Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Overlapped Pencil Skirt

Heather grey stretchy pencil skirt with elastic waist. Crisscross slit at bottom back that is longer than the front. *By Funktional
overall average rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Customer Reviews for Overlapped Pencil Skirt
Review 1 for Overlapped Pencil Skirt
Name:
Location:cleveland
age:31-35
body type:athletic
comfortable
9.13.2013
" I have a hippy/round-bottomed 5'6 135ish lb build and bought this skirt in a M. I have it on now, and love it, though can't disagree with some of the other reviews. It is a thin sweatshirt material that stretches easily (good for molding to curves but seems to also loose it's shape quickly). It fits at my natural waist and doesn't ride up when I walk #big bonus!) and the length is the same as that seen on the pictures. My only negative point: the under-wrapped material in the back sits exactly where a panty line would and the top panel is attached by a single section of stitching that doesn't run along the seam. Iti's not so obvious on the pictures--check out the back view, left side of the picture and the stitch ont hr right side--but it makes it seem etiher a little tight or a little big. Not enough to have me not keep it; it's just way to comfortable for that, but if you're a stickler for details, it may bother you. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Overlapped Pencil Skirt
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
LOVE it!!
9.10.2013
" I bought this skit because it looked super cute on the model. I got an xs because previous reviewers said it runs a little big and they were right! An xs was a perfect size for me (i usually wear around 25-26 in jeans). It's super cute to wear to work or on the weekends. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Overlapped Pencil Skirt
Name:
Location:austin
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Great skirt, runs a little big
4.26.2013
" I'm 5'6" 125 and typically wear an XS or S in FP. Given the measurements listed, I ordered a S and it didn't hug my body the way I wanted to. I ordered the XS and it fit like a true pencil. Love it. One complaint: fabric is sweatshirt material and may limit how much I wear it. I live in a city where it's typically 100 degrees on most summer and fall days, so my usage may be more limited than had this been a lighter weight fabric. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Overlapped Pencil Skirt
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
larger than expected
3.25.2013
" I ordered an XS and it was baggy. I was expecting a tight, sexy pencil skirt that fit the way it does on the model. It fit my waist but wasnt tight anywhere else. I like it enough that I plan to take it to a tailor because I do love how simple and sexy it is, and how it can be easily dressed up or down. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Overlapped Pencil Skirt
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:over 45
body type:petite
Not for me
3.14.2013
" I liked the idea of a simple, neutral color, straight skirt. Sadly, this was not for me. The fabric is similar to what you would expect for sweat pants and more or less that thick. I normally wear XS but this one felt one size larger. It looked huge and the thick elastic waistband added bulk to the waist area. Could not make it look good with anything I had in my closet so it went back. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Overlapped Pencil Skirt
Name:
Location:Mid-West
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Bunched at Side Seams
2.16.2013
" At 5'8" tall and usually a size Small in FP skirts and pants, I found this skirt to bunch strangely at the sides almost like ruching, and I couldn't get it to smooth out. Also, the underneath overlap in the back looked like panty lines. Maybe it was the quality of the sewing or the thinness of the fabric, but I was disappointed in how it looked. I think the next size up would have been too large for me. I loved the style and the color, but it didn't work for me, so will be returning. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Overlapped Pencil Skirt
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Different in a good way
2.14.2013
" When I think FP, I don't immediately think of pencil skirts, but as soon as I saw this in person I knew I had to have it. The material reminds me of comfy sweatpants, but the fit is snug and flattering. The slit does not climb all the way up; the last few inches are sewn shut so you don't have to worry about anyone seeing anything they shouldn't! I'm typically a size 2 and got the extra small and it's a perfect fit. It's so cute with a t-shirt tucked into the waist with a pair of combat boots for an every-day look with that hint of FP edge! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 8 for Overlapped Pencil Skirt
Name:
Location:Montana!
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Not for hippies
2.13.2013
" I'm 5'5 and curvy! This skirt is sooooo cute! Alas, we are not a match. The overlap doesn't lay right on my hips or bum and though I sized down to a med it's strangely big in some places. Hope smalls come in again soon, I'd give it an optimistic try. The fabric is awesome, super soft and forgiving to my lady lumps! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large