Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip

Sheer dotted slip dress with lace inset throughout. Ruffled hem.
overall average rating:
4.456 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(487 Reviews) 487
Customer Questions & Answers:
88 Questions | 261 Answers
Customer Reviews for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Review 1 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Vermont
age:over 45
body type:athletic
You MUST hand wash!
3.2.2015
" I really like this dress. However, I washed it on the delicate cycle and then hung it to dry. It shrunk tremendously. Hand wash it! "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:denver co
age:31-35
body type:curvy
awesome
2.20.2015
" i love this dress. i got the concrete color, it is a pretty grey with a sort of blue undertone and purplish polka dots. very neutral color. i am 5'3" 117lbs and i got this in an xs and it fits me nicely as a long top, definitely too short to wear it as a dress and is also a little sheer. such a great layering piece that goes with pretty much anything. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Canada
age:14-20
body type:slender
Colour not as pictured
2.19.2015
" The fit of this dress is very flowy and flattering, although it is a bit shorter than expected, just barely covering my butt (my height is ~163cm). I absolutely love it except for the colour. I bought it in "tea," which looked like a light greyish white in the picture but is actually a pale yellow. Unfortunately, yellow is about my least favourite colour on the planet, so I'll probably be returning this and exchanging for another colour... or two. Aside from that, this is a gorgeous, versatile dress. Would definitely recommend! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
The Perfect Slip
2.18.2015
" I've had the white / grey combo slip for about a year now and I can't tell you how much I love it. I wear with shorts and a beach coverup during the warmer months, under shorter shapeless dresses in the fall, and under chunky sweaters in the winter. I can't explain how much I love it. I may have to buy one more to have as back up. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:slender
So Pretty
2.8.2015
" I love, love, love this dress. Its really flattering, but it's very large so I would order the size down. Also I would recommend ordering a slip to go under the dress because its very see through. But overall this is a great dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:tennessee
age:41-45
body type:athletic
love but,,
1.31.2015
" i LOVE this top but,,, the first time i wore it, the material pulled apart at the seam. i was at dinner and the night started with everybody telling me how much they love my top. by the end of the night, everybody was asking if i knew there was a hole in it. and all i was doing was sitting at dinner!!! i messaged customer service and they said they can only exchange if i had not washed or worn it. well, for $88 i wanted to wear it more than once before it came apart. very disappointing. "
Response from Free People:By Free People2.2.2015
Hi leighliv,

We are sorry to hear about your slip. Someone from our team will be in touch to try and make things right.

- Free People
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Lafayette, CO
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
AMAZING!
1.30.2015
" I absolutely love this dress. I have it in 4 colors and I wear them about every other day. They are so comfortable yet look so pretty on all body shapes. I am tall so this doesn't work on me as a dress alone, but with leggings its perfect. I would highly recommend this item! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Santa Monica
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Perfect Casual Dress
1.28.2015
" I had a really hard time deciding on sizing when I ordered these on line, so hopefully this review helps for reference. I'm 5'1", 135 pounds and muscular/athletic with a small bust. It's a very cute piece and quite versatile, but you need to have the right size.
I have 3 of these--two in XS and one in S. I wish I had bought all three in S simply because of the length difference, but I do wear all three regardless. I'm very short, so I can get away with either, but the XS is cute with thigh highs due to the shorter length and can be worn over jeans or leggings as a tunic. The S is more of an overall casual dress for me, and I pair it with the low back romper.
if you're not sure about sizing, determine how you want to wear the slip--as a slip? A tunic? A bikini coverup? If so, you can go with your size or maybe even a size down if you're short like me. If you want to wear it as a dress, you will want to go with your true size if your shorter, and possibly size up if taller.
Either way, the length issue of this slip is pretty much ameliorated by the romper underneath, so I highly recommend getting at least one of them! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:NV
age:21-25
body type:petite
Perfect!
1.23.2015
" These slips could fit into any wardrobe, seriously a great piece!! I received the tea color and it is different from the picture, more brown/cream, still a good staple! Fits exactly as it should. I am 5'3 106, size 24 in jeans, it is flowy and cute, sits in all of the right spots. Love! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:New Hampshire
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Love it
1.21.2015
" It is very short in the front, but overall it's a very flattering dress. I got the black one--very sheer but looks fine with a slip under it. If you're really worried about length I would go up one size. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Lyon
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Roomy Slip
1.2.2015
" I wasn't aware that the Tea colour had faint polka dots. Now that I look at the detailed picture again, they do show up online. It's super cute and very versatile. I'll be wearing this slip all year round. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Love!!
1.1.2015
" I have this dress in 4 colors. I'm obsessed! It's very flattering and runs true to size, its baggy but its supposed to be. Its a must!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:midwest
age:31-35
body type:petite
beautiful but damaged on arrival
12.23.2014
" This was the first piece of clothing I've ordered from Free People and I was so excited to get it in time to wear for Christmas. It arrived right on time but the lace was unfortunately ripped in several places. Definitely a bummer, because I love this dress. I returned it and re-ordered a new one so I'm hoping the new one is not damaged. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:petite
Wardrobe Must
12.21.2014
" This was my first FP purchase, and it hooked me! A FP girl wardrobe staple. It's extremely versatile and flattering. I always get compliments when I wear it. Great to throw over bathing suit at the beach or pair with sweaters in the winter. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Beautiful
12.14.2014
" and fits like a dream. I'll definitely be ordering another in a different color. the fabric is so gorgeous, too. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:calgary
age:21-25
body type:curvy
my go to peice!
12.10.2014
" Have been in love with thé voile trapèze for couple years now! I want one in every colour but I only have two so far! They are so gorgeous and flattering on your body... They make anything you are wearing THAT much cuter.... Layer under a price or wear it on its own with a cute cardi and high socks! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:over 45
body type:petite
Very feminine
11.29.2014
" I got this in black. It is very feminine and flowy.
Great with washed out skinny jeans. Love it.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
beautiful but I will not repurchase ever again:(
11.29.2014
" Okay so.... I have honestly probably spent over 600 dollars on these slips. I have them in almost every color/different pattern. When a new color comes out, I order it. You can wear it in in all 4 seasons. In the summer i wear it as is and in the winter I layer it under a sweater with tights. It's light weight and so delicate/flowy. There is no stretch in it but is perfect for girls who have bigger hips. It hides them completely and runs large!
However, my white slip (my favorite one out of all of them) and my black one is fraying at the seam and where the lace is attached. I tried emailing customer service and the girl was extremely unhelpful and I told her I wanted a new slip in return since 1 is 88 dollars. If these were not so figure flattering on me I would never have spent that multiple times.... but now i'm definitely not. I will take it to my local seamstress to see if she can fix it. More money dumped into an already expensive slip. Beautiful but poorly made. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:greece
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Gorgeous!!
11.19.2014
" So beautiful and can we worn in several occasions!! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Voile and Lace Trapeze Slip
Name:
Location:Texas
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Me likey too much!
11.18.2014
" I own this in 3 colors and want more. Flattering on a curvy figure, and somehow seems to minimize bust. Medium fits great on me -- 34D. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>