Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Balneario Beaches Dress

Jersey knit striped maxi tank dress with an attached bralette underneath for extra coverage. T-strap style at the back. Slit at each bottom side. Super comfy and casual. **Special Note: The light grey color way combo as shown in the catalog shot does not exist. It is actually much lighter and two different shades of light grey, as shown in the studio shots.
overall average rating:
3.692 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Balneario Beaches Dress
Review 1 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Love this dress
12.5.2013
" I am a sucker for maxi dresses. I love this dress! It is the perfect weight and not to sheer.
my only issue is that it was tough to figure out how to put on at first. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:36-40
body type:petite
Huge!
11.9.2013
" I love free the people but the sizes are all over the place. I fit into small all the way to larges in the clothes, so I can never tell for sure. I am 5'2 and about 135lbs, maybe. I usually wear a size 10 in most clothes and an M-L in woman's. Well with this dress I feel like I should have gotten an x-sm! It was huge! Not just a roomy dress but a tent. I got it altered (twice) to take in the sides and straps. The bottom was an unfinished hem so it is easy to trim to your hight. However, what I paid to have it altered still made it less then the original price, so over all a good buy. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
huge
10.25.2013
" managed to get my hands on the last XS in light grey and i am swimming in this dress. i mean, swimming. i am 5'6", 135, pear shaped, and besides it being too long, its very roomy. cute and comfy, but nothing spectacular about it really. i wouldn't have paid more than 30 bucks for it so im glad i caught it on sale. its a keeper :) "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:NW
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Nice summer dress
10.14.2013
" I am 5 11 and 140 lbs, 36B for a bra size. The dress is great, flowing gracefully all the way to the round. I ordered a medium size and the bra portion is a bit big on me but I can easily fix it. It is long, without shoes it is all the way to the ground. The color is beautiful. I think a small for me would be better though. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:Sydney Australia
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Extra long - love it!
10.6.2013
" I'm 6ft tall so sometimes even maxi dresses are hard to find in the right length, but this one scrapes the floor which is lovely :) arrived quickly, great quality - very impressed with my first FP purchase :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:Sothern California
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Supper comfortable and beautiful dress!!!
9.11.2013
" I bought this dress in olive color, size XS on line. I am 5'7'' , 130lb. When I put the dress on, it looks too big on me. I just love the fabrics and color of this dress. So I put a belt around my waist. It looks great !! I got a lot of compliment from the people every time when I wear it. Then, since this dress is beautifule and supper comfortable to wear, I ordered the other color of this style after this one. :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:Alexandria, VA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Love the color and design <3
8.19.2013
" I have a bad habit of ordering smaller sizes to "motivate me to lose weight", but this dress won't work for that. It is BIG. I ordered a size small - which I'm not, by any means. I kept tripping over the bottom (even after I tied the ends together, which according to my boyfriend looks goofy cute), and my girls kept peeking out. I had to keep rearranging the top. So, I'll have to have it altered, yes, but I love it, it's comfy, it's sexy, and I'll be keeping it! :D "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:Cornwall, UK
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Lovely, LONG dress
6.28.2013
" I am 6' 1 and this dress sweeps the floor on me-and I love it! I bought the olive stripe and the colour is very true to the website images. The dress is on the roomy side but this makes it really comfy, made all the more so by the super soft fabric. Only downside for me is that I have a little bit of a struggle to get it on due to the included bra top, but this is a tiny downside as I really love the inbuilt bralette-totally great idea. If you are freakishly tall, like me, and you are looking for a great casual maxi dress you would do a lot worse than to buy this dress-I would live in it if I could! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:New York
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Cute Dress, but small in chest
6.15.2013
" Dress is very cute, but not good for woman with a chest. I ordered a Medium and it is great, but the insert for the chest was very small. I can't order up because the rest of the dress would be too big. Also was very long. Will be returning it. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto, Canada
age:26-30
body type:slender
Love it - after alterations
6.15.2013
" I'm 5'5 a size xs/0. This dress fit like a size XL. I always expect to have to get maxi dresses hemmed. But I had to, not only get this one hemmed, but also have the straps shortened and the dress taken in about 10 inches in total (5 inches on each side). So after $60 in alterations, it's now beautiful. But I'm not sure that it was worth it (since with alterations, shipping, cost of dress, this dress ended up costing me about a lot). If you don't mind having to spend the money on alterations, I would recommend this dress. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:Hong Kong
age:41-45
body type:slender
it's a tent!
6.13.2013
" What a great idea for this dress with the bralette underneath, looks super cute on top. Unfortunately the rest of the dress is more like a tent than anything else, it has no shape and is waaaayyyyy to large and flowy for me, couldn't imagine a single situation in which i would want to wear it, including at home. I'm 5'6", 34B and usually get an XS in FP.. this dress in XS was more like an XL. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:Berkeley, CA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Would be awesome if it had some shape
5.24.2013
" I'm 5'10", and the length was perfect, but it was just overall way too loose for me (more so than it looks on the model).
I'm usually a S/M; I got a S and could have easily gotten an XS, and it would have still been too large. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Balneario Beaches Dress
Name:
Location:Denton, TX
age:over 45
body type:slender
Too Long
5.12.2013
" I really liked this dress, especially the attached bra inside, but it was about 6 inches too long for me. The bottom of the dress actually pooled around the floor, so wearing flat sandals isn't even an option. Unfortunately, I had to return this item, because it was too long for me. I'm 5"7 and I got the medium. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large