Product Reviews

Destroyer Tall Boot

Amazing handmade distressed leather tall boot with buckle detail at cuff and zipper closure in the back. Please note that due to the natural leather material, each boot will slightly vary in color from each other. *By Ash *Leather *Import *1 1/4" heel, 15" circumference, 16 1/2" shaft height
overall average rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Destroyer Tall Boot
Review 1 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:China
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Awesome
5.2.2013
"I purchased 4 boots of my last order from FP.com (>_<), and when I added this one into the cart, I was hesitated as it’s over my budget even though it’s on sale. But when I received all the 4 boots, this one is my favorite! The craftsmanship is incredible and the leather feels so good! And this boot is an excellent match with almost everything, jeans, dress, shorts…. I’m pretty sure that I would spend a lot of great time with this new babe :P"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:41-45
body type:petite
Bummed...
4.11.2013
"I wanted these boots so badly - beautiful leather, style... seems like FP reads the reviews based on responses to the comments; however, why not update the listing with the correct details? Like 'too tall for tiny' comment - was worried about the shaft height but figured with the extra circumference give, could slouch them down... The circumference is not 16", my calves are just under 14" and I had just a little give around the opening - not as described. Returned."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:UK
age:36-40
body type:petite
Too tall for Tiny!
3.28.2013
"I sized up half a size because of the reviews, which was unnecessary, but gives me more room for tucking jeans into thick socks. The boots are perfect except they're too tall! I'm 5'1'' and they cover the bottom of my knees so I can't bend them! It's not easy buying clothes online when the models are 9 inches taller than you. I wish they were average height, but I know it will never happen! Now I'm wondering if I can build a mini wedge inside to raise my heels or if I have to send them back. Does anyone know?"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.2.2013
I would suggest taking them to a cobbler to see if this can be done -- it might be an easy fix! You can even find insoles online that add height which might save you some money. Let us know if there is any way we can help by emailing service@freepeople.com! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Australia
age:36-40
body type:curvy
too big
3.13.2013
"Every pair of shoes in my closet is a size 37. I bought these in a 37 and they were too big. They were also too loose around the leg and this felt uncomfortable. They are definently a pronounced 2-tone colour which I didn't really like. Had to return them."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:over 45
body type:athletic
gorgeous leather
2.27.2013
"I bought these boots on another site (paid $158 thank you very much) and absolutely love them. The calves are definitely not loose like the model who must be a toothpick! I did spill some juice on the front and it discolored right away. I had them repolished alittle darker on the bottom, but they still look really good. The leather is super quality and very thick so it doesn't look flimsy like some do. The soles are leather so they do need to be scratched up a bit so they aren't slippery."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Sweden
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Excellent and Stylish Boots
2.5.2013
"I was waiting to receive these boots and I was delighted when got them. They look exactly the same as I have expected them to look, mainly as shown on the last photo. However if you are keen to have the colour as shown on the previous photos it can be possible to achieve by polishing them with the red brown shoe cream. I wear size 38 and bought the boots in size 38 and they fit perfectly both length and calves, so they are true to size as described on this webpage. They are top quality boots and I I really like them."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:myrtle beach, sc
age:36-40
body type:athletic
In love
1.19.2013
"Those boots were exactly what I was expecting and were exactly what I was looking for! They look fantastic with leggings, dresses and slim denim. I purchased these a half size bigger and they were perfect. These boots will last forever. The distressed look is perfect, my fave boots this season."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:MIssouri
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Love these boots
1.10.2013
"I usually wear a size 8 1/2 and got these in a 40. They might be about a 1/2 inch too big, but otherwise fit perfectly. They also fit perfectly around my calves which are 15 inches. I measured the circumfrence of the boots and they were 16 inches just as described so I'm not sure why others are saying they are smaller."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:NY NY
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Calf Circumference Error 14"
1.2.2013
"I have big athletic calves so I was really excited when I saw these cool boots with the 16" calves. I waited for months for them to get the brown back in stock and got a pair for christmas CALF CIRCUMFERENCE WAS 2 INCHES SMALLER THAN SPECIFIED I could not even zip them. SO SAD.
They still say "destroyer boot" but they are the same Scott bis boot you can get anywhere else with a 14" calf circumference.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Minneapolis
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Wonderful Boots.
12.30.2012
"I usually wear a size 8 or 8 1/2 and went with the size 8. The fit is perfect on my foot. I was surprised at the fit of the boot on my calf. I have very small calves, and like other reviewers have mentioned, found the boots fit pretty small compared to the look of the model in the picture. If my calves were any bigger, these puppies would not fit. The quality of these boots is GREAT. They seem very durable. Love the zipper detail in the back of 'em. Can't wait to wear, wear, and wear again!! :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
I wanted to love these boots...
12.20.2012
"I fell in love with these boots after seeing them on Pinterest and despite mixed reviews about the fit, I had to try them for myself. Unfortunately they did not work. For me, the boots are loose in the ankles and fitted over the calf, which is an unattractive look and also made me walk funny. My calves are normal sized, not tiny, but I don't normally have trouble finding boots that fit. I was optimistic these would fit me the way they look in the picture. Bummer. I did order a half size up and that was the correct size, as others have mentioned. One additional detail: the bottoms of the boots are incredibly slick, when I was wearing them around my house on the carpet I had to be extra careful not to slip and fall."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:USA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Nice boots
12.13.2012
"These boots are very nice and are made well. They run small in my opinion. I usually order a 6 in all other brands and I had to try several pairs of these before I ended up with the 7.5. They fit as size 6 does me in other boots. I was not able to even zip a smaller size or get my feet in them. Note that these are Ash Scott boots and not a different model. Not sure why they aren't listed as such. The foot feels a bit stiff for now but the leather is very nice and I expect them to break in nicely and stretch a bit. If you have muscular calves these probably wont work for you, they are pretty narrow."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Southern Cal
age:41-45
body type:petite
QUALITY LEATHER AND ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS!
12.6.2012
"My size is 6 1/2 but I always order a 7 when I buy Jeffrey Campbell boots. I decided to go for the 6 1/2 in this Ash boot because I noticed from some of the reviews that it runs a bit big. I actually think though that this boot runs true to size. It fits me exactly with a bit of room for thick socks which I'm wearing right now. I notice that it runs a bit narrow at the width because my right foot is a little cramped at the front/ball. However, my right foot is a little bigger than my left so this is no indication that the sizing is off. The left boot fits me perfectly. I'm going to take the right boot to the cobbler and have it stretched out a bit, plus wearing it all the time will eventually loosen it up. I can't say enough great things about this boot except that it smells heavenly, it is well made and is very very classy. I feel like the "Lady of the Manor" riding through the English countryside when I'm wearing this. Soooo ROMANTIC!!! I might have to purchase the black pair as well. A great purchase that is well worth the price!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:chicago
age:26-30
body type:petite
Beautiful but for skinny ankles, rubs
11.10.2012
"Beautiful boot, the leather is very high quality and the overall look is chic. If you do have skinny legs and especially skinny ankles, these boots will chafe your ankles due to the slouchiness. I have to wear very thick socks and folder them over twice to prevent the boot from rubbing and making my ankle bleed (it still rubs a bit but it's not unbearable). I wear a 6.5 and ordered a 37, wishing I had ordered a 36.5."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Love Them
11.8.2012
"I was wary about these boots since everyone was saying how snug they were, but i ordered them anyway. I am glad i did! I usually wear a 7.5, so i got them in 8 and they are perfect. The calf area would be snug for anyone with larger or athletic calves, but for me, who is average, they fit just fine.
The shipping however was horrible. The boots were not wrapped nor did they have anything inside to keep the shape. Basically they were bouncing around in an oversized box.
Overall i am really happy with these boots. I have gotten lots of compliments and will wear them often.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:petite
AWESOME!
10.17.2012
"Love these boots! I have them in black. They are minimal enough to wear them with almost anything. They have great detailing and the leather is a great quality!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
So excited...
8.4.2012
"to wear these in fall! I'm 5'7 100 pounds size 8 in shoes, so I got these in 8. I wore them once with thin socks to get used to them and the ankle area were loose for me...wearing them with skinny jeans and thicker socks will hopefully fix the problem. I have extra space just like in the picture for that slouchy look. The shoes that came looks like the last picture of just the boots just alone."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Milwaukee, WI
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Beautiful leather, a bit tight around the calves.
7.22.2012
"I've been eyeing these boots since their release last year, and could never justify the price but continuously looked for better deals. Finally, I found a black pair in my normal size (8/38) in black for 170$, but I wanted to give you fellow fashion-craving women out there a perspective of the sizing.
I'm 140lbs, 5'7", and my calves just hit 14" in circumference. At first, I had a relatively difficult time zipping the boots up all the way to the top, and they almost felt a half a size too small. So what I did, even though it's 95 degrees here, I wore these boots in my apartment for a couple hours a day and would do simple stretches in them and stretch my ankles while sitting around. Now, I'm wearing them with skinny jeans and socks! Still snug, but I can only imagine they'll stretch out more and be even more comfortable.
It's a very high quality leather; I'm still memorized by the smell every time I open my shoe shelf and put them on. And even though a bit snug, they still sag at the ankles and look fantastic. I really can't believe how versatile this boot is while styling -- they look adorable with a sweater dress, skinny jeans and a long white boyfriend button up, or even your favorite white frock. Just the other day I wore these paired up with a snug black blazer and beaded peach dress. They really are an investment for years of wear and style. Highly recommended!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
age:26-30
body type:petite
So cute, but just too tight
7.19.2012
"After reading the reviews about how narrow the shaft of these boots are I decided to take a chance and order them anyway to see for myself. I have a wider calf, so buying boots online is always a bit of a gamble. They are indeed MUCH smaller around the top of the boot than it appears in the picture. I didn't have a problem getting them to fit, it just wasn't the fit I was hoping for. I really like the almost oversized look that's shown in the picture - but unless you have itty-bitty calves, these boots are going to fit pretty snug. Disappointing…"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Destroyer Tall Boot
Name:
Location:Tustin, CA
age:41-45
body type:slender
A Must Have
4.20.2012
"Vintage looking. I ordered the black and the toes are scuffed as if I'd owned them for awhile. If you are looking for a vintage looking boot then these are them. So glad I ordered a 1/2 size up. These boots run small. I am a true size 6 and these 6.5 fit right on. The circumference is narrow. Not sure if it is 16 or not but I know I would not be able to tuck my boot leg jeans into these. Only leggings or skinny jeans. Which is what I would wear these with anyway. I am 5'4 and 117 the shaft is perfect for this type of boot. They fall an inch or two below my knee. I had to stretch the heel/ankle part of the boot a bit bc they were rubbing on my ankle bone. Once I did they were perfect. These are boots you will have for a lifetime. Made really well. A must buy."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 next>>