Product Reviews

Shake It Beach Pullover

Oversized knitted pullover sweater with decadent crochet trimming attached to the bottom hem all around. The crochet part of this pullover has layer of fabric underneath. Super comfy and sporty, with a luscious touch of bohemian vibes. **Special Note: The fit of this sweater runs slightly big, for that much sought after oversized, perfectly slouchy fit. *Body - 42% Polyester, 35% Cotton, 23% Rayon *Crochet - 55% Polyester, 45% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 32" Bust (all around): 48" Sleeve Length: 17 1/4"
overall average rating:
3.135 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shake It Beach Pullover
Review 1 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:New Orleans
age:41-45
body type:pear shaped
crazy fit
9.22.2013
" This top is overall just plain awkward. I realized FP clothes run large, but at 5'8" and 140lbs., I bought a med/lg so I could wear it over other clothes. This thing completely swallowed me. I looked like a 4 yr.old wearing my 6'3" husband's sweatshirt (albeit with lace). While the lace is pretty, it is more than out of place with what appears to be a big old sweatshirt. And with the quality I see of the lace, I can see it just coming apart before ever getting a chance to clean it. Going back. Wouldn't get the XS/S because I really believe it would swallow me as well. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:Ocean Shores, Washington
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Adorable and SO comfortable
8.14.2013
" So excited about this one! It is so cute and so well made and fits perfect! Ordered it in the chambray blue xs/sm (5'8, 135 lbs, 34B). The heathering in the sweatshirt like material is beautiful, the frayed seam across the back adds style, and underneath the lace is another layer of blue cotton material that the lace falls onto. I'm really impressed w/this, had my eyes on it for a long time, finally caught it on a return (I'm guessing cuz they were out of it in my size) and really can't say enough. Even cuter in person. This will get a lot of wear. Can't wait to wear it w/the white thigh-highs I just got! Thanks FP! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Hilary Cable Thigh Hi
4.1 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 3 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Love the design but.....
8.12.2013
" This is a fun top that I was so looking forward to wearing. Sleeve length is great, fits loose, as is designed....However, I took it out of the bag and the lace along the bottom was raveling with strings left hanging. I could see that this was a process that would continue.....Sadly this will be going back.... "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:Manasquan NJ
age:21-25
body type:athletic
To much fabric
7.13.2013
" I tried this on in a S/XS in the cream color and it was way to much fabric. The sleeves were a little tight while the body part was huge. They didn't have a larger size in Macy's for me to try on but I probably would have been swimming in it. I really wanted to like this because I have been seeing it in stores forever and finally tried it on but I don't like it. I think it would be much cuter with a scoop neck. On a positive note it is very comfortable. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:Canada
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Love it but sad that it has a hole already....
6.13.2013
" I love this sweater and finally had the chance to wear it. It is very cute with leggings and boots. But after one wear it already has a huge hole in the bottom lace section. I will be trying to mend it myself because I love the top but be prepared that the bottom is delicate. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb6.14.2013
Oh no! So sorry to hear this. We'll be in touch xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:LONDON UK
age:41-45
body type:petite
FAB FAB Sweater
4.8.2013
" I read all the reviews and had wanted this item for some time, I eventually ordered the grey/black-it is so amazing, I am 5'2" and 100 lbs and thought that it may be too big (typical of free people) but this looks better being baggy, I wear it as a dress with thick tights and biker boots and leather jacket and it looks so cooool! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:Denver
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Eh
3.28.2013
" The pictures made me think it was a lot lighter in fabric, but it's majorly 'sweaterish' and heavy on the top. I am usually a L, but I ordered a S from reviews, and even that fit me awkward. My bust pushes the sweater part up so I look blocky and it's short, and there is NO FORM!!!! So what I did was went to the fabric store, bought some ribbon and rope and I'm tying it around my waist or under my chest to form it to me, and it looks SO much better! I think I'll sew some ties on in the back in the future. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:St Joseph, MO, USA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Too Heavy And......
3.10.2013
" This piece is just too heavy with Spring and Summer just around the corner. The fit of the pullover is unflattering, there is no shape to it what-so-ever. I found it to look nothing like it does on the model. It runs large especially in the torso, so size down. The mix of materials makes the piece unique. The construction of the piece is of good quality. Not for me, but too each their own. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:canada
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
not for me
2.28.2013
" I wanted to love this so badly. I love the idea and I still think on the right frame it is really cute. My issue is that the top was soooo plain looking. Almost like it needed a v neck. IMO this looks best on those with smaller shoulders. I got an xs/s (I usually swim in FP xs) but my shoulders are fairly broad and square for my frame. It made the sweater pull across my chest weirdly and the sleeves dropped at just below my shoulder - not as low as the model. Tried adding dangly necklaces or a scarf but it didn't improve look much.
This is definitely for small shouldered girls!
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
It looks sloopy
2.11.2013
" I tried this on in the peach. It was like a tent, way too oversized and not flattering on me. I think it's a great concept with the crochet hemline but I wish it looked better. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:athletic
More like a dress
2.1.2013
" I bought this top in peachy oatmeal at my local FP store and after seeing all the colors, I have to say they look much better in person than they do in pictures. I usually wear a large but bought the XS and it was still so loose. I would call this top more of a dress than a sweatshirt. It looks amazing with leggings or stockings and boots. I totally recommend "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:Seattle WA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Casual-comfy-Relax top
1.23.2013
" I give this 5 because I was looking for a top for a medium to large frame that was casual/comfortable/loose and this pullover met my requirements. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:Redondo Beach
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Should be called the Swim In It pullover...
1.18.2013
" I ordered this pullover in the oatmeal color in the smallest size, and it was still very big on me! I don't know how tall the model is, but the "slip" portion came down to my knees! This pullover fit more like a bulky dress on me. I think this style would work better if made with a thin sweater and softer lace. I'll stick with layering my tops over actualy slips... I had to return this :-( "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:midwest
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Don't Be Swayed.......
1.2.2013
" Don't let the bad reviews fool you especially if you are a size 8-10. The xs/s fits me fine and covers the top of the thighs (important at my age) or if you have upper thigh issues. Liked it so much I gave it as gifts to others. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:usa
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Love it!
12.4.2012
" YES, it runs big but it looks great! super comfy and roomy. The oatmeal is the best color choice. the blue looks sorta grannyish i think. Perfect tunic/sweatshirt with leggings or skinny jeans. I think most ladies will like the xs/s size . I'm short about 5"3 and around 130lbs and it fit great with lots of wiggle room. Cheers to FP for not giving this that huge scoopy big boatneck thing they seem to like to do lately. Big thumbs up! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:sunny south
age:over 45
body type:curvy
More a dress than top
11.30.2012
" This is wonderful but more a dress on me than a top. I'm keeping it because it just looks great on. It hangs well. I got the oatmeal not too peachy more mauve. The fabric was a little rougher than most FP sweatshirts; the lace does have a built in slip so leggings or footless tights would work fine. It's a good piece with more style than a regular sweatshirt. The back detail really makes it special. I'd say get it because you can dress it up or dress it down with jeans. I plan to wear the plaid scarf I got from here with this. Go for it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:Winston-Salem, NC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Love it!
11.25.2012
" It goes without saying, this top is very comfy. Made well, looks better after I washed it as the lace frayed a little. The style is very sweet but you have to wear fitted bottoms or it looks too casual and slouchy. Get tons of compliments when I wear it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:chicago
age:36-40
body type:slender
way too big
11.23.2012
" This top could have been super cute had they not made it so wide. It's just way too wide to do anything with it. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
age:14-20
body type:slender
I love it
11.22.2012
" Yes it is HUGE, I am pretty sure that it is one size fits all type a thing. I still think it is super cute to wear for a comfy look. I've gotten a lot of compliments on it especially the lace bottom, everyone loves it. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Shake It Beach Pullover
Name:
Location:greece
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Shake It Beach Pullover
11.22.2012
" A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ~simply perfect~ "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>