Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP New Romantics Tailored Dress

Stunning button-front tuxedo drop-waist dress. Collared halter neck with satin straps in back. Pleated bottom. Lined. *88% Cotton, 12% Lurex *Dry Clean Only *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 30 " Bust (relaxed): 36" Waist: 44"
overall average rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Nope.
3.27.2012
"Selling a dress that it is impossible to wear a bra with is annoying as all get out. This is too nice a dress to have a bandeau peeping out from underneath. Seriously.Your only option is to wear some sort of layering top underneath, but you shouldn't have to add clothes to be able to wear a bra. IMHO. Otherwise, I like the loose fit of the dress, and would suggest ordering your usual size."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
true to size
3.15.2012
"Thin material, flowy dress. But the material is not so thin that it is flimsy. It is still substantial enough to be a dress. Slightly sheer, I recommend to layer with one of the tube dresses."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:14-20
body type:petite
Fantastic
1.19.2012
"I was able to snag this on sale the other week and I couldn't be happier. Everything about it is perfect..from the fit to the style..it's exactly what you want it to be.
I will say though, I can't imagine this would work well having a larger chest size. Other than that the fit is pretty universal."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:richmond
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Doesn't fit the same as pictured
12.10.2011
"When I saw this is the magazine i fell in love with it, however when i tired it on in stores i was pretty disappointed. I tried on a small which is my normal size and the dress was HUGE on me, not tight like pictured on the model. Unless there is a huge size difference between a small and an x-small then i don't imagine that it is possible for it to fit as pictured."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
great dress!
12.2.2011
"When I saw this dress, I was super excited to try it on. I am 5'10", 130lbs so I usually wear a small, but a medium was only available in the store. I loved how the dress fit, other than it was a little over sized (seeing as though it was a size up from my norm. Also, this dress I think fits better on girls, like myself, who are not busty because you really cannot wear a bra with it..maybe a bandeau at best). Like the other reviews mentioned, the material is deceiving online...way more sparkly in person, but I just think it makes it a fun holiday dress! Or you could grunge it up with a flannel shirt and combat boots! I think the back of the dress is just beautiful! Definitely happy with my purchase."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
a little sad inside
11.19.2011
"I was so excited to get this dress, but when I opened the package I was a little disappointed to see that it is WAAAAYYYY more sparkly than the photos suggest. The material also feels cheap. I thought that maybe it would look better on, unfortunately it is HUGE, you could fit 2 of me in there. I love the tuxedo style of the dress though, so I think I may just try to save it by taking it in, but for the price I have to say I am disappointed in the quality of this dress."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Charming Dress
11.18.2011
"This dress is very charming because of the Tuxedo style. Even though it's supposed to be loose, it looks really relaxed if you see it from the side - with a big difference between the length of the front & the back part. (I'm 5.5 /128lbs/34c) The material is white with shiny silver details and it doesn't seem to be of very good quality. I didn't buy it. Thought it was too expensive for what it is."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Tailored Dress
Name:
Location:boston, ma
age:21-25
body type:athletic
its okay...
11.12.2011
"i was so excited when i saw this dress originally worn by someone on the blog. i checked the stores near me and when they didnt have it in yet i rushed home to order. only took a couple days to receive but i was kind of disappointed when i opened my package. its WAY more sparkly then the picture really leads you to believe; almost overwhelming. its cute on but usually for me (130, 5'7) im a pretty solid medium but this was a little too loose especially in the neck. im debating exchanging it for the small or returning it all together. might be nice for the holidays..."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large