Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip

Sheer dotted slip dress with lace inset throughout. Ruffled hem.
overall average rating:
4.473 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(442 Reviews) 442
Customer Questions & Answers:
88 Questions | 261 Answers
Customer Reviews for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Review 1 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:MD
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
pleased!
7.29.2014
"ok so i purchased this dress from Nordstrom, but i decided to leave the review on the free people site. Anyway.... I am 5'6.5-5'7 and 123 lbs. Since I am tallish and have long legs I was scared to buy this, but i wanted it for so long and i finally got it on sale. I got it in the spring green color. Its a super pretty color! However I received this dress today, and it is veryyyyy wrinkly. I mean not that big of a deal but i will have to iron it for a couple hours until I get all of the wrinkles out. Also, I thought the dress would be a lot shorter on me than it is. I mean its shorter in the front, but it covers my butt and I don't feel exposed at all. The sides are a little longer which makes it prettier and helps with the length. I also got a size small and it fits perfect. Its a little loose which I like and flows great! The material is thin, so you will have to wear a slip under it. Overall, I think the dress is worth it and I want to get more colors!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
love but VERY delicate
7.19.2014
"I knew so many people who have this dress and love it so I ordered it in tea and it was beautiful but when I opened the package I noticed the lace was ripped in 3 different places. I was so disappointed because I know so many people who have never had problems with this dress but the fabric was just so thin and delicate it ripped. I did return it and even though it didn't work out for me, I know a lot of other people who were very pleased with it!"
Response from Free People:By Free PeopleFree People7.23.2014
We're sorry to hear about this! We'll be in touch.
xoxo
FP Bridget
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Detroit, MI
age:14-20
body type:petite
Perfect Day Dress
7.19.2014
"I got this dress in rose and the color is so pretty it looks just like it does in the picture! I got it in XS and it fits my 5'1 100 pound frame just right. My only complaint is the material. It feels cheap for a $90 dress and it wrinkles easily. Also, invest in a pair of shorts or a slip to go under the dress because it's pretty sheer and the zig zag lines at the bottom are see through. I wear my rushed seamless shorts under it and it works perfectly. Overall, this dress is so comfortable and cute and I think it's worth the expensive price!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Summer Go To Dress
7.8.2014
"This is one of my favorite items in my wardrobe. It is so comfortable to throw on over a pair of shorts. It's very cool and airy on a hot SoCal day but looks put together and fashionable. A definite step up from a plain tank and shorts but every bit as comfortable if not more. The quality is great too. Mine has been through the wash (delicate) many many times and looks as good as new."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Sugar Land, TX
age:14-20
body type:athletic
I'm addicted...
7.2.2014
"I have a total of 8 of these now: two Dusty Lilacs, Mint, Blush, Spring Green, Lemon, Tangerine, and Concrete. Some are mediums and some are larges because these shrink so much in the wash. For reference, I'm 36B, 145 lbs, size 28 in denim, usually a medium in FP, and 5'8". An unwashed large tends to hang down too low because the straps are too long, while an unwashed medium fits me perfectly. But a washed large shrinks up enough to look okay with my height. But be careful when you wear/wash these. After a while, they get really delicate - especially the lace!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
age:31-35
body type:slender
Love These-can't get enough!
6.26.2014
"I love the look and feel of these dresses/tops so much that like the wonderful thermals, I have a collection. First off, I am 6ft 125 lbs 34C with a long torso. I bought these knowing they would be too short on me to wear as a dress. I have some in xs, s, and m. There is very little difference in sizing between the xsmall and small aside from the arm holes are wider as you size up. The length on me is that of a tunic falling just below my butt. The sizing on the medium is much more flowey all over, has wider arm holes and while the length is about an inch longer than the xs and s -it's still too short for me to feel comfortable wearing as a dress at my age. The material is thin and you will need to wear a slip or cami underneath. I wear mine with leggings, shorts, and jeans. It's such a versatile piece that can be layered in cooler weather or worn on it's own in the warmer temps. I have the spring green, tangerine, sequoa, eggplant, storm, hazy teal, tea and white. I love them all! Also-I am currently 8 months pregnant and these still look wonderful-even with my huge baby bump! If you are looking for a flowy romantic and versatile peice-this is it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:slender
Too Short
6.20.2014
"I was really excited for this dress, but it was too short. I got an extra small since people runs large.
I'm 5-6 and 118 pounds, but this dress barely covered my butt and my underwear in the front was inch from showing. I love the design, but this was way too short."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Absolutely Perfect
6.14.2014
"This is definitely my go to piece. I have it in 4 different colors. This Slip can be paired with anything and everything. This slip will be wearable through all the seasons. Right now I'm loving it as the perfect sundress for summer. It is flattering on any body type and I love how comfortable it is to wear. This is another fabulous FP Slip and should be hanging in every girl's closet."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:CA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Floaty and Full
6.9.2014
"I have 36 DD-F bust and got the Medium. It fits nicely, hangs well though may be a bit short for people taller than me (5"5'). As an hourglass-shaped person, it is a little bit full in the hips still, so when I put a sweater over it it can make me look quite wide and frumpy. Not really what I was hoping for. But it will be sweet for summer.
>
As for packing and mailing... when it arrived it was *so* wrinkled it took me the better part of half an hour to iron it out to a wearable state.
"
Response from Free People:By Free People6.10.2014
Hi Kangourou,

We're sorry to hear about how your item was received. Someone from our team will be in touch to help make things right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:USA
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Romantic Comfort
6.4.2014
"This is made very well and is extremely flattering. I think it's great for layering in the cooler months or perfect as beachy summer attire over a bikini. I ordered a size XS and it fits perfectly (for reference, I'm 5ft 5inches, 32C, 25" waist and 34-36" hips). With my measurements, the size SMALL was too wide in the chest/armpit area and was the same length as the XS. Worth the money; it's so versatile and such great quality that it'll stay in your wardrobe for many years."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:14-20
body type:slender
Great Basic
5.23.2014
"I love this slip because it looks good when paired with just about anything. I bought it in the lemon combo (size medium) and it fits great! It's very flattering and feminine and I love the lace and fluttery bottom. It's a great basic that goes with everything- definitely worth buying!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Great Staple Piece
5.20.2014
"This slip should be in everyone's FP collection. I have it in purple and would love to have it in every color. It looks great with shorts, jeans, leggings or alone. It's a very roomy piece so if you want it to be more fitted I would suggest sizing down. It's very comfortable and airy, I wear mine all the time."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Classic Wardrobe Staple
5.18.2014
"This is one of my favorite layering pieces from FP and is totally a classic. I have the cream color and am considering adding to my slip collection by getting some more colors. It's super easy to layer under a baggy sweater, over leggings, jeans or shorts and is just so lightweight and easy to wear you can't go wrong! Beautifully made and I always get compliments on it!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:boston
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Perfect layering piece
5.15.2014
"When I bought my first voile & lace trapeze slip, the FP employee selling it to me told me "congratulations, you're a Free People girl now!" It's one of the best items of clothing I own, perfect for layering or on its own. A must-have."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:venice beach
age:26-30
body type:athletic
i fell in love but then….
5.14.2014
"i fell in love but then…. i hand washed it, cold water, and laid it flat to dry and it shrunk!!! it shrunk so much in the front and back it's not wearable now!! I'm so, so, so upset… id wear it with shorts, but it just kinda looks frumpy :("
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:curvy
What I expected!!!
5.10.2014
"Super cute! Material is lightweight and hangs nicely on the body! Love, love, love!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:San diego
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Slip
4.26.2014
"I absolutely love this slip, so cute and easy to wear. I am 5'4 and 115 pounds and I have the XS. It is on the short side, I tend to wear it with shorts, even though you can't really see them. It's the perfect staple dress. I have the marigold and it is a beautiful deep yellow gold. Recommend this dress"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Lincoln, UK.
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Wonderful!
4.23.2014
"Bought this dress for the summers and I'm so pleased with it! Beautiful dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:lafayette, la
age:14-20
body type:petite
dusty lilac!!!
4.19.2014
"pleeeease bring back the blush or the dusty lilac! those colors are so beautiful and were so popular. i'm hoping you release colors similar to these for the summer (:"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Santa Cruz
age:14-20
body type:petite
Love it!
4.17.2014
"I have five of these now and I just got one in storm recently, I love it! The color looks lighter than online but I still really like it, one of my favorite dresses! Wish I could get one i every color :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>