Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cleary Tall Boat Shoe

Rugged pair of tall distressed leather lace-up boat shoes. Zippers up the inner sides. Full rubber sole. Leather lining. *By Bed | Stu *Leather, Rubber *Import *18 1/2" boot height, 4" opening diameter, 1/2" sole
overall average rating:
4.261 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Review 1 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:St. Petersburg, FL
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
LOVELOVE
11.25.2012
"Perfect in every single way. I wear them with everything almost everyday"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:21-25
body type:slender
LOVE*
9.24.2012
"I spent a lot of time thinking about getting these because of the calf size issue the other reviews mentioned. I finally caved and I'm glad I did! while the fit around my (not very small) calves is snug, even with the laces as lose as possible, they're easing out every time I wear them and they're so comfortable! After a few more wears I imagine I'll be 100% happy with my purchase of these unique boots. I LOVE Bed Stu boots!!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:columbus, oh
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
not quite what you expect...
8.10.2012
"Overall the color is spot on once you receive it.
The shaft of the boot is REALLY small. I did try to loosen the laces, but this was not enough to improve the fit. I am a size 8 to 8.5 and I ordered a 9 as I like my boots a bit loose. I am average hight and average weight (and my calves are not usually an issue with boots), but if you have anything but very slim legs these may not fit just right. I had to return them. But I always find a replacement syle as Free People has the best quirky shoes!!!
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:slender
Beautiful boots...but a couple of points
7.17.2012
"I bought these boots for my girlfriend, she is a standard size six and is five four, hundred/ten lbs. Very slim calves.
These boots are really nice, great leather, amazing color, she was soooo excited plus they were VERY slim fitting which she loved.
A couple of points however:
1) If your feet are wide or your calves are larger/athletic order at least a half size larger.
2) When she tried on the boots directly out of the box (being very excited of course) as soon as she walked over to the mirror the zipper on the right boot split right over the ankle area--but the leather is VERY stiff right out of the box as it is thick.
Major disappointment of course. BUT today she loosened the ties all the way down but especially the area just above the ankle where it tends to buckle when walking and it seems to have fixed the issue, she's been wearing them around the house all day to make sure it doesn't happen again--so far no more problems.
She loves the boots, as do I. They are very nice in color and have sturdy wonderful leather. She also says that the soles are very comfy. Again, as long as no other issues happen with the zipper they are a keeper--but let this be a warning that even if you have VERY slim calves to loosen up the ties a bit before first trying them on.
Sorry for the novel, she was just so upset with the zipper but loves the boots so the rating is four but without the zipper issue would have been a 10/5. Hope this helps!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Beautiful, but read the description carefully
7.6.2012
"I ordered these in May after months of debate about whether or not I wanted to spend the money on them. I caved and ordered them, but they were back ordered and I had to wait about a month for them to get to me. I was super excited to get them so I was incredibly bummed when they arrived and I found out the opening for your calves is so tiny. Clearly, I should have read the description more carefully as it state that the opening is only 4" wide. I just assumed I would be able to loosen the laces enough for them to fit better, but after trying, they were still too tight and really didn't look good anymore. Unfortunately I had to return them. Moral of the story, if your calves are even slightly athletic, these probably won't work for you."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Greensburg, PA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Gorgeous but different color.
6.21.2012
"I love these boots. However, the brown distressed isn't as dark as the picture. This was a little bit disapointing, but they're still adorable. Also, if you're in between sizes like me (sometimes I'm a 7.5, sometimes an 8.) go for the bigger size. I ordered a 7.5 because some of the reviews said they run big, but I'll definitely be exchanging them for an 8."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:new jersey
age:14-20
body type:petite
a genuine product
6.8.2012
"these boot are great. i would not be surprised however if your one boot is a shade or so different from the other one. the company makes these shoes from real materials so it's hard to get a perfect shade match. they even tell you how they purposely make each boot (not pair) a tad different for a genuine look.
most people said the boot runs big but i found it fits true to size or even a tad bit tight. i am a 6 usually and order a 6.5. i am glad i didn't get the 6 or else they might have not had enough room for socks or a thick sock.
i would recommend the boots for sure. just don't expect them to look exactly the same since they are not from a factory line.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Cute but too tall
1.29.2012
"I ordered a 6.5 which is my usual size and could fit thicker socks and jeans in them. Unfortunately though, they came to halfway up my knee. (I'm almost 5'5'') That made it extremely awkward to walk. I managed to get them to slouch down a bit by loosening the laces and pushing them down which helped make them shorter but also made them more awkward to walk in. The leather seemed to be of good quality. I would recommend measuring from the ground to the highest point you would be comfortable having boots hit on you and checking it against the product info."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:lala land
age:26-30
body type:petite
texture not consistent and shoe very narrow
1.23.2012
"like yayners, the texture of one side is different than the other. another thing is the shoe is very narrow i had to size up to give my toes some breathing space. any shoes for wide people here? other than that i think this is better than jc's joe lace up boots. the leather is better (color doesn't bleed on you like jc's# and the height is better for short people. this is my alternative to jc's which i had to return because the lining was crooked #thanks china!)."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Mine were mismatched.
1.16.2012
"I love these boots and was so happy to snag the last pair of 8.5's that were up here in the darker brown color. But when the boots arrived, the left and right were two totally different leathers, different finish. One was very mottled and distressed and cracked and the other was flat and smooth (a little less so in the picture, because I spent a lot of time "beating it up" to distress it myself). Like two different pairs had been mismatched.
I needed to keep them for a trip and since they aren't in stock I can't exchange them, so they are currently at the shoe repair shop, where they are going to try to darken both of them to hopefully match better. Thanks for nothing, Free People.
The boots get 5 stars, but I got screwed. Boo."
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb1.19.2012
We're sorry to hear that the boots arrived in this condition. It sounds like these reached us this way from our vendor. I'll be sure to share this feedback with them. Sorry we weren't able to exchange them due to inventory. I've passed your information on to customer service who should have some solutions for you. They should be in touch via email this week.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Boston
age:26-30
body type:slender
Great with any outfit!
1.16.2012
"I purchased these boots once my size came available with no hesitation as they look fab. Once I received I was all too happy that the zipper goes all the way to the top and bottom, this feature makes it easy to remove your foot if you're wearing "wool" socks as I do during the winter.
The colour is on par with what is show in the picture but have no idea why they would call it black! I weat these with leggings/jeans and a cute dress which turns it a big boho. :) They run true to size so purchase before they are gone!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:New York
age:26-30
body type:slender
Love these!
12.16.2011
"I got these in the lighter color. At first I thought there was some mistake because the description says black. Kind of unusual for the color description of a shoe to be based on the laces but oh well. I followed the advice of a couple of other buyers and got a half size smaller and the fit is perfect!! Color is exactly the same in the picture and for me they do fit over my skinny jeans and jeggings. They are so comfy it feels like I'm wearing slippers. So cozy for the winter."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Oklahoma
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Can't get enough of these boots!
12.13.2011
"I bought these boots in brown, size 8 (which is what I usually wear). They fit so well, and are so comfortable! Because they are leather, it took some time for me to break them in, and soften the stiffness. After about a week of breaking them in, they are perfect! I am pretty short 5'3", so they come up a little higher than in the picture, but it hasn't bothered me. I also have athletic calves so I can't lace them all the way up, but it seems to fit the style of the boot. They still look cute, and the more I break them in the more I can lace them up. So I am still completely in love with them! Very worth the money!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Utah
age:14-20
body type:slender
In love!
12.11.2011
"I absolutely love these boots! Ever since the package arrived I have been wearing them nonstop! The fit is perfect and I couldn't be happier. In the three days and times that I have worn them I have gotten endless compliments!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
AWESOME!!!
12.5.2011
"I wanted these so badly but they went out of stock so quickly. finally FP restocked and i bought them in the darker brown in my usual size 7. OMG, what awesome boots. TO DIE FOR. these are just so cool and amazingly comfortable, I can't even begin to describe how much i love them. i own the JC joe lace-ups in black and i love the over-the-knee style. i just wanted something without a heel and these fit the bill entirely. one thing i am going to comment on is the laces. they have this odd feature towards the top of the tongue, its a loop that sort of staggers the laces a little which i do not like, so i undid it and re-tied them without it. it works just fine like this. also, the quality of leather seems very good, but it scratches very easily, so beware. besides these small setbacks these are one awesome pair of boots that are an absolute must-have for the fall/winter!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Grants Pass, OR
age:14-20
body type:slender
I like em!
12.2.2011
"comfortable, soft, awesome looking, warm, and tall."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:indiana
age:21-25
body type:petite
my absolute dream boot!
11.27.2011
"i'd been searching for the perfect pair of casual beautiful yet rugged tall brown boots to go romping around the forest in - these are it!
i bought the "black" which is the lighter brown colour with black laces. i'm glad i decided to go lighter, so much detail in them. they are true to size, the leather is flexible and the fit is comfortable :) very very well made boots, so worth the money. *note: i'm 5'4", they come to mid-knee on me*
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Texas
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
love love LOVE!
11.7.2011
"I'm OBSESSED with these boots. They are the tinniest bit big so they are perfect with winter socks. The laces are a hassle, but one you have them fitted to your size they are easy to slip on and off. They are VERY well made, comfy, and the perfect addition to any winter outfit. I've gotten so many compliments on them and I never want to take them off. I give these boots 6 stars."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:US
age:26-30
body type:athletic
not quite right
11.3.2011
"REALLY wanted to like these but they didnt flatter me at all. they looked just my style in the photos, but sloppy when i put them on. perhaps if i had gone down a half or even whole size, which i may try later. i ordered my true size and they were pretty loose and floppy. its not just the fit that bothered me however, they are just oddly proportioned in my opinion. they make your toes look extra long, and the lack of heel made me look even more like i had big duck feet. i wished there was an extra row of eyelets at the bottom to minimize the comic appearance of the enlongated toe box. also the height was awkward on me. i am 5'7". i LOVE boots, especially tall rustic lace up boots, but these just didnt do it for me. HOWEVER they are very well made. sad to return them. might try a smaller size."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Cleary Tall Boat Shoe
Name:
Location:Richmond, VA
age:21-25
body type:athletic
new fall favorite
10.14.2011
"These boots are great, I am a size 6 and they fit perfectly, with room for a thick sock and legwarmers. I love boots with no heels and these are incredibly comfortable and very well made =) they look great with the curry FP skinny cords."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 2 next>>