Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Short River Boot

Super distressed and rugged leather western-style ankle boot with leather harness around ankle and underneath boot. Zipper up back heel. Leather sole. Low heel. *By FREEBIRD By Steven
overall average rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Reviews for Short River Boot
Review 1 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:Bondi, Australia
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Too large
9.9.2013
" I contacted customer service to request fitting guidance and the lady advised a US9 for my Australian 7.5-8 size foot. The description on the conversion guide was very vague. The shoe was way too spacious for me, even with a padded sports sock.
I noticed under the back strap that the blue dye is missing and the zip is tricky to undo.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:san jose
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Great Shoe
8.1.2013
" Gorgeous, true to size, fits like a glove. My only concern, and only time will tell if it creates an issue, is that I can feel the rectangular buckle pressing into the side of my ankle. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Awesome boots.
7.27.2013
" These are comfortable and stylish. I love the harness and western flavor. I especially like the blue color. The heel is just the right height, the foot bed is cushioned and there is nice support in the arch. The zipper sticks alittle, but a dab of oil will fix that. The dye is not under the strap around back , but no one will see that after they are on your feet..not sure why they didn't dye that , but it didn't matter to me. I will wear these alot! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:New York, NY
age:26-30
body type:petite
Fit Like a Glove
5.22.2013
" These boots are gorgeous. They aren't as distressed or rugged, or as brilliantly colored as the photos, and they are not the same color beneath the straps, which is a shame, but that aside, I have no complaints. The color is lovely and looks like someone used water colors (a la Monet's Water Lilies) to paint the boots. They are the most comfortable boots I've ever worn. Usually I am barefoot at home, but when I put these on it's difficult to take them off because they are like slippers... soft, cozy and well-cushioned. My new love! "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:21-25
body type:petite
awesome boots
4.29.2013
" I was on the fence for a little because the ones I got are a little more purplish blue at the top, but after looking at various pictures of them I realized just about all of them are that way. It's true, the fabric underneath the strap doesn't match the color pattern, but I don't need to unzip them all the way anyways so that isn't an issue for me. Love them with cropped pants like the twill herringbone pants in white/grey! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 6 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:Wyoming
age:41-45
body type:slender
Best short boot I own
4.21.2013
" Love these! They look great with skinny jeans or boot but. The zipper in the back allows for ease of getting in and out of the boot. The "orange" is not really orange but more taupe which I preferred after all. They run true to size and are not too wide. No rubbing or binding anywhere. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:Roxbury, NY
age:41-45
body type:athletic
love them!
4.11.2013
" When I first saw these amazing looking boots on your site, I fell head over heels for them. At the moment, they were out of my price range so I was saving up to get them...next thing I won the FP ME connect and win contest so I knew right away they would be on my list. These boots are everything I thought they would be and more...the quality of the leather, coloring, fit is perfection! The only odd thing is the strap on the back...if it moves it reveals where the shoe was painted, but it's not a major issue for me. I wore them three days in a row and normally with new shoes it takes a while to break them in but I had no problems at all - and I received numerous compliments when I wear them. I am so glad I got them as they are now sold out in my size!!! Great job FP <3 "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
age:41-45
body type:petite
Cute but quality is lacking
4.10.2013
" I love boots. I have many many boots. I will say that the picture does not provide the level of detail required to make an informed decision.
When I purchased, I didn't balk at the price; however, these boots are not worth it. The quality of the leather is lacking, the strap in the back (spray painted and slides down to reveal a tan line), and the zipper is cheap. While I love distressed styles, (and will pay for them) these look as if they are new and that the designer tried too hard.
For the price, go with something else. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:New York City
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Glad I got the last pair in my size
4.5.2013
" I think the UPS guy thinks I have feelings for him because I'm so happy to see him all the time. (He brings me Free People packages. :-) ) For example, Today I was outside waiting for him because I knew he had these boots. OMG! They are awesome! I bought them in the blue and green. The texture and detailing on these babies are incredible. I have been looking for a cowboy boot like this for 2 years that are comfortable and in an ankle style but modernized. Size wise they fit perfect. If you wear Steve Madden shoes regularly then you might have noticed how his shoes usually run a half size to small. That is not the case with these boots. I'm a size 9 and that fits like a glove. As a matter of fact they are incredibly comfortable and there is no rubbing or anything. I'm wearing them now so I can scuff up the bottoms since they are slippery. I've already tossed out the box and the receipt. :-) "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:MI
age:over 45
body type:petite
OMG
3.13.2013
" I love these boots. I bought them in the green/blue. Sometimes I worry about my mental health, I love my boots and shoes from FP so much!!!!!! This pair beats them all. I have worn them 3 days in a row, very comfy. I just keep looking down at them with love in my eyes : Do you think I need some "time on the couch"? Hey life is short, buy shoes, boots skirts, tops, dresses, jewelry til you drop. "
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:Aspen
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Boot obsession
3.11.2013
" These are beautiful boots.. The fit like a glove and the color is more amazing in person!! Steven killed it with these .. A must have boot for any fp girl!! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb3.13.2013
They look great!!! So happy you like them! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 12 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City utah
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Amazing!
3.8.2013
" This boot looks just like that in real life. Beautiful colors! Perfect spring boot. Looks cute with shorts, dresses, maxi skirts and cuffed jeans. Also, the Steve Madden store in salt lake sells it for $275 which is killer... "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:Upstate NY
age:26-30
body type:slender
Gorgeous boots
3.8.2013
" Where else are you going to find a dip-dye cowboy ankle boot? I got these in the blue/green and they are just as beautiful in person. Great quality and so unique. They are a standout for sure. I also love that they are made in Mexico for that authentic Western feel. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:New York
age:36-40
body type:petite
cute, but color sprayed over harness...
3.7.2013
" ..so when the harness slips down, which happens when you adjust the zipper, you see the natural boot color am ordering the taller boot instead...the 6 fit like a narrow 6 to me, i am recommending to size up if you are between sizes..love freebird by steven ..my booot was not very blue on top either and not as bleached ... "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Short River Boot
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Awesome boot
3.4.2013
" I got these from the Steve Madden shop in my city and I love them. They are TTS and go with pretty much everything. They are pricey, but they will last a lifetime. They are basically a shorty version of the Pheonix boot. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large