Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP New Romantics Tailored Dress

Stunning button-front tuxedo drop-waist dress. Collared halter neck with satin straps in back. Pleated bottom. Lined. *88% Cotton, 12% Lurex *Dry Clean Only *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 30 " Bust (relaxed): 36" Waist: 44"
overall average rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Nope.
3.27.2012
" Selling a dress that it is impossible to wear a bra with is annoying as all get out. This is too nice a dress to have a bandeau peeping out from underneath. Seriously.Your only option is to wear some sort of layering top underneath, but you shouldn't have to add clothes to be able to wear a bra. IMHO. Otherwise, I like the loose fit of the dress, and would suggest ordering your usual size. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
true to size
3.15.2012
" Thin material, flowy dress. But the material is not so thin that it is flimsy. It is still substantial enough to be a dress. Slightly sheer, I recommend to layer with one of the tube dresses. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:14-20
body type:petite
Fantastic
1.19.2012
" I was able to snag this on sale the other week and I couldn't be happier. Everything about it is perfect..from the fit to the style..it's exactly what you want it to be.
I will say though, I can't imagine this would work well having a larger chest size. Other than that the fit is pretty universal. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:richmond
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Doesn't fit the same as pictured
12.10.2011
" When I saw this is the magazine i fell in love with it, however when i tired it on in stores i was pretty disappointed. I tried on a small which is my normal size and the dress was HUGE on me, not tight like pictured on the model. Unless there is a huge size difference between a small and an x-small then i don't imagine that it is possible for it to fit as pictured. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
great dress!
12.2.2011
" When I saw this dress, I was super excited to try it on. I am 5'10", 130lbs so I usually wear a small, but a medium was only available in the store. I loved how the dress fit, other than it was a little over sized (seeing as though it was a size up from my norm. Also, this dress I think fits better on girls, like myself, who are not busty because you really cannot wear a bra with it..maybe a bandeau at best). Like the other reviews mentioned, the material is deceiving online...way more sparkly in person, but I just think it makes it a fun holiday dress! Or you could grunge it up with a flannel shirt and combat boots! I think the back of the dress is just beautiful! Definitely happy with my purchase. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
a little sad inside
11.19.2011
" I was so excited to get this dress, but when I opened the package I was a little disappointed to see that it is WAAAAYYYY more sparkly than the photos suggest. The material also feels cheap. I thought that maybe it would look better on, unfortunately it is HUGE, you could fit 2 of me in there. I love the tuxedo style of the dress though, so I think I may just try to save it by taking it in, but for the price I have to say I am disappointed in the quality of this dress. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Charming Dress
11.18.2011
" This dress is very charming because of the Tuxedo style. Even though it's supposed to be loose, it looks really relaxed if you see it from the side - with a big difference between the length of the front & the back part. (I'm 5.5 /128lbs/34c) The material is white with shiny silver details and it doesn't seem to be of very good quality. I didn't buy it. Thought it was too expensive for what it is. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:boston, ma
age:21-25
body type:athletic
its okay...
11.12.2011
" i was so excited when i saw this dress originally worn by someone on the blog. i checked the stores near me and when they didnt have it in yet i rushed home to order. only took a couple days to receive but i was kind of disappointed when i opened my package. its WAY more sparkly then the picture really leads you to believe; almost overwhelming. its cute on but usually for me (130, 5'7) im a pretty solid medium but this was a little too loose especially in the neck. im debating exchanging it for the small or returning it all together. might be nice for the holidays... "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large