Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Retro Tapestry Coat

Stunning retro-style knitted patterned coat. Contrasting collar and buttons. Two front pockets. Velvet collar, buttons, and trim around sleeves. Inside fully lined. *40% Polyester, 35% Acrylic, 20% Wool, 5% Other *Dry Clean Only *Import Measurements for Size 6: Length: 34" Bust: 37 " Waist: 32" Bottom Opening: 49" Sleeve Length: 26"
overall average rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Customer Reviews for Retro Tapestry Coat
Review 1 for Retro Tapestry Coat
Name:
Location:Washington D.C.
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
SO adorable
2.6.2012
"I don't know why I waited so long to buy this coat, it is amazing! As a medical student I constantly feel as though I have to sacrifice style for professionalism but this coat is a huge exception. Getting the correct fit was tricky. I am 5'8" and 130lbs, I usually always wear a 4 or small in free people but I got an 8 in this jacket. It has a very tailored look which is why you want to get a larger size (unless you aren't going to wear anything underneath). This will be in my wardrobe for MANY years to come. So happy with my purchase."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Retro Tapestry Coat
Name:
Location:Ft Laud
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
My favorite coat
2.6.2012
"This coat is absolutely splendid. I am oh so so very pleased with this purchase. I love the pattern, the texture, and the material is very durable. The black bands on the sleeves, the buttons, and the collar are all accents of velvet, which is very beautiful. This coat fits very well, however I did purchase one size larger for I calculated that I would be wearing clothing underneath, duh. This coat falls right below my knee, looks amazing with dresses, buttoned or unbuttoned, and I honestly receieve compliments on it whenever I wear it, from peers or older generations."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Retro Tapestry Coat
Name:
Location:VA
age:14-20
body type:slender
Tight.
1.6.2012
"The other reviewers certainly weren't lying.. this coat is tight, especially in the shoulder/chest/upper arms area. I like my coats to run on the snug side, so I ordered my normal FP size, ignoring the size up suggestion. I still wouldn't quite know what to tell you. It is wearable: the waise/hip area works really well for me, but the rest is just a bit uncomfortable. Other than sizing, the lining is nice, although it is not very warm. Since I was looking to buy a warm winter coat, I may have to return it purely for functionality purposes. I also must say that it is very flattering from the side, but not so much from the front, which I believe is evident in the pictures as well. Also, the pattern does not jump out as much as it appears to online. It's almost like the fibers create a blurred version of the pattern, rather than a strong, bold print."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Retro Tapestry Coat
Name:
Location:san francisco, CA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Cute, could have been better
11.27.2011
"Let's keep it short and sweet.
Style is SO cute, fell in love at first sight.
Length is great, I'm 5'2"ish and it is the perfect length.
The sleeves are the perfect length but that little wrist area with the black strap is really restricting and hard to push up my arm.
Looks cute with a dress.
CON; I bought the size 2 and I generally wear a 2 and it RIPPED in hte lining on the inside. I can't return it because I took off the tag but it's totally unacceptable. There is a giant gaping rip. I don't even remember ever putting pressure on the jacket at all, as I'm a very gentle person and care about my clothes. It doesn't both me but it could definitely bother someone who wants their money's worth. :/
I'd say this runs a tad small, so size up 1!
"
Response from Free People:By Free PeopleWeb11.28.2011
Hi There! We're so sorry to hear about the rip in the lining of your coat! If you purchased the item from our online store, you can always contact our service team and they will be able to help you out with an exchange!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Floral Lace Fit and Flare Dress
4.5 out of 5(92)
 
 
 
Dancing Pretty Velvet Dress
3.9 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 5 for Retro Tapestry Coat
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:slender
very pretty
11.22.2011
"Love it, glad I bought it. Tight across the chest...bought an 8 but probably needed a 10 but none left. Need to lose a little weight anyway. Beautiful, well made good at waist and length. o nly gave a 4 because of sizing."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Retro Tapestry Coat
Name:
Location:Boston
age:21-25
body type:slender
Classy winter coat.
11.14.2011
"I bought this a size up figuring I needed a little more room in the winter for clothes underneath. That was a good decision. This is a really classy winter coat. Very elegant and looks beautiful with tights. It is warm and very well made. I am happy I bought it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Retro Tapestry Coat
Name:
Location:CA
age:31-35
body type:petite
Perfect!
11.13.2011
"I've been searching vintage sites for years trying to find a tapestry coat. When I saw this, I ordered it immediately! I get compliments on it constantly, and love it so much! It is also perfect because it is warm, yet light, whereas the vintage coats are really heavy in weight. It is a bit snug in the bust, and I'm an A cup, but I just plan on moving the buttons over."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Retro Tapestry Coat
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Lovely but tight
11.13.2011
"The pattern is beautiful on and the cut is very feminine and flattering with a tight waist. I personally like the tight waist, but it does run very small. I'm 5'8 130 lb and usually wear a 4 in coats, I found an 8 to be most comfortable in this coat with room underneath for a sweater. The velvet lining is warm and the buttons are really attractive. Good job free people!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Retro Tapestry Coat
Name:
Location:Cardiff by the Sea CA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Very pretty but runs small
10.17.2011
"I agree with the previous reviewer. I also usually wear XS and ordered a 2. I could barely button it over my chest and I'm not especially well endowed. I've sent it back for a 4, hope to receive it before they are sold out! Overall it is well made and I expect to be able to wear with both dressy and casual outfits."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Retro Tapestry Coat
Name:
Location:Japan
age:21-25
body type:slender
Cute but size up!!
10.17.2011
"I just received this and I really like it but it runs a little small. I usually wear XS (5'3' 110lb) and I ordered size 2 but it's a little tight around my arm and chest area. It's hard to raise my hands. I would say, get a size up your usual, especially if you're going to be wearing a long sleeve underneath. Since I live in Japan and it seems like size 4 is out of order, I'll keep the one I have right now. It fits, but it's just not comfy. But definitely cute! :] The buttons are adorable. I like it!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Retro Tapestry Coat
Name:
Location:portsmouth nh
age:36-40
body type:petite
stunning
10.14.2011
"absolutely beautiful coat... over a short dress it is perfect b/c its fitted in the waist so as not to look boxy at all... very pretty and feminine :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large