Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Tuxedo Shirt Dress

Woven shirt dress with frayed pintuck detailing at the chest with button front. Gathering at ruffle skirt. Button detailing on the sleeves. Hidden pocket on either side. *Rayon *Machine wash *Import Measurements for Size Medium: Length: 35 " Chest: 39"
overall average rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Tuxedo Shirt Dress
Review 1 for Tuxedo Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:New York City
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Runs large, but ...
3.18.2011
" ,,, it's supposed to be a bit roomy. Don't be afraid to size down 1-2 sizes.
I bought this in white a while back and I LOVE it. The material seems to be really good quality, and is quite soft.
It's quite short on me but I'm extremely tall (6'1")... so it should hit most girls around mid-thigh or lower.
I wore it for new years with black tights, patent black heels, a stretchy black belt (that looks like a cummerbund), and red lipstick-- and everyone loved it. I can't wait to wear it with boots and thigh-highs like the model.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Whipstitch Hip Belt
 
 
 
Romi Sheer Rib Tall Sock
3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 2 for Tuxedo Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:26-30
body type:athletic
unflattering
2.24.2011
" This dress isn't flattering by itself. Even with a belt it still doesn't quite work. The front hem dips down a little so it gives it a strange look. I have a small waist and slightly bigger hips so it doesn't work with my body type, kind of looks like I'm wearing a sack. On a positive note the fabric is nice and thick and it feels nice on the skin. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Tuxedo Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Cute
2.22.2011
" This dress is cute, but a tad too sheer for my taste. I tried this on in a Medium and it fit just like it does for the model. The length hit me at mid-thigh. I decided not to get this dress because it was just too see through. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Tuxedo Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Miami
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Lots of Compliments
2.15.2011
" This dress is adorable. The fabric is very nice and heavy so you can wear leggings and not have to wear anything under it. I wear it with black leggings as well as jeans and it is just a great look. I am 5' 7" about 140lbs. I get a lot of compliments on it. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Tuxedo Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Overwhelming
2.12.2011
" I tried this on because of how much I liked a similar item (button down, sheer-ish, lace panels with the buttons... forget its name). I didn't dislike this dress, but I wasn't blown away. I think the fabric is too thick is the issue. The dress just hung on me. This was in a size down. I think a size down was the appropriate size (that is, another size down would have been too small), but the way the dress is made, and the fabric it is made out of don't drape nicely. (Not on a more curveless frame anyway.) That said, the fit on me was as it is on the model in white. SO, if you like the way the dress hangs on her, then you'll be happy. This is a no surprises dress. Size down unless you VERY chesty. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Tuxedo Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:over 45
body type:slender
runs huge!
1.15.2011
" bought a small, my norm 4-6, small-med..this looks like it runs big and it does..i was swimming in the small, and it reaches my knees! def like a gramma's nightie like another reviewer said..i can't imagine even an xs fitting...too bad, it's a cute idea and the material is nice like a thick rayon and frayed detail (so i gave it a 3 star)...could have looked really cute with a tuxedo type jacket i have with funky tights and boots..i love fp clothing but my biggest complaint is the total inconsistentcy in sizing...all this shipping back and forth is a drag "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Tuxedo Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
just as pictured, true to size
12.19.2010
" I never understand people on this site who talk about washing their free people clothes then complain about it. I would never put this stuff in a washing machine except on a special delicate cycle inside a lingerie bag. Even then, it is better to hand wash, or even steam clean it with a store bought one. That being said, this is just as pictured, thin material, very cute. Runs true to size. No complaints. "
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Tuxedo Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Arkansas
age:31-35
body type:petite
DO NOT MACHINE WASH
11.28.2010
" This is a great dress. I bought it for my wife as a present. However, we followed the washing directions on the tag perfectly, and it shrunk! The tag said machine wash cold--do not machine wash this dress. Free People was nice enough to replace it. So glad, because it is an awesome dress. "
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Tuxedo Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:michigan
age:21-25
body type:slender
it looks cute...
11.19.2010
" When I saw this dress on the model it looked sooo cute and I thought i had to have it...I was very much mistaken...I got it, tried it on, and it's not flattering at all. Not even in the slightest. It looked and felt like an old lady's nightgown on me. I returned it. I'm pretty sure some people could pull it off but not me. I expected it to look like the model. Oh and if you're worried about the white being see thru its not at all the material is actually really nice. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Tuxedo Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Versatile!
11.9.2010
" When I saw Rumi wearing this under the super striped tee in the November catalog, I HAD to have the 2 pieces together. Since I am primarily wearing this dress as a slip, I sized down from my normal small to an extra small (130 lbs, 5'6.75). The small in white looked like an unflattering nightgown on me and would have been too bulky underneath anything. The x-small is tight across the shoulders and I have to unbutton it to fit it on, but it fits well elsewhere, and falls to about 3 inches or so above the knee. Unfortunately, I haven't figured out exactly how to wear the super stripe tee over this yet without looking like a balloon =( but this dress goes perfectly without about half a dozen other items already in my closet. It's great for turning tunics and sweaters into dresses, and transitioning summer dresses into cooler weather clothes. As a dress alone, the details are pretty, and the fabric is opaque. Overall I'm very pleased! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Tuxedo Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Tucson, AZ
age:14-20
body type:slender
so cute!
11.8.2010
" I ordered the white in a small, it fits perfectly, so comfy too! can dress it up or dress down, its a really versatile dress. :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Sheer Tights
2.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
Seamless Scoop Tank
4.6 out of 5(26)