Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip

Sheer dotted slip dress with lace inset throughout. Ruffled hem.
overall average rating:
4.466 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(453 Reviews) 453
Customer Questions & Answers:
88 Questions | 261 Answers
Customer Reviews for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Review 1 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:
age:21-25
body type:slender
Wanted to love this so bad.
9.13.2014
"Wore once, the collar ripped from the fabric. Very disappointing as I really wanted to love this slip. Also, the sizing is inconsistent throughout the collection, certain colors run big while others run small. Got tea in a size medium & it was half way down my calves on the sides. I'm 5'7. Tried on my friends in the color eggplant in an xs & it was perfect as a dress on me. Major bummer as it's such a gorgeous piece! :("
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:NC
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cute, but short.
9.12.2014
"I ordered an XS, because I intend on wearing it under other clothing. Please, please realize that this slip is SHORT. Very very short haha. Either wear a the bodycon slip under or some very short shorts. It looks like it would be longer in the back, per the picture, but that is definitely not the case...I love it, and I am not returning it, but whew, I am only 5'6" and I can see my booty in this slip. I prefer the "Tattered Up Shred Slip" over this slip, but I love the "Tea" color of this slip. So, I am keeping both. :) My stats: 5'6" 115~lbs and 34E bust, ordered size XS."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Vineland, NJ
age:14-20
body type:athletic
My favorite purchase from FP
9.5.2014
"If I had the money I would have every color of this slip. I'm 5'3 and 128 lbs and I got a small and I looove it. Very soft and you can wear this many ways. Out of the 20+ items I own from FP, this is my fav. Buy this if your debating on it but its pricy and I've never seen it on sale in macys/nordstrom rack :/"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:alabama
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
ESSENTIAL
9.3.2014
"BUY THIS DRESS! I have it in black and plan to order more! I got a small which fits great, I am 5'8 so it is a tad short but I wear a grey slip under it and its perfect. I love layering with this dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:14-20
body type:curvy
fab dress or top
9.2.2014
"I love this and wear it often as a top or a dress, I have the red color. I have got so many compliments on it and the style is so easy to wear. I have an XS in this and am usually a S or M so would say it runs larger size wise but you defs want a flowy look to it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 6 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:USA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
LOVE THIS
9.1.2014
"This is by far my favorite dress that I have ever purchased in my lifetime. Every time I wear it, everyone around me compliments me on it. I got an XS in the tea colored version. I'm about 5'5 and it hits perfectly mid-thigh. Not too short, not too long. I also plan to pair it with some high-waisted shorts because it actually looks pretty cool! I wear a off-white colored slip underneath, and I have no problems with the sheerness of it!! Totally recommend this."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:petite
I'm in love
8.31.2014
"I finally purchased this after wanting it for so long. I went with the white and grey dot combo in a size small. I am only 5' 2" and the center of the dress is shorter then the sides of the dress, but it is plenty long enough to wear as a dress (even though some reviewers say that is it too short). The center of the dress goes a good 3.5 inches past my fingertips when they are down on my side. For those of you had had to follow the rule in high school to see if your shorts were long enough. The center hits about mid thigh and the sides hit about an inch or two above my knee. I could have and should have gone with an xs, but I don't think there would be to much noticeable difference other then in the straps which i can easily get hemmed because I'm so petite. I'm 32B, 25, 32 for reference. I also wear the seamless mini under this in white and it looks great. I'm so excited to wear this and I can't wait to get more colors. Still a great dress for petite girls because of how beautifully it drapes."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Harwich, MA
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Absolutely adorable slip "dress"
8.19.2014
"This slip "dress" is absolutely adorable, though I am not sure if I'll be trying it as a dress. Idk, I'll have to work on styling it. I picked the white/grey combo. Basicly it is white, with the tiny grey dots. I almost ordered the color tea, and still might.It is only a recent purchase, but I am thrilled with it. The length might work better as a tunic for me. Great with skinny jeans, leggings, and denim shorts. I have skinny boyfriend jeans I might try them with. Will be great for layering. I am 5'6", approximately 150lbs #but don't look it#, with a curvy hourglass figure. I love the way it looks on me. Very sweet and feminine. I hope to buy more colors. I noticed someone mentioned a blush color, and I would probably choose that too; if it were available. BTW, someone complained about it being wrinkled when she got it. Well, it was sent by mail, so what do you expect? Mine was too, but to be honest I gently handwashed it, and carefully hung it on a clothesline to get the wrinkles out. Perfect!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Versatile
8.14.2014
"This is the most versatile slip you will ever see. Perfect on its own during the summer or layered under a kimono or chunky sweater in the fall. I always size up with these though, because they tend to be a little short on me!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Texas
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Love
8.4.2014
"Love this dress so much. It is so comfortable and versatile. Perfect for summer, but also perfect for fall!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:australia
age:21-25
body type:petite
Not same color as in picture
8.4.2014
"I got this one in xs in the teacolor, and it actually fitted me.I'm short and have trouble finding dresses in the right length.
But the color is not anything like the one i the picture, I know sometimes it can be a bit different but this is a totally other color. The lace is almost pink and the whole dress is more yellow. Very disappointed in the color so I have to return it. Would probably like the white/grey more but I don't want to get the wrong color again. :(
"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:MD
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
pleased!
7.29.2014
"ok so i purchased this dress from Nordstrom, but i decided to leave the review on the free people site. Anyway.... I am 5'6.5-5'7 and 123 lbs. Since I am tallish and have long legs I was scared to buy this, but i wanted it for so long and i finally got it on sale. I got it in the spring green color. Its a super pretty color! However I received this dress today, and it is veryyyyy wrinkly. I mean not that big of a deal but i will have to iron it for a couple hours until I get all of the wrinkles out. Also, I thought the dress would be a lot shorter on me than it is. I mean its shorter in the front, but it covers my butt and I don't feel exposed at all. The sides are a little longer which makes it prettier and helps with the length. I also got a size small and it fits perfect. Its a little loose which I like and flows great! The material is thin, so you will have to wear a slip under it. Overall, I think the dress is worth it and I want to get more colors!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
love but VERY delicate
7.19.2014
"I knew so many people who have this dress and love it so I ordered it in tea and it was beautiful but when I opened the package I noticed the lace was ripped in 3 different places. I was so disappointed because I know so many people who have never had problems with this dress but the fabric was just so thin and delicate it ripped. I did return it and even though it didn't work out for me, I know a lot of other people who were very pleased with it!"
Response from Free People:By Free PeopleFree People7.23.2014
We're sorry to hear about this! We'll be in touch.
xoxo
FP Bridget
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Detroit, MI
age:14-20
body type:petite
Perfect Day Dress
7.19.2014
"I got this dress in rose and the color is so pretty it looks just like it does in the picture! I got it in XS and it fits my 5'1 100 pound frame just right. My only complaint is the material. It feels cheap for a $90 dress and it wrinkles easily. Also, invest in a pair of shorts or a slip to go under the dress because it's pretty sheer and the zig zag lines at the bottom are see through. I wear my rushed seamless shorts under it and it works perfectly. Overall, this dress is so comfortable and cute and I think it's worth the expensive price!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 15 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Summer Go To Dress
7.8.2014
"This is one of my favorite items in my wardrobe. It is so comfortable to throw on over a pair of shorts. It's very cool and airy on a hot SoCal day but looks put together and fashionable. A definite step up from a plain tank and shorts but every bit as comfortable if not more. The quality is great too. Mine has been through the wash (delicate) many many times and looks as good as new."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Sugar Land, TX
age:14-20
body type:athletic
I'm addicted...
7.2.2014
"I have a total of 8 of these now: two Dusty Lilacs, Mint, Blush, Spring Green, Lemon, Tangerine, and Concrete. Some are mediums and some are larges because these shrink so much in the wash. For reference, I'm 36B, 145 lbs, size 28 in denim, usually a medium in FP, and 5'8". An unwashed large tends to hang down too low because the straps are too long, while an unwashed medium fits me perfectly. But a washed large shrinks up enough to look okay with my height. But be careful when you wear/wash these. After a while, they get really delicate - especially the lace!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
age:31-35
body type:slender
Love These-can't get enough!
6.26.2014
"I love the look and feel of these dresses/tops so much that like the wonderful thermals, I have a collection. First off, I am 6ft 125 lbs 34C with a long torso. I bought these knowing they would be too short on me to wear as a dress. I have some in xs, s, and m. There is very little difference in sizing between the xsmall and small aside from the arm holes are wider as you size up. The length on me is that of a tunic falling just below my butt. The sizing on the medium is much more flowey all over, has wider arm holes and while the length is about an inch longer than the xs and s -it's still too short for me to feel comfortable wearing as a dress at my age. The material is thin and you will need to wear a slip or cami underneath. I wear mine with leggings, shorts, and jeans. It's such a versatile piece that can be layered in cooler weather or worn on it's own in the warmer temps. I have the spring green, tangerine, sequoa, eggplant, storm, hazy teal, tea and white. I love them all! Also-I am currently 8 months pregnant and these still look wonderful-even with my huge baby bump! If you are looking for a flowy romantic and versatile peice-this is it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:21-25
body type:slender
Too Short
6.20.2014
"I was really excited for this dress, but it was too short. I got an extra small since people runs large.
I'm 5-6 and 118 pounds, but this dress barely covered my butt and my underwear in the front was inch from showing. I love the design, but this was way too short."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Absolutely Perfect
6.14.2014
"This is definitely my go to piece. I have it in 4 different colors. This Slip can be paired with anything and everything. This slip will be wearable through all the seasons. Right now I'm loving it as the perfect sundress for summer. It is flattering on any body type and I love how comfortable it is to wear. This is another fabulous FP Slip and should be hanging in every girl's closet."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:CA
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Floaty and Full
6.9.2014
"I have 36 DD-F bust and got the Medium. It fits nicely, hangs well though may be a bit short for people taller than me (5"5'). As an hourglass-shaped person, it is a little bit full in the hips still, so when I put a sweater over it it can make me look quite wide and frumpy. Not really what I was hoping for. But it will be sweet for summer.
>
As for packing and mailing... when it arrived it was *so* wrinkled it took me the better part of half an hour to iron it out to a wearable state.
"
Response from Free People:By Free People6.10.2014
Hi Kangourou,

We're sorry to hear about how your item was received. Someone from our team will be in touch to help make things right!

-Free People
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>