Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Changing Directions Lace Top

This three-quarter sleeved cotton top is takes inspiration from Victorian garments with lace sleeves and overlay that covers its front. An embroidered design elevates the style.
overall average rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Reviews for Changing Directions Lace Top
Review 1 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:Sebastian, FL
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
Geometric design cotton lace top
3.29.2014
" I was pleasantly surprised when this top arrived and it fit perfectly. It fit true to size for me. I was especially concerned about the fit of the arms as others stated that they were tight...not so on me and my arms are not skinny. I'm 5' 5" and 140lbs and chose size L. It hits at the hip which is fine with me. I do not wear a cami underneath...just my nude bra and it works for me. I hate having to wear a cami under my tops it's too hot here in Florida. Receive compliments every time I've worn it. I'm very happy with this unique top. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:Washington DC
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
cute but nah, too small
3.9.2014
" This is super cute but kinda smallish. I'm 5'9" & 135 lbs w/ small shoulders and on the lanky side. As I sometimes wear XS in FP, I thought it would fit. For work or daytime wear, I'd wear a cami underneath as it is lace but had to send it back, too short & tight. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:San Antonio
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Small but cute!
3.4.2014
" Just got this shirt in the mail. I'm usually an xs or a small, but it looked kind of boxy in the picture so I sized up to a medium, and thank goodness I did! This top is EXTREMELY small: the medium fits like an XS! With that said, it still fits just fine, just a little tight in the arms but not uncomfortable. I have pretty thick arms anyway from cheer so I'm sure for most it wouldn't be an issue. But, the shirt is totally worth the sale price! Way more beautiful in person and not sheer! Very good quality! Very sweet, love love love. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:brooklyn
age:26-30
body type:athletic
adorable!
2.27.2014
" This is such a great piece! I'm surprised it's not sold out at this sale price! The lace arm panels are not a flimsy lace, it's a good sturdy lace and the embroidery is amazing! It's kind of a crop top so keep that in mind! Such a beautiful top! I keep trying to give this piece 5 stars, but I have android phone and for some reason it's been giving me a hard time to give that last star! Although it shows I gave it 4vstars, I'm giving it 5! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:Edinburgh
age:21-25
body type:petite
I love it !
2.14.2014
" I was a little afraid to order online, but this top looks perfect. It is a bit short, but it looks even more beautiful than on the picture. Totally worth it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:Alberta
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Not THAT great...
1.21.2014
" Just got this shirt in the mail. I ordered a small, my measurements are 5'9", 34-29-34, and it is just too short and boxy. It will be okay with a jacket or sweater overtop because the pattern on the front IS beautiful! I just wish it wasn't so boxy. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:atlanta
age:over 45
body type:petite
adorable top, but runs a bit small
1.12.2014
" I'm petite, size 4, 32DD, usually size S. I'm so used to sizing down to XS in FP clothing that I was really surprised when the S in this top was a bit small. It was tight across the bust and under the arms.The sleeves are also snug but I was OK with that. I got the white and just love the design, the dark embroidery really shows up well. It is unlined and has a lace front, but you can get away without wearing a cami or tank under it if you wear a nude bra, especially if you're wearing it under a jacket or cardi. The length was perfect on me, hitting just below the waist, just like the photo of the model. Although I could wear the S, I decided to swap it for the M to get more room in the chest, just in case I do want to layer it. It's a really cute top, works great for petites, and is a steal for the sale price. But if you're busty or want more length, size up. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:Sydney Australia
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Just Nice
1.11.2014
" I got this in Dolphin blue. The color is slightly more pale than on website. I'm a 38B/C (depending on brand) and 5"1' and the L fits me a tad loose. Overall it's a great purchase esp on the sale price! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:Columbus, Ohio
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Beautiful Top!!!!
1.6.2014
" I got this whole outfit and I Love it!!!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
perfect for everyday
1.3.2014
" Got this on sale in the store and it's really perfect! i bought the green because they were out of the lilac-y color. It's so beautiful and the embroidery is perfect! its slightly see thru but not too bad! definitely recommend this to others! Probably could have also fit a medium although i purchased a small "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:New Zealand
age:36-40
body type:slender
Just like the picture!!!
12.12.2013
" This was my first purchase from Free People and couldn't have been better. The top really does look and fit just like the picture-its beautiful. It is slightly see through, but I dont think you need to wear a singlet under. Im a NZ size 10 and the Medium fits perfectly. If your thinking about getting this top - you wont regret it. Thanks Free People :-) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
Geometry goddess
10.27.2013
" I said I would give myself a break from FP to let my bank acc't heal, but this shirt did her siren call to me. Everything about this shirt screams cool: the Art Deco geometric pattern, the boxy relaxed yet flattering cut...all strikes right at my heart. 34a, 27 waist, 36 hips. The xs fits great. Has sort of a crop top look but goes past belly button. Arms are a bit tight. More white than ivory. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Changing Directions Lace Top
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:slender
Holy Embroidery!
10.14.2013
" Wow I love this shirt! So this shirt is see through and needs to be worn with a tank underneath, unless you don't mind showing your bra. It is a short shirt and hits right at the hips. The quality is great, I am so pleased with this purchase. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large