift and love the print and size. Like a previous reviewer noted, the color is slightly different on the black one than the picture online. But still beautiful.
My problem is that pretty much all of the beads have fallen off already on mine (like another reviewer mentioned.) I love Free People but for the price I would expect it not to fall apart so easily.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Indian Summer Hobo
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Lovely bag with a caveat
12.13.2013
"I purchased and have been using the black/tan motif version of this bag. I'm rather fond of it -- it's pretty, large, and neutral enough that I don't worry about it clashing with my clothes on any given day. There are, however, a couple of things to know before buying. Far and away the MOST important thing to note is that the circular, metal decorations that run parallel to the zipper WILL fall off if not secured. What you need to do is take a look at these charms in store. Some of the bags had charms with two tiny holes on each, and some bags had charms without holes. Choose a bag with holed charms and sew them onto the bag by hand once you get home. Better yet, pull them all off after buying and keep hold of them so one doesn't fall off in your car or while you're walking. I've attached a picture of how I did it (you can see a little bit of colored thread on each). Other details: there are two small pockets on the inside for your phone, cards, or other small items. The rest of the bag is not compartmentalized, so expect to root around looking for things if you don't use smaller pouches to hold your items. Unlike the blue motif, the black/tan does not have a zippered outer compartment. The color is slightly off in the pictures (at least on my monitor). For example, the pink stripe with black diamonds is actually more of an orchid purple."
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Indian Summer Hobo
Name:
Location:new york city
age:21-25
body type:slender
Perfect Travel Bag
12.3.2013
"I really love this bag. The strap is shorter than I pictured, I thought the bag would hang lower… but it works with the style, and I think it would be too heavy when full to have it any longer. I was looking for a bag to take on the plane that I could put all my carry on stuff in, and this works perfectly. A little smaller than I imagined, but fits a lot in it"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Indian Summer Hobo
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Cute bag
11.25.2013
"I love this bag, it's nice and roomy, but the only thing is the pieces of hardware keep falling off. I've never had a problem with Free People products before so I was bummed when this happened. I would have given it 5 stars had I not had issues with the hardware."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Indian Summer Hobo
Name:
Location:Ireland
age:26-30
body type:slender
A mixed bag
11.6.2013
"I like this bag but I have mixed feelings, the materials are nice and its shape is slouchy it's actually quite large when the front isn't folded down so you can fit a lot in, would of been nice to have more pockets inside. The quality isn't that great depending on the price, when I received it the black fabric already had some fraying on one side which I had to sow up. I've taken it out twice and one of the charms has already fallen off. It's def not worth the price but I do like it. The strap is a little smaller than the picture makes it out to be but the leather is lovely. mixed results on this one."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Indian Summer Hobo
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:41-45
body type:curvy
INdian Summer Hobo
4.26.2013
"I was actually looking for something to replace my current brocade back pack..it is starting to wear, but I still love it. This looks beautiful, but when I received it, it is just like a big cloth bag, no real firmness or pockets. I need many pockets, so I will be returning it. The strap is not adjustable and I prefer mine alittle longer."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Indian Summer Hobo
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Nice Mixed-Media Bag
4.23.2013
"Ok, when I first got this bag in the mail I was kind of disappointed. I don't know why...it pretty much looks exactly like the one in the picture, but I considered sending it back anyway. However, the more I looked at it and handled it, the more I liked it.
It's a fun, colorful bag, and the embroidery is really great. I really love all the different materials, textures, and colors involved in this bag. The only thing that might be decieving in the pictures is that the top is flopped over and gives the impression that there is a flap. The bag is actually very long and the zipper is on the very top edge. To achieve that slouchy look, you just let the top third of the bag fold over. This bag is actually pretty oversized, and has alot of space in it; there are a couple of small pockets inside that could hold your keys and cellphone so you're not digging around for 20 minutes looking for them. There is another zipper at the very bottom of the bag as well, and the pocket inside is long and small. The handle is distressed leather and not exactly super high quality, but all in all the bag is well put together and I think will hold up. It is a one shoulder bag and not a cross body bag, but you could easily find a nice strap on Etsy and clip it right onto the rings on the bag in order to make it a crossbody.
So this bag did end up growing on me...it's fun, it's different, it's double the price it should actually be, but I quite like it and I'm going to keep it anyway. It will be nice bright edition to my spring and summer wardrobe."
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large