Product Reviews

English Garden Mini Dress

Multi floral patterned mini tank dress with texturized top, smocked middle, and lightly pleated bottom. Low back style. Bottom hem is raw edge and lightly frayed. An interesting mix of texture, color, and pattern, making it the perfect little fairytale-like dress to welcome in the spring. *100% Rayon *Hand Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 30" Bust (all around): 30 1/2" Waist (all around - relaxed): 27" Total Strap Length: 7 1/2"
overall average rating:
3.862 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for English Garden Mini Dress
Review 1 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:VA
age:14-20
body type:slender
pretty flowers
11.14.2012
"had my eye on this dress all summer. i died when it went on sale. I got it in ivory, the black is just as beautiful. mine is a S, but yesss it is a tad big. not a problem for me though. Haven't worn it out yet. but needless to say, when spring rolls around again, i'll have my first go-to piece"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Gorgous dress!
11.14.2012
"I love the English Garden Mini Dress! I got the white and yellow one and it is absolutely gorgeous. It does run quiet large though. I got an L but will be exchanging for an M. The area around the waist is very bunchy and has extra fabric. It fits perfect around my bust but is too big in the back and mid section areas. The fabric isn't the softest and the dress is short, hence the mini. I def. recommend getting this dress. The price is perfect!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:14-20
body type:petite
Adorable
11.13.2012
"This was my first FP dress and I am very happy with it. I'm 5'0 and 90 lbs and I got an xs. The fit is great, except the straps were a little bit too long. This is the perfect dress for spring and summer!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Cute summer dress
11.7.2012
"This dress is very cute in person. It is a stretchy material and runs a little big. I ordered a medium (5'6". 140) and could definitely have used a small (perhaps even XS). Am ordering the black one in small and will be interested to see how it fits. Even though it is a little loose, it is still cute. Yes, it is short, but that's apparent from the pictures."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Honolulu
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Cute online
10.30.2012
"I got the dress in black and it actually runs really big and is not as flattering as i thought it would be. Honestly i think it looks better in the pictures."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:MA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Long But Beautiful
10.26.2012
"i bought the red version of this dress and was delighted to find that the colors and stiching are even more beautiful in person. the pictures here dont do it justice. Unfortunatly i found it a bit roomy and very long. Im 5'1 110lbs and fairly long waisted for my size but the xs was made for someone super long waisted. It still looks good on, im probably just going to take it in at the waist. over all an excellent purchase."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:NJ
age:21-25
body type:petite
girly & adorable! but a lil loose
10.17.2012
"I'm 5'3 98 lbs (very petite), I have this dress in XS in the blue, yellow, and white. it is adorable!!! the pattern is so cute and the texture of it looks so cool. only thing is it is a little roomy at my midriff but I am very thin. Also its kinda short so you just have to be careful when bending over and stuff. looks adorable with a denim jacket over it for fall! love it and receive many compliments."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:FL
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Runs very large
9.21.2012
"When I saw this dress I thought it would be somethign I would love. It looks amazing on the models and appeared form fitting and small around the waist. I am always looking for thins high waisted or that accentuate my waist- this however does not. It is very large. I ordered an XS but it it probably a medium. I tried belting it but it just didn't work. I'm not going to return it because I have a friend who can fix it for me but I be careful about this dress if you decide to buy it. The concept is amazing but the dress is huge and cheaply made."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:petite
not very flattering
9.11.2012
"I was disappointed to get this dress in the mail. It looks very cheap and poorly constructed. it's going back to FP."
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles, CA, USA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Great mini dress!
9.4.2012
"I'm usually not a fan of smocking, but I love it on this dress. I got the black size small, my usual FP size and it wasn't too tight or too loose. It looks amazing in person, and it will definitely transition nicely for fall. Unfortunately, the first time I wore it the strap broke. It's an easy fix, but I expected better construction for the price. Overall though I'm very pleased and would definitely recommend this dress, especially at the sale price!"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:VA
age:21-25
body type:slender
I Second Others
8.31.2012
"I agree with the other reviewers that this dress has a beautiful pattern and it runs a bit large. The colors are gorgeous and the contrasting florals are very interesting. The dress does run large though- just by one size. I took everyone's advice and ordered an XS instead of my usual small and it fits perfectly. I can certainly see how the smocking would stretch out throughout the day though. The skirt also does nothing for flat-butted ladies like myself. If that is a point of concern, I would avoid this dress. My back looks like a board from shoulders to thighs when I stand straight. Popping the hip helps but not much. I have come to terms with my small toosh, however, so I think I will keep this dress because it is so unique. But it might help mitigate the area for ladies with larger hips. Also-- the straps are unnecessarily long, so I tightened mine all the way which fixed the problem, but it may be an issue for some."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:New England
age:over 45
body type:petite
Adorable!
8.24.2012
"This easy sexy little summertime dress is so cute... it fits like a glove (5'1"...xs...95lbs)...the top is nicely fitted & the mini skirt swings so flirty when you walk...I think its so adorable, I ordered one in black too...the color scheme is beautiful & works perfectly with a denim shirt tied at the waist or a fab denim jacket...(PS...& you can wear it backwards too, with the V in the front...who knew?...) Free People rocks!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:31-35
body type:pear shaped
Cute but short!
8.15.2012
"I ordered an XS due to the "runs large" reviews. I wear a 34B and normally a size 6; it fits perfectly around. The material isn't soft but I wouldn't call it uncomfortable in any way. But... this dress is SHORT! I'm 5'6". It's the perfect length in front but maybe 4" shorter in the back. One inch shorter and you'd see my undies. Great if you have no curves and skinny legs but for me... I won't be leaving the house in it. I fear that exchanging for a small to help the length would be too large around. So I plan to keep it and use for loungewear..."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
floral on floral
8.12.2012
"this dress definitely does have a unique fit. the torso is all smocked, and i find it to fit to size. right at the end of the smocking, and where the pleating starts, there's elastic inside, which could cause a little bunching and make the hip look wider. the good thing is that the straps are adjustable so i was able to move the dress lower to avoid the problem. overall, the print is quite different, and i like the contrast in floral prints."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:36-40
body type:petite
Perfect for summer/fall!
8.10.2012
"I saw this dress online and HAD to buy it! It is now one of my fave outfits. I ordered a medium but it is slightly big especially after the 'crinkles' loosen up once you're wearing it. Looks adorable with a denim vest/jacket and boots"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:monterey bay
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Disappointed
6.28.2012
"I have had my eye on this dress since it came out and finally decided to order it despite the inconsistent reviews. i just love the print so much i couldn't help myself...but the other reviewers were right. the pictures are misleading. it is not form-fitting, but rather extremely loose at the waist which makes me look heavier than i really am. the color and print is at pictured (i ordered the white combo) but all except the bottom skirt part of the dress is made of an extremely uncomfortable fabric. I'm going to have to figure out how to wear a nice slip underneath and belt it at the waist. I want to make it work so bad because i love the print so much i am going to keep it, especially because i don't like dealing with returns, but i feel i would have been better off just ordering something else instead."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Sydney, Australia
age:21-25
body type:petite
really loose for an XS!!
5.20.2012
"Considering the fabric is stitched/gathered with elastic - you'd expect it to be form-fitting, but unfortunately the XS is really loose - more like a S-M. Pretty fabric, the only real disappointment is the size and fit."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:nj
age:21-25
body type:petite
love this!
5.19.2012
"it's a tiny bit loose, so size down, but it's really not too bad. the looseness works well with the look. the textures and colors are great!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Boston
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Love Upon Reflection
5.19.2012
"Usually, I hate smocking in dresses. I typically find that it cheapens quality. HOWEVER, the smocking really makes this dress as fantastic as it is. I tried on both a medium (which was my size before losing weight) and a small and ended up purchasing the small since the medium was bunching in my lower back area and the front was falling down. For the dress to fit properly, it has to lie flat on the body, which can be tricky to find. The smocking makes the dress fit in the top and makes the flare of the skirt that much more adorable and flattering. It is a pretty short dress, which I really like. Super fun and a great purchase, so happy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for English Garden Mini Dress
Name:
Location:Montreal
age:31-35
body type:petite
Not so beautiful...
5.16.2012
"The material is thick and rough! for size X.S. is larger. There is a "connection" line right in the middle front, where the the flowers are cut. I have had better than that for less."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>