Product Reviews

Alameda Embellished Backpack

Pieced together distressed leather backpack with tie dyed body. Heavily embellished front pocket and top. Zipper opening at top. Inside is fully lined with padded laptop compartment. Adjustable back straps. *Leather, Canvas (not including embellishment) *Import *14" depth, 12 1/2" width across front, 5" thickness at bottom
overall average rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Alameda Embellished Backpack
Review 1 for Alameda Embellished Backpack
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:21-25
body type:petite
Cheap looking.
6.29.2013
"I eyed this bag at the Free People store in my town... Trust me, not worth $148. It's cheaply made, and the materials do not seem durable (mainly the zipper)."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Alameda Embellished Backpack
Name:
Location:Pasadena
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
SO UNFORTUNATE.
5.7.2013
"I purchased this backpack about two months ago and last week I realized it was starting to rip from the bottom back. I really love this bag, but I was so shocked at how poorly made it was. The little embellishments fall off so easily too. I love the design; it's so unique and truly beautiful. But for $148, I just wish it was made better. Maybe I got a defect but when I emailed customer service they said they couldn't do anything because they no longer make the bag in that color. SO DISAPPOINTED."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.9.2013
So sorry to hear that! We will be in touch to help out. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Alameda Embellished Backpack
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Alameda Embellished Backpack
4.27.2013
"I at first wasn't sure if I would keep this bag, so many things to get caught on and fall off of....but the more I kept looking at it, opening it, testing it ,the more I loved it! It is roomy and all the little beads and bling look secure. It has an inside pocket and an outside pocket. The thing that would make it a 5 star would be a cell phone pocket on the side.
I also love the double take looks."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Alameda Embellished Backpack
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Awesome backpack!
4.14.2013
"Got this at my FP store the moment I saw it- a few months ago- I've traveled with it and carried it daily to/ from work with good overall ability to stand up to my beatings- BUT- a lot of the gold discs have fallen off- it's very fragile that way- I've tried to reinforce the gold discs that are loose to try to prevent loosing more--- we'll see---- I just can't justify the expense and then not using it because it is fragile- made it to Moscow & back with me tho & got tons of compliments on my travels- light weight compared to other backpacks- padded iPad - laptop pouch makes it practical too! I keep contemplating if I should buy a second one for when the one I have now wears out!
XoX
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Alameda Embellished Backpack
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, Ca
age:21-25
body type:slender
loved at first...
2.21.2013
"I absolutely fell in love with this backpack when I first saw it on freepeople.com and knew I HAD to have it! It was perfect, the leather and all the emebellishments reallly do make it a unique piece. Although I wanted to use it with everything (like my books for school) you definitely can't because it is so fragile! Well, even though I barely use it, I tried using it the other day and the zipper completely broke :(. For $150 you'd think that the backpack would have at least a little durability. I'm hoping Free People has good enough customer service just to replace the bag and send in a new one since I've barely touched it. It's a beautiful piece, but be warmed, it is unbelievably fragile (and embellishments fall off very easily!)."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.26.2013
We're very sorry this happened -- a member of our team will be in touch to offer assistance! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Alameda Embellished Backpack
Name:
Location:new york
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
stylish backpack
1.24.2013
"I have gotten so many compliments on this backpack. I got it in black and I love it. It is definitely the most rad backpack I've ever own. I bought it expecting it to probably be bad quality but I didn't really care, but it was the complete opposite. This bag actually holds up really well. I don't plan on using it for school because I don't want to ruin it, but it would serve as an awesome traveling bag! Love it, you won't be disappointed!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Alameda Embellished Backpack
Name:
Location:Brisbane, Australia
age:31-35
body type:petite
AWESOME!
1.22.2013
"I got the grayish black colour and LOVE it. It is the perfect size backpack; easily fits my laptop. I love the kuchi style detailing; makes it so unique. The whole bag feels like very high quality. Leather is soft but not too soft, just perfect.
I have a back problem (scoliosis) which causes a lot of pain. This backpack is a real saver for me; it is one of the few bags that I can wear for a long time without being in immense pain. It is so comfortable, it feels like one of those mega expensive ergonomic backpacks. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Alameda Embellished Backpack
Name:
Location:london
age:21-25
body type:petite
Unique Bag
11.13.2012
"very nice and unique. Have gotten many compliments, is larger than in image."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Alameda Embellished Backpack
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
LOVE it!
11.9.2012
"This backpack is amazing I just couldn't not buy it. Its so unique and I get so many compliments on it. It has a moroccan kind of style I think which I love. Just a heads up-one thing that you can't tell from looking at the picture is that this bag with make a jingly sound when you walk."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Alameda Embellished Backpack
Name:
Location:Richmond, VA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Gypsy Wanderlust
10.8.2012
"This bag is amazing, the details and embellishments are beautiful. It is also very well made. I have been using it for a week and have not lost any of the metal pieces, they get a nice wear on them and do no stay shinny but it looks great. The leather is not as soft as it looked in the picture but is good quality. Do not carry all of your text books in it, but there is plenty of room for whatever you need. I love it, great buy."
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large