Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Cleo Lace Up Sandal

Suede lace up sandal featuring cutout details all throughout and cutout heel. Zip closure at back. * Suede Upper, Synthetic Sole * Imported
overall average rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Customer Reviews for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Review 1 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Amaazing
9.4.2010
"I love these shoes! I get soo many compliments every time I wear them. A great buy."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:Secaucus NJ
age:26-30
body type:petite
at last we meet again
8.31.2010
"I tried these on in the black in the paramus location and stupidly put them down. Some lucky chick is probably walking around looking cute in them as I type this... After a week of stalking them on the web, they finally came back in stock and i SNATCHED them! Sure, it takes a few minutes to get them on but big deal! The outcome is more than worth it. They look edgy, unique and don't make my calves look bulky like I thought they might before I put them on... I'm 5'3 and even the length was perfect. Will be wearing these all through the fall with plaid dress shirts and my huge collection of fp slips with oversized sweaters, namely the cali coast.
And to the potential size 37 eyeing the beige now.... yes you... BUY THEM! You'll love them. :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:Tennessee
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Super cute, but some flaws
7.20.2010
"I waited for months and months for my size to come back in (I usually wear between and 8 and and 8.5, so i was waiting for a 38 or 39...) Finally, the 38 came back in (while I was on vacation out of the country, too, haha!) and I ordered them as quickly as I could. When I got home, they were here waiting on me, so I immediately tried them on - and the first time was quite an ordeal. Getting the laces set right took forever, which I expected. What I DIDN'T expect was that it would take forever to get them on and off every other time. The little piece of fabric at the bottom of the heel makes it SO difficult to get on and off, I'm considering adding in my own zipper. They're adorable once you get them on, but they are a pain to get there. Also, while they are super cute, they only fit like in the pictures on skinny calves. I have normal sized calves, and the strings on the front of mine have to be a little wider to compensate - meaning the shoe part of the design is only on the sides, not front, of my legs. However, sizing up on me would only have made the sole ridiculously long, so I'm sticking with the ones I have! Like I said, adorable, but a few flaws."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:Phoenix
age:41-45
body type:athletic
LOVE THIS SANDALS!!!!
7.7.2010
""I ordered these sandals as soon as I saw them and had to wait 1month to the backorder. They are super cute with a quality design; I am 5'10" and the look really good I GOT LOTS OF COMMPLIMENTS!!!the only problem is are a little difficult to put on. ...but yes i love them..."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Very chic but on the fence about keeping them
6.11.2010
"I ordered these sadals as soon as I saw them and had to wait a couple weeks due to the backorder. I got the sandals, and I was not as taken by them as I was when I saw the photo. They are super cute with a quality design; however something was missing. :-/ I am 5'10" and a swimmer with what I'll call "thick" calves. I was able to get the sandals laced up my legs with some work. Like the other reviewers pointed out these sandals are a little difficult to put on. I've walked around the house in these sandal boots and stared in the mirror and I am kind of "blah" about them. I love the look, I just don't love the look on me. Im going to try them on again this weekend. If I don't get excited about them I may just have to send my beloved Cleo's back. We shall see."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:dallas
age:41-45
body type:slender
great idea - not great on me
6.10.2010
"I was so looking forward to these after all the great reviews on these I read and all the great funky sandals I have bought from Free People in the past. They are just so-so. It's the fit, not the quality. I normally wear a 10 so ordered a 40 as per recommendations. The soles ran short on me which made me toes look long and stick out. As well they do not go up nearly as high on my legs as the ones on the model. I am 5'10", slender, and they are at least 1" shorter on my legs. The disproportion just makes them look awkward and unflattering on me. Maybe going up a size would help? Disappointed."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:New York, New York
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Worth Every Penny!
6.7.2010
"These sandals are so stylish they're worth WAY more than they cost me to purchase and ship. I can barely get down the street without someone (male or female) making an admiring comment about them. I got the beige which perfectly contrasts with my nut brown skin. The suede is soft and supple. This product packs easily. I'm six feet tall with particularly narrow calves so I'm always on the lookout for tall boots which complement my long proportions. My only complaint regards size. This is a European 41 so it fits closer to a 10.5 than a US size 11. I also had issue with getting in an out of them. My ankles are fairly inflexible so I found that even though there's a back zipper I had to devise a way to loosen up the laces around my instep and ankles. All that notwithstanding I LOVE LOVE the way these sandals look on my legs. They're both wildly unique and somehow timeless. What woman doesn't like being called a Greek Goddess from time to time?!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:Greenville, SC
age:26-30
body type:slender
On the Fence
5.25.2010
"I, too, waited forever for these to come back in stock. As soon as I noticed all that was left were the Sizes 36 and 41. I really need either a 39 or 40 but I said what the hey and got the 41. Though the shoe portion is slightly big its nothing that gives me any problems walking and it doesnt look strange. However, what a former reviewer said is true---these do look much better on a skinnier calf. Granted my calves aren't THAT huge, but they're big enough to look kinda awkward in these. Also they are a biiaaaatch to get on and off. Someone said once you set the laces right once, you don't have to adjust them every again since they zip in the back---not true! There's a tiny piece of fabric below the bottom of the zipper, and unless you loosen the laces, you CANNOT get your foot out! So every time I want to wear these I have to fiddle with the laces to get them on and off--Not fun! However they are super awesome and unique...I'm on the fence on whether or not to keep them..we'll see.."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:Iowa
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Perfect
5.17.2010
"I waited a long time as they were on back order. You must have extra time to get them on, but it is worth it. Run true to size. I am as old as dirt and my daughter thinks I nuts, but she trying to borrow them. I will be wearing them with a longer dress,not a mini! Every now and then I like something funky. Free People is the perfect sight. I am now tempted to get them in black."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:indianapolis
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
coolest sandals ever!
5.17.2010
":D
i waited soooo long for these and they were totally worth the wait!! they are really super nice quality and i don't seem to have as many problems as others getting them off and on.... I almost cried when i first put them on though because I actually have big legs and stupid cankles and i think they look a million times better on a skinny leg than mine, but i didn't want to send them back and i just kept trying them on with diff things.... so i wore them to work the other day and got sooo many compliments on them - one of my friends even said they were cankle slimming! ;) i wore them with tights cause it was still a little chilly outside and they looked really cute. bottom line - im glad i decided to keep them - the sole is super flat though so by the end of an 8 hour day on my feet, my heel was hurting. they are so cool though....
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:New York
age:31-35
body type:curvy
not so sure
5.17.2010
"So I waited for a loooong time for these sandals to be back in stock; when I finally got them I opened the package and got a little turned off by the smell of the non-leather material that lines all the interior. This also makes it non-breathable and it sticks to your skin after walking a while with them, no matter how much you loosen up the straps, which you can't do much cause they loose shape. It's only spring which makes me wonder what's gonna happen to my poor legs in those humid, sticky, gross summer days to come... And it does take forever to put them on. They look really cute though, still debating if I should return them or not..."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Very Stylish
5.14.2010
"These sandals are fantastic!! I am 5'4 and they make my legs look very long and sleek. When i went out the first time with these on i got sooooo many great compliments. I have the black ones nd they look very sexy (Black is always a very sexy color) its easy to dress the black ones up for when your going out nd you can also dress it down !! The mocha one are a very nice color as well but to bad its out of stock :-/"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:Tennessee
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Abosultely Awesomeness
4.5.2010
"I love these sandals. I have been waiting a while for warm enough weather so I can wear them . I am 6' so I am pretty leggy, and these sandals make my legs look smoking hot. I am usually a 10 in most shoes so I ordered the 40 and they fit great. I got the beige and the black. My plan was to only pick one, but both the colors were too cool. They go with dresses, skirts, and shorts. I wore the beige out yesterday, and I got so many compliments. If I had a dollar for every time someone stared at them I would have racked up a pretty nice wad of cash. They are interesting and unique. You will definitely get noticed in these. And the are super flattering to the legs. Go for it!!!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:21-25
body type:petite
whimsically gothic
4.5.2010
"I'm 5'1" and a half, 110 lbs. and I have very muscular calves. Normally I order an 8 but I went ahead and sized up for these. This was a sage decision. The laces do accommodate a range of calve sizes, but the ankle/lower calf area is still quite snug. A size lower and I imagine I would not be able to insert my leg into the bottom portion. I'd also like to issue a warning to the petite ladies - these end almost over my knee, so you will always feel the edge pressing into your thigh when you sit down. The suede is soft, however, and there is no loss of mobility due to the height - I just wanted to mention it if you are picky about such things.
With those drawbacks aside, these sandals are fantastic. I purchased them in the black and they remind me of wrought iron fences or a gothic latticed archway. They are soft and comfortable, albeit completely flat. The bottom is textured nicely as well so they do not slide about on hard surfaces. They elongate my legs beautifully, always a bonus when you are petite and wearing flat shoes.
Someone mentioned that they are initially difficult to assemble. This is true but they have a zipper on the back as you can see in the pictures so there really is no hassle once you have adjusted them to your legs."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Very Stylish
4.5.2010
"These sandals I absolutley love!! I ordered a size 8 which is a little snug so I would suggest ordering up a size. Amazing quality. Sooooooooo many compliments!!! Looks really cute with summer dresses...I'm thinking about ordering a pair in black!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
Stylish and unique
4.5.2010
"I received these a while ago, I had ordered both the black and the beige. I decided to go with the beige because I felt that the sandals themselves were built to be very heavy-looking and noticeable. Having the black colour on top of that, it seemed like a very intense look. It fits true to size, the laces give you good leeway if you have a variety of leg sizes. They are very comfortable, but please be aware that these aren't the kind of sandals you just put on when walking out the door. They take quite a little while to lace up.
They are truly adorable and unique - you won't regret having such an extraordinary accessory in your closet for the summer!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Cleo Lace Up Sandal
Name:
Location:New York
age:21-25
body type:curvy
LOVE THESE!
2.26.2010
"I saw these sandals and fell in love with them!! I'm normally a 6 1/2 so I ordered a 36 and they fit perfectly. I'd have to say that my calves are average (i weigh 120 and am 5'2"), so I have to lace them a little wider around the middle of my calf....but they still look fabulous. So, if you have larger calves I would have to say maybe size up? They are good quality and it shows. These are perfect with a dress, skirt or shorts. If you want to make a statement in a subtle way, these sandals are for you!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large