Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Velvet Wideleg Overalls

Stunning velvet wideleg overalls with adjustable straps. One big front pocket on bib. Two front pockets and two back pockets. *80% Rayon, 10% Nylon, 10% Silk *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Rise (to top of bib): 17 " Inseam: 32" Waist: 30"
overall average rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Review 1 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:California
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Funky Glamour
2.18.2012
" I absolutely love this! so much fun to wear. The metal thing came apart on mine too, but it was an easy fix. If you want the eyes on you - get this one! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Weird Fit
1.25.2012
" These are some weird high-waisted overall crazy-train cut... It causes the overalls to be both too big and too small at the same time. Because of where the waist hits, the overalls run snug in the waist and hip, but they are so overwhelmingly loose everywhere else that sizing up is impossible. It's confusing. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:Tennessee
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
velvet swag!
1.14.2012
" Absolutely adore these. The fit is perfect. The legs are quite long for me at 5'3" tall, so I have to wear 4" wedges with them just to have to pull them up a bit less when I walk. I may end up hemming them. The velvet is a luxurious deep wine (reminds me of a Renaissance painting) colour and the texture is perfectly plush. Lovely conversation piece. Everyone wants a pair! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:USA
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Runs Snug
1.11.2012
" Stunning velvet overalls but very long on my average height. No problem to hem but the issue comes to play in the cheap metal fastener that hooks to the straps. They came to me broke so had to send back. Medium to snug and sending back due to fit and flimsy broken hook. The material is heavy so unsure why they would have put such a cheap, poor quality fastener on these overalls. If not wrong size would have kept and just switch out the hook. 4 stars due to hook! I am 135 pounds and 5'6 and these were very long. Back they go! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:West Hills, CA, USA
age:41-45
body type:pear shaped
Totally glamorous
12.26.2011
" Beautiful color, style and feel, but the velvet was not smooth and they didn't seem worth the price. The fit was snug through the waist and hips. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:USA
age:36-40
body type:slender
FANTASTIC!!!!
12.24.2011
" I originally saw these in Oct and loved them. I finally purchased them on sale and do not regret the purchase. I am 5' 9" and these are long on me. The fabric is so velvety soft and can be dressed up or down. They fit well in the waist and hip area..I have to do no alterations. Love them!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:DC
age:26-30
body type:curvy
The metal loop broke apart
12.23.2011
" This is a really nice pair of overalls. The material is a nice weight and quality. It is very long but alterations should be no problem. The medium works well for me (5'6 36C). Unfortunately I have to return these. The metal hook where you adjust the strap broke and fell apart as soon as I tried it on. Being wide legged, long, and velvet you can imagine this piece has a little weight to it. Im really not sure why it was designed with small flimsy hooks. Even at the sale price I can't justify keeping these. If the hooks were designed better and were stronger I would definitely keep this. But I dont want to risk these falling apart while Im wearing them. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Unique and Beautiful
12.23.2011
" So, I'm a girl who came of age in the 90s. Overalls were a staple of my middle school wardrobe. Looking back, not so much. Yikes those Gap overall were hideous! These, however, are fantastic. This is a good example of some of the awesome updated 90's looks going on right now. Makes me feel nostalgic, but so much more fabulous! The fabric has a bit of silk, so it's weighty but soft. Very rich and luminous velvet. Like a lot of FP, the legs are CRAZY long. I originally got a medium, but had to size down as this runs big. I pair with really sleek fitted tops to keep the silhouette long and lean. Cute with a crop top too... "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Off Shoulder Ribbed Top
 
 
 
Shimmer Pointelle Seamless Crop Top
4.2 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:Long Beach, CA
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Love these!
12.18.2011
" I saw them in the Oct catalog and knew I had to get them so I waited and purchased them during the four hour sale. These totally rock! I am tall and these are very long, all the way to the ground. I sizes down and got the XS, still plenty of room. The velvet in this color has somewhat a Christmasy look but I will wear them all year round.
P.S. I wore them with the "heart on your sleeve" thermal in ivory from last year, looked amazing! What a great buy!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Many many compliments
12.16.2011
" Several people per day stop to ask where I bought these. Very soft and comfortable. I'm 5'10" and the length is perfect (without heels). "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
size down
12.16.2011
" These are very soft and comfortable and just as pictured. It has a very holiday/winter feel. These run long and I had to have them hemmed, otherwise a very nice retro pair of overalls. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:over 45
body type:petite
Endless love.....................
12.14.2011
" I purchased these at full price as a b-day gift to myself and adored them instantly! Soft and luxurious and oh so yummy. Rich classic color and timeless styling, I wish they were offered in more colors so I could buy another pair. These will dress up or down and you could wear them anywhere. They are very stylish and would look good on anybody type. The drape of the velvet is very flattering and it almost looks like I am wearing a long velvet skirt until I walk. These went on clearance shortly after my purchase and FP gave me the price adjustment so this purchase was a double gift! Thank you Free People :) If you have been thinking about these, don't think anymore - buy them, you won't be dissappointed and you cannot beat this price! They are long so if your tall you are in luck. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Heritage Wool Coat
4.6 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
Kona Pointelle Poncho
4.5 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
Open Stitches Pullover
4.4 out of 5(44)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 13 for Velvet Wideleg Overalls
Name:
Location:colorado
age:31-35
body type:slender
These rock!!!
11.8.2011
" This outfit totally kicks hiney! I love FP for being so different. The color is a beautiful plum purple velvet. They're very soft! I get compliments and thumbs up every where I go! Get these! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large