Product Reviews

Painted Distress Boot

Rugged pair of paint distressed leather lace-up ankle boots. Leather and rubber sole. The distressed finish on this boot was created specifically for Free People. *By Bed | Stu for Free People *Leather *Import *8" Shaft height, 1 1/4" Heel
overall average rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Painted Distress Boot
Review 1 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:COLUMBUS,oh
age:14-20
body type:athletic
sad..
5.29.2012
"wanted to get these so bad but now there gone..."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:L.A.
age:41-45
body type:athletic
They only look old
5.1.2012
"while these boots appear to be soft and warn and broken in....the reality is they are as stiff as all get out. As much as I want them to be my kickin' it boots for slumping around in, there is going to be quite a breaking in period. They are also extremely narrow across the top. Which is great for my boney old heels but would be pretty uncomfortable for the wide footed gal."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:Florida
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Bargain boots
4.3.2012
"I likey! Ok, they are comfortable, yes, the shoe box is wide. Maybe too wide for some. But for me, no. First, I have bunions and need a wide shoe box. I'm guessing these are W or extra W? Most shoes are B, too narrow for me. My size is 8.5 and ordered 9 and fits nicely. Not too large or tight. If I had ordered an 8.5 with socks, these boots would have been too tight in the toe box area, right where my bunions are. For those who don't know what they are, it is inflammation and calcification of the first joint of the big toe and painful when wearing narrow shoes. The sole gives support and cushion. These boots hug my feet and I want comfort. However, the left boot looks slightly wider than the right on the lateral edge by the toe box region. Regardless, I'm keeping them. They are rugged without the combat boot look, which I have and wear to work. I have attached a photo that's very close to the reality of what the boots look like."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:toronto
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Great!
3.30.2012
"After reading the reviews re: sizing I ordered my normal size and a half size up. I'm usually 8-8.5, so got 8.5 and 9. The 8.5 are plenty big and I have wide foot, so not sure about all the other 'these fit so small' comments. I almost wonder if I could have gotten away with an 8, but am going to stay with 8.5. So i'd say they're pretty TTS. I've been wearing them for 2 days straight since receiving them, at first they were a bit uncomfortable but seem to have broken in nicely already. They look pretty close to the image shown although the toes are a bit more round than I expected. Still look great. Love 'em and imagine i'll be wearing these for several years."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:Vancouver, Canada
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Stiff leather boot
3.26.2012
"I have to agree with the other reviewers that the fit on top is tide and the leather is not soft but rather stiff. I had a hard time getting them on also I’m sure they will stretch. The overall look is nice but the boot is not very comfortable to wear. For reference I ordered my regular size but wish I would have ordered ½ size up as other viewers recommended. Would I order it again - No"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:petite
Good Deal
3.16.2012
"Just like one of previous reviewer had posted, these shoes look more like Doc Martens than a pair of worn, soft combat boots.
The pair I received has less scuffs than the picture, yet few months of wearing should fix the problem.
I usually wear size 7 and ordered 1/2 size up just like the other reviewer suggested, yet were still too small and I ended up exchanging them for size 8.5.
Overall I think the shoes are worth buying, It is a really cute pair and is now on sales!
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:Great Lakes
age:41-45
body type:petite
Cool Kicks!
3.9.2012
"I took note of what the other reviewer's posted and went up 1/2 size. They are tight in the vamp area but I am sure they will soften with wear! I would not go up any more than a 1/2 size or the boots will be too large in length. Mine look close to the boots pictured. They have a very rounded toe box and have distressing and just the right amount of white wash. I got these at the sale price and i am glad I did. These will be in heavy rotation since this style is so versatile. They were shipped sans box, just wrapped in a plastic bag."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:petite
RUNS VERY SMALL
2.22.2012
"I love these boots theyre very similar to doc martens just more warn in and an inch taller on the part that goes up your leg. Every single boot I own is a 7 1/2 and I ordered these ones and I couldnt even get them on my foot. Very cute though"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:14-20
body type:petite
Buy these shoes!!!
2.9.2012
"New favorite boots! Super comfy, fit just right, and are totally unlike any other boot I've looked at. As far as the picturing goes, my boots don't have quite as much white on them. I'll probably try to improvise a little and spray some more on. Other than that they're completely as pictured, scratches and all. You can't go wrong with the sale price... worth every penny! A+++"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:21-25
body type:slender
Well, Here's the Deal on These:
2.6.2012
"You are NOT getting what's in the picture. The ones in the pictures look soft, worn in, and more like combat boots. The ones you receive will look like Doc Martens with white washed paint and no cool scuffs. I'm guessing the ones pictured are more quality boots that were photographed as examples of what the mass produced pair will look like-- kinda' like a McDonald's burger always looks better in the commercials than when it's sitting on your tray, ha! I put them on, however, and they still look REALLY COOL. I'm including pictures so the other buyers will know what to expect."
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:41-45
body type:pear shaped
rad boots
1.14.2012
"I ordered a 10. I'm usually between a 9 and 9.5. I do understand what the other reviewers were saying about the tightness around the top of the foot. I have worn them a couple of times with thin socks and have noticed they have stretched out a bit, so I think they will get better with age. They do look so great with things (dresses, jeans) that I am willing to work with them. Overall, I'm glad I bought these and think I would have regretted not giving them a try."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:NY
age:14-20
body type:petite
In love!
12.24.2011
"I ordered these lovely boots about two weeks ago and they're absolutely brilliant. They look amazing on. My only suggestion is to get at least a half a size bigger than your normal shoe size because they do run a bit small. I received countless compliments though! Definitely worth a shot!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:pinckney, michigan
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
I have three pairs of Bed Stu boots
12.3.2011
"These are my favorite of the pairs I own...they run true to size ..if you wear thick socks then size up a half size...I am a med size 8 with a high arch and have no problems with these WHAT so ever....I love the leather and the style....I wore these to a fancy Party yesterday with a black gown...I am sorry the other reviews had issues with these but I LOVE them very much .... 5 people yesterday asked where I got these boot.....for me they are winners. Maybe I will sleep in them also,"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:So Cal
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Disappointing
12.1.2011
"I was very excited to receive these boots in the mail, but they didn't fulfill any expectations as soon as I got them on. The quality of the leather is thin and stiff. There's a strange inner lining (leather- it's also stiff) that goes around your foot (snuggly hugs your foot) and goes just below your ankles, which I think would rub against the skin and eventually cause some pain. The color is true to the picture, they look just as cool and rugged. Unfortunately, they also made my feet look unusually big and "clown" like. I wear an 81/2, so I don't consider myself to have gigantic feet. If you check out the second pic (side view) on the model, you'll notice that "clown" toe. Not very attractive! Overall, the quality (leather, lining, fit) of the boot is not worth the $260+. You could purchase a Frye combat boot for the same price but get so much better quality. If you still want to take a chance w/ these boots, then I'd recommend sizing up 1/2, especially if you want to wear a thicker sock. That lining really hugs your feet (and I don't have wide feet, I'm a very average size 8 1/2). Good luck!
P.S.~ I recommend Free People buyers do a test run in the boots (wear them) for a week prior to stocking. Also, if they run small or big, recommend sizing in the product detail.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Painted Distress Boot
Name:
Location:Tx
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Sizing way off
11.24.2011
"I was so excited to get these and tried them on as soon as I got them in the mail. I am a size 8. My foot is not narrow or wide, it's average. These did not fit at all. I had to take the laces out completely and when I finally got my foot in OUCH! They are narrow with no room for the instep part of the foot. The length was fine but there is definitely something wrong with the instep. I almost wonder if my pair are defective. I am going to exchange them for a half size larger and see if that helps. I really don't want to try for a whole size because like I said, the length was fine. I have never had this issue with boots or any shoe before. Really disappointed."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large