Product Reviews

FP One Tuxedo Tunic

Tuxedo-style button front tunic blouse with pleated detailing around front chest. Tiered bottom. Gauzy cotton fabric. *100% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 28" Bust (all around): 47" Sleeve Length: 22 1/2" *FP One is a collection made with love from India. The collection has been curated from the fine details that India has to offer; embroideries, prints, embellishments, rich colors and fine gauze fabrics. The collection brings a modern twist to old world techniques and creates a line that has a cultured feel with special attention to detail.
overall average rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Review 1 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:California
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Classic With a Twist!
10.14.2013
"Debated over the White or the Mauve & finally settled on White...been looking for a classic white, collared button-up to add to my wardrobe but just haven't found "The One". This piece def speaks for itself alone, or allows for a lot of creative layering. Fits true to size, I ordered a S (5'5", 34C, broad shoulders). The fabric is sturdy yet incredibly soft! This piece makes a statement without being too loud. Love it!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Melbourne, Australia
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Pretty but a little dissapointed..
9.20.2013
"I absolutely fell in love with this top when I saw it online and had to have it. Although upon receiving the material it is very thin sheer fabric, it is a lot more see through than the photographs, so a camisole is definitely needed to be worn underneath. I am disappointed in the fabric being very flimsy and the sleeves tight. It is very pretty but I am a little disappointed."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Washington
age:26-30
body type:petite
Disappointed
5.27.2013
""I normally love all FP clothing. However I thought this shirt was overpriced for what it is. The back is too big and the fabric is too fragile, at the first use it broke. I had to return it :("
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:new england
age:14-20
body type:curvy
great
5.18.2013
"made of light but sturdy material. can dress up or down. i got the brown color and when i hand wash it in cold water, the color runs. the sleeves are shown long, but actually are three-quarter length on me. i am 5'9"
over all, it looks great.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Ireland
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Disappointed
2.23.2013
"I normally love all FP clothing. However I thought this shirt was overpriced for what it is. The fabric is a very thin cheese cloth. Although the top would look nice with a slip underneath, it is very tight fitting and the sleeves are way too short. It may fit someone who is shorter as I am 5'11", but I am very slim."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Florida's Sunny Gulf Coast
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Roomy / not roomy
2.1.2013
"I stayed with my normal size M here, as the arms fit ok, but the body was still just too much material, it made me look pregnant and wide. I would likely buy it again and work with it at a sale price, but I took this one back. The periwinkle is as pictured, a vibrant blue- extremely flattering to anyone I would imagine, looked nice with my lite blonde hair. I experienced the button gaping effect as well. Material was very soft."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Surprisingly flattering!
1.11.2013
"I received this top for Christmas and was a bit skeptical about how it would look on me. I am large busted (38D) and short waisted. When I put it on, I couldn't believe how little it made me look even through the bust line; and it also doesn't flair out too much which makes my waist look small. I have a size large and it fits me just right. I have to wear a tank underneath as I have the white one and it is a bit see through and also the buttons do have a gap, but the top is not tight and the gap doesn't look bad or ill-fitting. It is very comfortable and soft as well. I pair it with skinny jeans and studded boots! Awesome top!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:East coast
age:over 45
body type:petite
In Love With This Must Have Top!
12.20.2012
"OMG----so cute on I had to have the white and shortly after I went back for the blue---and now I see the light mauve color online--uhhhh ohhh! I'm petite and the xs fit me perfectly---not too tight in the arms at all as previously mentioned---the style is so cute with the shorter front and the longer back---I love FP designs!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 9 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Conneticut
age:14-20
body type:athletic
AMAZING
12.16.2012
"I love this shirt SOOOOO much... its absolutely adorable! Its a little big to size, I'm 5'5 and got the small, its long than my hips by 3 inches but its so cute and drops a little in the back to give it a chic look. The burgundy is just beautiful, it may be a little expensive for how it looks in the picture, but I am so happy I got it. :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:NC
age:21-25
body type:slender
Really Great Fall Piece
10.23.2012
"I love this paired with a scarf and some tall boots. The plum color pulls together so many parts of this season that it makes you so excited it's finally here. The only con is that the sleeves are a teensy bit tight but since the shirt itself is so loose, it's a good idea to still go with your normal size."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Gorgeous top
10.12.2012
"I bought this top in the deep purple color and just love it. I always wear a medium in Free People and this top fits perfectly. It is a little shear but I did not feel that I needed a cami. I wore this out to dinner last week with skinny jeans and it looked great! I'm very pleased with this purchase."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Nice top
10.9.2012
"This top looks beautiful. I tried it at the local Free People store. The top was true to the size(S), maybe a bit tight in the bust area. I am petite and somewhat curvy, and this top does not flatter my body type at all. I think this tunic would be more flattering on a slim and tall person. Material is nice,with nice detailing."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Bristol, United Kingdom
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
Disappointing
10.1.2012
"I have been waiting over 3 weeks for this top and what a disappointment (I live in the UK). It looks absolutely gorgeous but when you try it on, is it tight around the arms,the material is very fragile and you can see right through it. Recommend buy a couple of sizes bigger as looks better loose. For me it is definitely going back as not worth the money - sorry :("
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free PeopleWeb10.1.2012
Hello! We are sorry to hear about the delay in the delivery of your top. Someone from our service team will be in touch to offer assistance.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:ca
age:41-45
body type:petite
so disappointed
9.29.2012
"I was so excited about this top I ordered it online because I could not wait for it to get to my store. I ordered the blue, which is beautiful, but the cut. I got an extra small, which is usually perfect, but the top seam ran right across my breast, and the sides are cut longer than the front with too much material making it look awkward, and hip widening(and I have small hips).I returned it. I do still like the material and the color."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
So Beautiful and Soooo Delicate
9.23.2012
"This top is truly GORGEOUS! I love love love the color of the plum. I LOVE the way it fit (size large). The length was just perfect at 5'9". The down fall is the fabric.... I could hear the top tearing and popping seams when I slipped it on. I am not particularly busty but the buttons were were pulling from the placket. The fabric is just too delicate for me to keep this top. If only it was made of a slightly stronger fabric."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Tissue Paper.
9.20.2012
"This is sooo beautiful in the plum size large. I am not a small girl, but I am not exactly plus size either. I tried this on in the large (36 C bust) and I could hear it ripping along the seams before it was completely on. Once on, it was soo beautiful I almost bought it.. Until I took it off and heard the seams ripping more and more. After I got the top off I examined the seams only to discover that they were starting to rip apart.. after only 30 seconds of wear. Also, I noticed the fabric had already started to pill.. not a good omen for this top."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:San Diego CA
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Can do better
9.16.2012
"I was drawn to the plum color in the store but decided against buying it. The material seemed like it will look ragged after a few wears. The buttons looked cheap. I also found the sleeves to be somewhat tight in my usual size. This tunic just didn't look as nice up close."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Arctic Tundra
age:over 45
body type:petite
Runs small
9.16.2012
"I purchased this in white in my usual FP size XSmall and was disappointed not only with the thin fabric but also with the sizing. I'm a petite and although this design looks like it might run big, it really doesn't. The upper part of the top is tight including the shoulders and upper sleeves. The bottom part is beautiful and flowy. I'm not sure if sizing up would work for me because I think the length will be too long on me. This one is going back."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:South U.S
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Pretty, but...
9.14.2012
"Why such delicate/cheap fabric? I second what the previous reviewer said; why design such a nice piece then use the cheapest fabric possible?
On to my personal experience:
I purchased this before any reviews were posted and when my size was just about to sell out in Plum. I was thrilled when it arrived, but when I went to try it on it was another story. First when I just touched it to hang it on a hanger one of my nails pulled a "run" in it. I seriously wonder how this is sewn with out destroying it, I'm a seamstress and even I can not imagine how they did it. I bet these don't weather well on the rack in stores!
I admit I am a sz Large, but I'm no linebacker by any means, but trying to pull this over my shoulders was almost impossible (seriously). While I was trying to get it on I could hear the seams breaking and I was being as delicate and careful as possible, this costs me $117 w/ tax, so I didn't want to destroy it.
Once I got it on, it was tight across my chest (36DD) and the buttons gap (shouldn't be surprised about that).
Over all I'm conflicted about this top, it's very pretty, but I'm surprised at the low quality, especially considering the price.
It's the most disappointing item I think I've ever bought from FP. Usually a Large works well and I love most everything else I've bought.
The price is waay to high for this top, even half the price would be too high. It's sad because I loved this in photos and BEFORE I tried it on.
Just be prepared to file your nails well before you even touch this and order up if you want to get in on and you're not a trained contortionist!
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP One Tuxedo Tunic
Name:
Location:Philadelphia
age:36-40
body type:petite
cute
9.12.2012
"I got this top in the plum color and the color is pretty great. I originally ordered a medium since this top is made out of the same material as the gauze button down which stretches out alot and the large was too big, but with this top I had to exchange it for my usual size Large. I would have given this top 5 stars, but I didn't because I wish it was alittle longer (maybe 2 inches longer) and I can't believe I'm saying that because usually fp tops are too long since I'm only 5'1", but I feel this style would be really awesome alittle longer."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>