Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Landmark Lace Up Boot

Hand distressed leather lace-up tall boot with leather strap that goes around the middle of the boot shaft. Zips up each inner side. Boot laces up to hit the top of you knee, and the ankle strap is tight around the smallest part of your ankle. Ankle strap is adjustable with peg closure. Artisan leather used is super soft and luxurious feeling, with high and low distressing throughout. The texture of the leather is perfectly rumpled, washed and beaten up. The toe and heel are hand sanded down to give an aged, worn in look. The leather outsole is given a hammered treatment, which adds to the vintage look and feel. Nail heads line the bottom of the outsole. **Fits true to size. If you are in between sizes, then it is recommended that you size up. For example, 37 1/2 = 38. *By Free People *Leather *Import *18 3/4" shaft height, 1" heel height
overall average rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Customer Reviews for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Review 1 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:41-45
body type:petite
Really like
11.11.2014
"I bought these boots in a size 36 I am a 6.5 but the 36 was the only size left so I took a chance, I was so happy that they fit me perfectly.Nice leather really cute."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
BEYOND PERFECT
5.13.2014
"Was planning on being very productive today but I'm literally incapacitated with joy here. These boots just arrived and I'm on a serious high. Much more special and gorgeous than pictured. Granted, not distressed and soft as in pics, but time takes care of everything. The brown/ black is rich and resonates deeply with dark chocolate brown undertones. I'm a 7.5 but only a 10 was available and it still fits great w/ thick socks or not. Just a Tad extra room in the toe box, but I like that to layer socks on during winter. They're easy to get on too. In pics these look rugged n' worn but they're actually more elegant and definitely more structured in person, even w/ my 2 sizes bigger boots, these don't bag at the ankles. Half elegant equestrian/ half cool girl. You need these."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:petite
Perfect.
3.5.2014
"I just want to start off by saying I NEVER write reviews, but I felt as though I have to let the world know how amazing these boots are. I bought the "olive" color and despite being worried they were going to be bright green or something based on the other reviews, I ended up being surprised that I LOVE the color. I would call them a lighter brown with the tiniest tint of green (whatever color it is it's beautiful). I also ALWAYS have problems finding boots that feet me because I'm very short (5'1'') and have veryyy skinny calf, and often boots make me look shorter and stumpier. These do no such thing. They are the perfect height and the perfect width. Lastly, in response to people's qualm about the boots feeling cheap and coming folded up in a box- this in NO way affects the integrity of the boots. In fact it's better for the environment because their saving on making unnecessary large boxes for these boots. I have done horseback riding my whole life so I know what real leather boots are supposed to feel like when you buy them. They will come very stiff and you have to wear them a few times to break them in (often this will result in a blister or two) however they DO break in very quickly and you'll be so happy you decided to stick with them! I'm seriously buying my second pair right now....thank goodness they accept billmelater :)"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:36-40
body type:petite
Details & Uniqueness galore!!!!
12.29.2013
"When I look for boots I look for comfort & detail. These had both! I ordered the black. Which are black & brown. Super cute. I wear a size 6.5 inch shoe & I ordered the size 37. Fit is perfect. Even a little room to add thicker socks is needed. I am 5'3 & they come up to my knees. I wore them for the first time all day & no complaints! They are a bit stiff so getting them on is a chore. But, they will loosen up because they are leather. I received so many compliments wearing them. I had plenty of room wearing them over my skinny jeans. The beauty of the laces is you can tighten or un tighten as much as you need too. LOVE these!!!! I also ordered the "Kantell Lace Up Boot" & sent those back. I didnt care for the brass accents. Buy these NOW while they are still in stock!!! Cant wait to wear them with skirts & dresses too ;)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Awesome Boots
11.21.2013
"These boots are really, really, really awesome! I originally bought the Joe Lace Up Boot as well as these to see which ones I liked more and these are the winner. The flat heel is great for everyday wear and adds a bit of a rugged look to any outfit, especially dresses! I have a wider foot and these fit tts. I do agree with other reviewers that it takes serious time to put these on. Serious. Time. Not a problem for me, though; I love them just the same. Quality and comfort is good enough for everyday/heavy use. I wear the heels off of most of my boots and the soles have to be replaced almost every year. I've had these about a month and the wear on them is minimal. This to me is a sign of good quality. :-)"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Cozy Sweater Tall Sock
4.5 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 6 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, Ca
age:14-20
body type:curvy
LOVE THESE BOOTS
11.5.2013
"I could not be happier with these boots! I am usually a size 9.5, so I ordered the 40 and it fits perfectly. The color is amazing, can go with both black and brown. The heel was a little stiff at first, but I can already tell that it's softening up. These boots are amazing for someone who doesn't think they look good in over-the-knee boots. I personally did not think the over-the knee-aspect looked good on someone like me, who doesn't have super skinny calves. These boots are the perfect alternative, and they look great with cute dresses, leggings, or skinny jeans tucked in."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:31-35
body type:petite
My favorite boots ever!
10.29.2013
"I have very difficult feet to fit, small and narrow. I've never, never, said "I want boots" ordered them off the Internet had had the first try fit. With a nice squishy wool sock these fit perfectly. Like destiny! (I ordered a 7, usually wear a 6.5 N, not that anyone makes narrow shoes) and I'm super picky on fit. I went through 30 pairs to find shoes for my wedding.
That said, I'm 5'2 with long legs and these bite into my knee when I bend it. It's better if I don't use the hooks on top. I think the quality of the leather is such that once they break in they'll be wonderful. But, shorter girls, be aware.
I also had trouble with the zipper not working all the way down, but I'm not sure I need it to, or if it's even supposed to. These do take time to get on. They aren't just zip up and go.
I think the distressed black brown finish is interesting and well done. It's hard for me to find black-ish shoes I like. And the eyelet construction and strap seem durable.
They are just flat leather inside...my high arch might like an insole. Especially since I'll be doing lots of walking in my new cold northern home in these. (Best moving present ever)
Exactly what I would expect from a boot in this price range. And I'll be shopping free people again! Now, I need warm fluffy boot socks!
My husband loves them and was dreading the quest for boots as never ending. Thanks free people for ending it first try."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:California
age:31-35
body type:athletic
LOVE, but...
10.14.2013
"Bought these in size 37 (usually a 6.5), & the foot fits great, they are narrow so beware if u have a wide foot. I love the distressed Black/Brown color & the beat-up equestrian look! My only con is that they are seriously tough to get on! Once they're on, you're good...& I think it will get progressively easier as they break-in (they're on the stiffer side). But you must waken your inner patience & don't wait til the last minute to put your shoes on!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:21-25
body type:athletic
AMAZING !!!!!!
6.19.2013
"THESE arrived last night. so soft and RICH looking! I had read the other reviews about them running very small. they LOOK narrow, but they fit me just fine. I am a 7.5/8 and normally fit size 38. Glad I stuck to my guns and ordered the normal size. 39s would have been way to long. If you have VERY SKINNY CALVES you can still rock these. my calves are TINY. I just criss cross the laces aroud the back and pull tight. They look amazing. So amazing I might save my pennies for the olive pair too."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:athletic
AMZING AMAZING boots
4.5.2013
"I have been searching for a pair of boots now for a good 6 months. I came across these and was very susceptible after reading all of the reviews. Well, after trying these on in the store, I couldn't be happier. The most difficult decision was choosing the color.... Both colors are beautiful. I also purchased a pair of spats off of Etsy which will accessorize the boots.!! The only thing is the color of the boots is different from the pic on the website. The color of the boot is very true to Olive and not so much of a brown color."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:myrtle beach, sc
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Was hoping these were the boots for me.
1.19.2013
"I was just disappointed with the quality of the leather. It was stiff and inexpensive looking. I unfortunately returned them."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Denver, Colorado
age:21-25
body type:slender
i love them
12.27.2012
"I had been wanting tall, leather lace up boots for quite some time. I originally was obsessed with the studded joe lace up boot but when these came out had a change of heart. i felt i could wear them for more often because of the shorter heel...and i was SO right. the heel makes them so wearable! in fact, i have been wearing them for a week straight pretty much! I decided to go in to the store to see if they had them to try on my size. i originally wanted the lighter ones but when i went into the store they were so different looking than the picture online! in the store they were not really brown at all and more of a light grayish, tan. so i chose the dark ones instead which honestly look more like the lighter ones online! they are pretty good quality. i still cant completely figure out what the sole is made of....i think leather which is hammered into the shoe. the zipper seems to work wonderfully ( i saw another reviewer said that it didnt work so well) and the laces are nice and sturdy. also, they smell sooooo good! I am 5'8'' and these come up right to my knee. when i sit they bend behind my knee because they are a little too long. the leather is thin, but very good. you can pull and tug and they only get stronger. and the more i have been wearing them the more weathered and soft they have become! excited for years to come with these bad boys. they didnt blister me at all and they fit true to size. i am a size 7 1/2-8 and got the size 39- fit perfect with or without thick socks. GET THESE BOOTS. the will add instant edge to any outfit!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
This boot looks nothing like the one pictured!
12.25.2012
"Let me start by saying that I have never written a poor review on any boots I have bought. I usually write them so that people know how to size them, I know how hard it is to buy the right size off the internet. I have several pair of other high priced good quality(don't want to name the company) boots and they sometimes size differently depending on the style. That being said, the only positive thing about these boots is that they are true to size, at least for me. I wear a 9.5 and went with the size 40 and they fit good.
Now, the look: When I saw these on the internet they were the most beautiful boots I have ever seen! I mean, I loved the look of them more than any of the other boots I have ever bought. Especially the distressed look and discoloration. Anyway, they were very pricy but I figured that if they are as cute as they are in the photo, I didn't care about price.
Needless to say, when they arrived, folded up 3 times in a small box, I found myself extremely disappointed. I had to take another look at the box before I even took them out because I could have sworn they weren't the boots I ordered. I unfolded them from the box, and they are very thin, yet felt 'crispy'. I wish I could describe the feeling of these boots, They feel so cheap to me. And that isn't even the part that disappoints me the most. They don't look distressed in the least. The color is very drab and just plain, ugly. I could have dealt with the feeling of the leather if they looked anything like the cool, sexy boots pictured on the internet. There is absolutely NO discoloration or distress on these boots at all.
Now I hate to be so hard on these boots, but if you are going to charge several hundred dollars for a pair of boots, they had better look EXACTLY like they do on the internet. Another thing I noticed now about the pics on the internet is that the 2nd and 3rd picture show the strap up higher on the boot. By the way, that strap is NOT movable, so why is it moved in the photo? I really don't appreciate getting something completely different than what I was made to believe I was ordering. These will be going back, I should have stuck with that other boot company.
I posted a picture of the boots so yo you can see the color they are. I ordered the olive color. You can see that these look completely different than the photos on the website. I wish you could feel them, just so disappointing!"
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:slender
Okay boots, but not worth the price at all
12.19.2012
"First off, i'm not a happy customer because this is the second pair of defective with zipper boots i've received but to stick to the topic-- We purchased these boots in the "olive" color. They look nothing like the picture and are very olive and not near as distressed as what is shown. Very disappointed, plus the leather/heal and strap are so thin--and the soles look like they were hacked with a knife to make some kind of distressed look which doesn't work--it looks cheezy and cheap.
Sizing in the foot and ankle is true--i'm 5'4 110lbs size 6 and have very slim calves--these bag at top and unless you tie the laces around the top as shown in the first picture they bag even with skinny jeans.
The leather looks like it was scratched up with an sos pad and nothing like the pics. Also, the ones i got--the band is around the ankle not the mid boot and is very thin so if you wear these a few times i would be worried that the straps would pop off while walking because you have to do this each time and the strap does not come off.
I think Freepeople has to rethink pricing and quality assurance for the boots they carry. The reason i gave even a two star is because shipping was good but i actually just showed two friends the boots because i was waffling on returning because WE have to pay the return ship/customs and i'm in Canada--they said return...i'm posting this but will see if i can post pictures so you know what i'm talking about. Cheers"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Aptos, CA
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
At Long Last!
12.11.2012
"After months of searching, deliberating, and a few returns, these beauties arrived yesterday. The lace-up style gives my muscular runner's calves a slim, trim shape. I ordered a size 40 (my feet are on the small side of a size 10) and the boots are slightly loose, but nothing that a pair of socks wouldn't fix. The leather smells great and will definitely soften satisfyingly over time. The laces seem strong and there is no wrinkling at the ankle, amazingly. They are very, very tall, hitting just a tad below my kneecap. The only differences from the online photos that I have noticed are that my boots are less worn looking, and a slightly lighter shade of black-brown. Not a big deal, though, and I look forward to breaking these boots in!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Austin
age:over 45
body type:petite
Frustrated consumer
12.5.2012
"This is my second attempt at buyong boots from Free People. I love the look of these, and they do look like the photo. However, the heel is basically stacked rubber. For the price, I expect more. Still, I would have considered keeping them because the look is amazing. However, when I tried to zip them up, the zipper stuck on the first attempt. No matter what I do, that zipper is not coming up. My last boot purcahse was also defective, and I was out the extra cost of the two day shipping as well as the return shipping. (I had asked to be reimbursed.) So now, I suppose I will be out more money for another defective product. For those of you curious on size, I am typically a 6.5. I ordered down based on my last boot purchase. The 6 was actually a little large. I would need very thick socks to make these work. I gave the boots a 4 just because they are very cool looking. Sadly, these must go back, and I will continue to search for that really special boot."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Landmark Lace Up Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Amazing Boots! SIZE UP!
12.2.2012
"These boots are just AWESOME. I tried both colors on in a store. The sales associate said the shoes run a bit small, so I tried the 41 since these is no 40.5. I always wear a size 10 or Euro 40, but in these the 41 fit much better. They look and feel amazing. The height of these is very similar to the Joe boots and lands at the knee. The colors are as pictured. It will take you a few minutes to strap yourself into these babies, but the time is worth the effort! The only reason I did not purchase these is because I have thick thighs and skinny calves, so it accentuated my thick upper leg. If I had thinner thighs these would have been mine for sure!"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large