Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Vintage Tapestry Tote

Multicolor hand-embroidered tapestry tote bag with leather handle.Inside is lined with one zipper pocket and one small pouch. Magnetic snap button closure at top. Because each bag is handmade, patterns will vary but coloring will be similar to what is pictured, making each bag totally unique! There is a region in India called Gujarat - it is known for very intricate handwork of all kinds. The Patchwork Tapestry is one such example. It usually has brightly embroidered cotton Patches. They combine recycled antique saris, Indian bedspreads and wedding gowns sewn with Zardosi embroidery (the metal wires that we are using in one of the slippers). Kutch is another region within Gujarat that has its typical type of crochet, and Gujarati mirror and sequin work. Some of the patches are 80 to 100 years old and recycled to make these spreads. *Textile, Leather *Made in India *15" depth, 14 1/4" width across bottom front, 5" thickness at bottom *5" handle drop
overall average rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Review 1 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:Australia
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Gorgeous
9.26.2013
" Big, bright and beautiful. Adds colour and interest to any outfit. I use mine almost everyday and receive comments regularly. Don't expect it to stay perfect with lots of use though as it will start to wear and tatter a little as the tapestry has some loosely stitched bits and pieces. Anyway mine has been dragged about everywhere for 6 months and still looks awesome. It fits just about everything in it or hangs great with just the wallet, sunnies and keys. Like most big bags, it does tend to slip off the shoulder so I usually wear it over my head and across the shoulder when I'm at the markets or doing a lot of walking. Very comfortable that way. Think ill grab another soon. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Love the tapestry
5.25.2013
" I really loved the tapestry on the body of the bag but the strap wasn't even real leather. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.28.2013
We can confirm that the strap is indeed leather!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:athletic
LOVE IT
3.28.2013
" Had to go to a store to pick this one out because I wanted to make sure I got the color scheme I wanted. Went to the free people in Philadelphia and got a really colorful one. Could be a little softer, but probably will get that way with wear, and I will be using this every day I can. LOVE IT!!!!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:Australia
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Love!
2.19.2013
" I absolutely love this bag. The colours are beautiful and rich, the leather strap is nice and thick and the little mirrors all over it add a little sparkle. The only thing to beware of is the size - its quite large (bigger then it looks in the pics, kind of like a beach bag size). i love it big, but i can see how it may be a bit much for some. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:26-30
body type:petite
Nice tote, but not great.
1.22.2013
" I have to say, I am a little disappointed with this tote. It is a beautiful bag with a wonderful combination of colors and textures, but after only using it for about a week, it's falling apart at the seams. The leather strap is very thin and feels as if it won't last very long.
I believe that, for the price, this tote should have been put together a little better. I bought it with gift-cards I received over the holidays, but if I had spent my own money on it, I would have returned it.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:slender
Unsure.
12.27.2012
" i've been wanting this bag for months, since the first time i saw it in my local fp store. The embroidery is breathtaking and the style is flawless. When i finally ordered it online, and received it in the mail i was very disappointed. Not by the quality (which exceeded my expectations) but my the "fit." The bag would NOT stay on my shoulder, and the size just looked very awkward. Its the kind of bag i really just want to look at, but not wear. I'll probably end up returning it. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:Montreal
age:over 45
body type:slender
Stunning bag!
12.6.2012
" I received this tote in the color very similar to what is pictured. It is quite stunning. The bag is big, much bigger than I am used to carrying. You can certainly fit a lot into. It has a zippered pocket on the inside as well as a pocket for your phone. Only worry is that the workmanship is so delicate that I would hate to snag it, therefore I have to be extra careful with it. Can't wait to wear it. It will certainly make a statement. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:Indy
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Top-notch carry all!
10.5.2012
" I fell in love with this bag when I first saw it in the August catalog, knew I had to have it! I purchased the tote almost a month ago (it was hard to choose one, no two bags were alike) when visiting a girlfriend in California and used it as my carry on for the plane trip home. This bag is very roomy, it held my three travel journals, a blanket and all my other treasures from our adventures. Since then, I've been using it as my everyday bag even though I don't need all the space, it's just too beautiful to not use daily! I will caution, if you're the type that likes a clean, uniform look to your bag, maybe reconsider. With daily use, mine has a few strings hanging off here and there. I don't mind but that's the reason I gave it four out of five stars. Overall, L O V E it!!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
age:31-35
body type:athletic
My New Boho ETERNITY Bag! I Love Its Look!
9.23.2012
" This bag is so bold, new, fresh with amazing colors! I looove the fact that I can wear it with anything and it will stand out in any crowd. Never seen a bag made like this one before. It's a must have over-sized bag!!! First b/c no two bags were made alike - the uniqueness of that alone is priceless. Second b/c it is roomy, comes with compartments for phones, keys etc. aaand can be worn as a shoulder bag b/c its leather strap is the perfect length! Two consistent issues w/ the bag: 1) The materials are falling off and look damaged before you even purchase it and 2) Those materials falling off were super-glued down by the manufacturers and you will see super glue on the garments. If you don't care b/c u love the design then just buy it. Get one now b/c if you don't the company might not make any more. I'll use mine forever! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:Oklahoma City
age:36-40
body type:pear shaped
Love!
9.22.2012
" I love this bag. It's huge, so holds anything I could ever want it to. I have received a ton of compliments on it as well. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:.............
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Stunning!
9.16.2012
" I had to write something about this bag! I am more than happy with it. It is such a gorgeous and convenient bag to use for such a reasonable price, given that it is handmade and so intricate. ALL of these bags are DIFFERENT, so some have more neutral colors in them while others are more orangey and bright. This bag is also HUGE and can fit just about the whole world in it. I LOVE it--it's perfect for school, travel or work (you could easily fit a laptop in here...) Even though it is such a busy design, it surprisingly goes with just about anything. Some of the patches were slightly coming off, but it was nothing that super glue couldn't fix. Nothing to complain about at all. I also love the added tassel on the side and the contract of the leather strap. I can't wait to use this bag for the rest of my life!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Beyond Disappointment.
9.16.2012
" I hand picked my tapestry tote in a store, so I LOVED everything about it.. from colors, to embroidery patterns. I chose a tote that was a little more on the neutral side, but totally amazing. My bag had 12 of the little mirrored circles... 5 have already fallen off, or the little "mirror" portion has fallen off. (The "mirrors" are really just sequins.) I could have lived with that issue if it was the only one.. but it's not. The zipper pull on the inside of the bag fell off on the 2nd day I used my tote. On the 4th day I used it the beautiful strips of embroidered fabric have started to come un-glued. That's right, the fabric is GLUED on. I have included a few pictures to show what I am talking about. Too many problems with in 5 days to warrant keeping this bag, I am completely disappointed. "
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:Sydney Australia
age:over 45
body type:athletic
shello
9.6.2012
" Fabulous bag, Very funky and goes with most thinks casual and boho. Fits absolutely everything. Pockets for phone, glasses and zip section for keys etc mean I won't have to go 'fishing' in my bag for items. Heaps of room for ipad etc.
Love this bag!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:sacramento, CA
age:36-40
body type:petite
GREAT!
9.6.2012
" This bag is gorgeous and very roomy. I use it as my yoga gear bag...love it. The only two things to note that were different from what I expected...1) The inside material is black and not the pretty fuscia color pictured and 2) some of the outter stitching is already coming off so the qulited peices are sticking up. Simple to sew back on...but still for over a $100, I shouldn't have to be sewing things back together. I do love it and am looking forward to the leather strap to wear in more and more. The tassels are exactly as pictured. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:IL
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Beautiful
8.25.2012
" I am so happy with this purchase! I'm always a little bit wary of ordering handmade items, because I know how much the design can vary, but I fell in love with this bag immediately, and with the price, I had to take a chance. Mine is mostly pink and a lot brighter than the one in the photo, but its still beautiful and extremely unique. Its pretty big, which I love, and the strap is sturdy. I'm expecting to get a lot of use out of this bag. If you're thinking about ordering, don't forget to consider the fact that the one you receive could be a completely different color than you are expecting, but I really can't imagine being disappointed with an item this unique. I definitely think its worth the gamble!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Vintage Tapestry Tote
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
You Can't Go Wrong
8.13.2012
" This tote is just beautiful. I saw it in a store and they had 4 color options... all of which were just gorgeous. I found one with a lot more purples and lavenders in it that was totally beautiful. The others were all different from one another, but equally special. The size of this is great for daily use, and spacious enough for an overnight bag. This tote is fantastic and affordable for what you are getting. The details on this are truly incredible. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large