Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Spinning Circles Raincoat

Printed clear raincoat with snap button closure at the front. Attached hood. Oversized fit. **Special Notes: This raincoat actually doesn't have the star pattern in the print as shown in the pictures for the slate and stone color ways. Sleeves are full length for all color ways, despite what is pictured.
overall average rating:
2.846 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Review 1 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:NC
age:36-40
body type:petite
ARMPITS EXPOSED to the ELEMENTS!!!!
8.27.2013
" I loved the fit and initial appearance of this raincoat. Unfortunately, it was very poorly made. The second time I wore it, I lifted my arm to close the car trunk..and the underarm seam split in half.
Flimsy craftsmanship... I doubt I'll purchase anything else from this website "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:Savannah, GA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
PERFECT
8.19.2013
" I get a compliment on this jacket every time I wear it, which is often since it's the rainy season here in Savannah. I went with the M/L since I do prefer my rain coats to be roomy. I'm sure the XS/S would have fit just fine as well. The yellow color is identical to the colors on the site. I have not had any problems with daily wear of this jacket. I do keep care of it and always tuck it away into the pouch it comes with. A definite steal and perfect improvement on rain gear! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:Bellevue, WA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Start raining already!
7.26.2013
" Got my raincoat in Slate today, and so far it has met my expectations look- and size-wise. This is a really pretty item that is also pleasant to the touch. I am 5'6'', 108 and XS/S looks good on me - a bit oversized, which allows for comfortable layering, but not too long or bulky. The color is nice, although on the second thought I would go with something brighter (yellow or pink) to stand out on a gloomy day.
The only downside for me is the material's flimsiness. I do believe the reviewers who had the 'tear-out-of-nowhere' issues. The coat is very thin and looks fragile, and the major area of concern is that around the small metal clips. I'll be extremely careful when wearing and taking it off. Also, I'd probably like a larger hood.
All in all, I'm pleased with the purchase - it's a very beautiful piece that is sure to get a lot of wear in my rainy area. I look forward to taking it outside :)
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Semi-satisfied
7.10.2013
" I fell in love with this product when I first saw it on the website. However, the $88 price tag was definitely not worth it. When I saw it on sale, I knew I had to get it. I was fairly satisfied with the product. It was light weight and really spices up an outfit. The description of the coat was not wrong, it is oversized. I usually wear size S and the XS/S was the prefect (oversized) fit. The only thing I dislike about this was the snaps for closure. I'm afraid of breaking it, so I am extra careful when opening it. Maybe oversized buttons would have been a better idea. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:NYC
age:21-25
body type:petite
Love it !
7.1.2013
" I recently ordered my coat months after I first saw it. $88 was too pricey for a raincoat so I was thrilled to see it on sale for $49.95. I'm petite (around 5'1) so the XS/S was slightly too large but that's to be expected. I was pleased to discover a small drawstring pouch in my package. I cannot wait for the rainy season just so I can flaunt my new coat ! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:Germany
age:21-25
body type:slender
Ripped after 4 uses!
7.1.2013
" Was very excited to get this as the pattern and colors are so lovely. About the 5th time I had it on a friend told me that there was a rip in the back... about 4 inches long. Not sure how to get this repaired and if I wear it it will only get larger! Very disappointing... "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb7.1.2013
We're sorry about this! Our team will be in touch to help. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:Saint Charles, IL
age:31-35
body type:slender
LOVE IT
6.22.2013
" I have been super careful with mine - for example when I open the snapped-up front, I open each snap using the metal part as opposed to just pulling the two fronts of the jacket apart. I hadn't read any of the reviews saying it was fragile, but instinct just made me careful with it, although I DO feel like I could wear it a ton anywhere and not worry too much about it being delicate at all. Super pretty, really functional and just the cutest little rain jacket to have in my stash of outerwear!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:Nebraska
age:21-25
body type:slender
Too Fragile for Practical Use
6.10.2013
" Received this jacket in the "stone" color as a gift.
Loved the jacket - it's been raining non-stop here, so I've gotten a decent amount of use out of it. But much to my dismay, the last time I went to put it on I noticed a hole on the seam where the hood is attached to the back of the coat. I could tell the jacket was delicate, so I was careful not to pull too hard while wearing it (wasn't too much of a problem since it is so oversized), but this hole is in an area on the seam where it wouldn't have been pulled! (I don't wear the hood) Pretty disappointed that the jacket is basically too delicate to wear. It's super cute with just about anything underneath, but unfortunately not worth buying, especially for the price.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:NJ
age:26-30
body type:slender
Poppy color is as pictured
5.29.2013
" I bought this from the store in the poppy color. It does look as pictured on the website here. I was hoping I would find it in the dolman 3/4 sleeves, but they didn't have any color in that style. The seams look pretty solid all over, it is more of a fashion piece that will also keep you dry. I could see it tearing if I were to snag it on something. I have more rugged sporty raincoats for walking the dogs and such. But this is perfect for summer thunderstorms when you are headed out to dinners at the beach or going shopping. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Love it but....
5.15.2013
" I bought this jacket in the store so I knew that I liked the sunshine color which i think it is as pictured here. It runs a little big/long Im usually a medium but I got a small. However after just one time wearing this it got a HUGE rip in the underarm. It not like its small on me or anything it just happened. I am very disappointed because I loved this jacket. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.15.2013
So sorry to hear this -- we will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:long island, ny
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Quality control needed
5.12.2013
" I loved this rain coat because it was light weight and the print was gorgeous! I got the poppy color and it went perfect with my fall oxblood boots.
Now, the real issue was that after wearing it twice it ripped under the shoulder when I hugged someone! I was so upset and it’s not like i can sew it plus I paid good money for the coat to be of good quality! I actually cried myself to sleep that night because I loved the raincoat until the rip. :(
I’m not sure whether mine is a manufacturing error or something but I did like the raincoat up until it ripped. For the price: it shouldn’t have been so flimsy! "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:athletic
I Seriously Paid $88 For This?
5.2.2013
" Worst purchase from Free People thus far. I was really disappointed because I need a raincoat as I don't have one. I bought the teal color in a M/L ... beautiful on the site, but in person...TERRIBLE. The color is fine but if you look there are 5 point stars pictured on the model wearing the teal color, however; if you look at the yellow color there are no stars on it. Well, mine didn't come with stars!!!! No quality control! I could not believe this - it's the whole reason i loved this raincoat opposed to other ones I looked at! That is not it. When I opened it I noticed it felt so thin. All my raincoats growing up have been thicker and heavier. Maybe it's supposed to be thin for the summer but if you tried, you could probably poke a hole through it with your finger...like a plastic baggy. One more thing is I'm not a fan of the sizing. I am always a M/L/XL and do not own a single thing in a S. I could probably fit perfect in the XS/S. The fit is supposed to be larger towards the bottom of the coat; that's the style, but it's way too huge and makes me look frumpy and chubby. Definitely returning this coat. Shame. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.6.2013
So sorry that you weren't happy with your purchase. We will be in touch.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Spinning Circles Raincoat
Name:
Location:boston
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Not as pictured
4.25.2013
" I wanted this to be a gift and I thought it'd be great because it's a unique piece. I got the poppy color but it's not as pictured. It's more like a watermelon red then the pink it appears to be in the shot. "
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.25.2013
Sorry that you weren't happy with the color of your raincoat - we'll be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large