Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip

Sheer dotted slip dress with lace inset throughout. Ruffled hem.
overall average rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(481 Reviews) 481
Customer Questions & Answers:
88 Questions | 261 Answers
Customer Reviews for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Review 1 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Lafayette, CO
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
AMAZING!
1.30.2015
" I absolutely love this dress. I have it in 4 colors and I wear them about every other day. They are so comfortable yet look so pretty on all body shapes. I am tall so this doesn't work on me as a dress alone, but with leggings its perfect. I would highly recommend this item! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Santa Monica
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Perfect Casual Dress
1.28.2015
" I had a really hard time deciding on sizing when I ordered these on line, so hopefully this review helps for reference. I'm 5'1", 135 pounds and muscular/athletic with a small bust. It's a very cute piece and quite versatile, but you need to have the right size.
I have 3 of these--two in XS and one in S. I wish I had bought all three in S simply because of the length difference, but I do wear all three regardless. I'm very short, so I can get away with either, but the XS is cute with thigh highs due to the shorter length and can be worn over jeans or leggings as a tunic. The S is more of an overall casual dress for me, and I pair it with the low back romper.
if you're not sure about sizing, determine how you want to wear the slip--as a slip? A tunic? A bikini coverup? If so, you can go with your size or maybe even a size down if you're short like me. If you want to wear it as a dress, you will want to go with your true size if your shorter, and possibly size up if taller.
Either way, the length issue of this slip is pretty much ameliorated by the romper underneath, so I highly recommend getting at least one of them! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:NV
age:21-25
body type:petite
Perfect!
1.23.2015
" These slips could fit into any wardrobe, seriously a great piece!! I received the tea color and it is different from the picture, more brown/cream, still a good staple! Fits exactly as it should. I am 5'3 106, size 24 in jeans, it is flowy and cute, sits in all of the right spots. Love! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:New Hampshire
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Love it
1.21.2015
" It is very short in the front, but overall it's a very flattering dress. I got the black one--very sheer but looks fine with a slip under it. If you're really worried about length I would go up one size. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Lyon
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Roomy Slip
1.2.2015
" I wasn't aware that the Tea colour had faint polka dots. Now that I look at the detailed picture again, they do show up online. It's super cute and very versatile. I'll be wearing this slip all year round. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Love!!
1.1.2015
" I have this dress in 4 colors. I'm obsessed! It's very flattering and runs true to size, its baggy but its supposed to be. Its a must!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:midwest
age:31-35
body type:petite
beautiful but damaged on arrival
12.23.2014
" This was the first piece of clothing I've ordered from Free People and I was so excited to get it in time to wear for Christmas. It arrived right on time but the lace was unfortunately ripped in several places. Definitely a bummer, because I love this dress. I returned it and re-ordered a new one so I'm hoping the new one is not damaged. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:petite
Wardrobe Must
12.21.2014
" This was my first FP purchase, and it hooked me! A FP girl wardrobe staple. It's extremely versatile and flattering. I always get compliments when I wear it. Great to throw over bathing suit at the beach or pair with sweaters in the winter. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Beautiful
12.14.2014
" and fits like a dream. I'll definitely be ordering another in a different color. the fabric is so gorgeous, too. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:calgary
age:21-25
body type:curvy
my go to peice!
12.10.2014
" Have been in love with thé voile trapèze for couple years now! I want one in every colour but I only have two so far! They are so gorgeous and flattering on your body... They make anything you are wearing THAT much cuter.... Layer under a price or wear it on its own with a cute cardi and high socks! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:over 45
body type:petite
Very feminine
11.29.2014
" I got this in black. It is very feminine and flowy.
Great with washed out skinny jeans. Love it.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
beautiful but I will not repurchase ever again:(
11.29.2014
" Okay so.... I have honestly probably spent over 600 dollars on these slips. I have them in almost every color/different pattern. When a new color comes out, I order it. You can wear it in in all 4 seasons. In the summer i wear it as is and in the winter I layer it under a sweater with tights. It's light weight and so delicate/flowy. There is no stretch in it but is perfect for girls who have bigger hips. It hides them completely and runs large!
However, my white slip (my favorite one out of all of them) and my black one is fraying at the seam and where the lace is attached. I tried emailing customer service and the girl was extremely unhelpful and I told her I wanted a new slip in return since 1 is 88 dollars. If these were not so figure flattering on me I would never have spent that multiple times.... but now i'm definitely not. I will take it to my local seamstress to see if she can fix it. More money dumped into an already expensive slip. Beautiful but poorly made. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:greece
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Gorgeous!!
11.19.2014
" So beautiful and can we worn in several occasions!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Texas
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Me likey too much!
11.18.2014
" I own this in 3 colors and want more. Flattering on a curvy figure, and somehow seems to minimize bust. Medium fits great on me -- 34D. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Colonie, NY
age:21-25
body type:slender
Love it!
11.10.2014
" I had been wanting to buy this for months, but just wasn't sure how it would fit. When I found them at a Macy's by me I was so excited to finally get to try it on. I loved it! Unfortunately I didn't have the money to buy it right then. So, a few weeks later I ordered it online. I just got it today and I'm still in love!! Can't wait to style it so many different ways.
My only complaint is that it came suuuper wrinkled. So, my mission today is to get all the wrinkles out!
Also, my phone won't let me adjust the fit bar. Urghh, I'd say it runs a little large, but that's why I like it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Louisiana
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Love!
11.10.2014
" This slip is really beautiful and super versatile. Lightweight but pretty nicely constructed. Definitely a keeper! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:NH
age:21-25
body type:slender
Perfect for layering!
11.4.2014
" I absolutely love this dress! I got it in white, and have been pairing it with everything. The lace is so pretty and delicate, and the cut of the dress gives you a lovely sillhouette. Unfortunately it barely covers my 5'10" frame so I'll only be able to wear it as a dress during the winter with some leggings. Free people please make your dresses a few inches longer!!! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:26-30
body type:petite
Finally!
10.31.2014
" I had been trying this slip on forever but never really saw a color that I couldn't say no to, being one who wears a lot of black & grey. But finally...teal! The teal is so lovely and goes with all the black and grey FP stuff I have :P I ended up with the misty pink color as well. I love how it can just be a little pop of accent color under a drapey tee or layered with leggings and a vest...it's so versatile. I am 5'2" 115 lbs and like the fit of the size small. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 19 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Petaluma, CA
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Beautiful but runs small
10.27.2014
" Again I thought a slip from FP would be on the larger size but these are not larger chest friendly. If worn with a jacket/sweater/shirt on top it makes for a cute skirt accent with leggings or pants underneath. I'm 5'7" and it's too short to be a dress but makes for a cute longer tunic shirt. Be wary of the top portion being too small for larger chest sizing. All of the colors are very very true to the colors online, the black, pink, turquoise, yellow I've tried on all look exactly like the pictures., i just wish I could fit into these as they're so soft and cute. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:California, USA
age:31-35
body type:petite
xs in white & sequoia
10.23.2014
" I had looked at and tried this slip on for a few years. Never liked the way it looked on me. I'm petite and the xs always looked way too wide.
But one day I decided to give it another try. I don't know what it was this time but I ended up loving it. I bought it in white and sequoia. So much prettier in person. It's very versatile. It is a bit wide for my 5ft 105lb frame but the white on white lace makes it appear less wide than the one with contrasting colors. It's long enough to wear as a dress (with shorts under). My only complaint is like many fp items, this doesn't seem to be made to last. For the money ($88 plus tax) I shouldn't find a hole forming a few months into a purchase...but this has begun to happen on the lace portion of the white slip. Understandably anything with lace requires caution and care...which I have taken. And understandably even when taken you can still end up with holes possibly a year into a piece but it's disappointing to find this hasn't lasted 2 months without holes. Still a 4 star with the caveat to enjoy with extreme care.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>