Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Velvet Gown Slip

Crushed velvet maxi slip with "V"-neckline. Long slit at bottom left side. Stretchy, body-conscious fit. *90% Polyester, 10% Spandex *Hand Wash Cold *Made in USA Measurements for Size Small: Length (from top of bust): 51 1/2" Bust (all around - relaxed): 28" Armhole Drop: 9 1/2"
overall average rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Velvet Gown Slip
Review 1 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:CA
age:21-25
body type:slender
BRING IT BACK
9.5.2014
"I cannot stress how sad I am that you guys have not brought back this dress, it sold out so fast!! I HAVE HAD IT IN MY CART FOR TWO YEARS in hopes of you guys bringing it back but still nothing! c'moooooonnnnnnnnnnn"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:Montreal
age:over 45
body type:slender
Perfection!
1.19.2013
"Beautiful flattering dress. The velvet is soft and feels great on the body. The fit is perfect. Couldn't have asked for a better dress. Can't wait to wear it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:Virginia
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
velvety softness
1.12.2013
"I love this dress! Looked a lot better on the model than it did on me. Great if you have more curves."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:vancouver
age:21-25
body type:slender
beautiful
12.16.2012
"got the mauve small, 130 5'7... fits perfectly.. one of my favorite fp purchases ."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:Sonoran Desert
age:over 45
body type:athletic
WOW WOW WOW!!!
12.8.2012
"It is dresses like this that keep me coming back to FP. This dress is gorgeous, effortlessly sexy and a perfect fit. I was disappointed when this dress sold out in the 1st 2 colors but now I am so glad I waited to get the blue/black one. It changes colors as you move. I feel like a rock star in this or movie star walking the red carpet. It is that great and what a bargain at this price. I can't say enough about it. If it comes back in stock I would grab it while you can! It is a beauty!!!!!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:New York City
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Very slimming and the blue is incredible
12.6.2012
"I absolutely love this dress. I'm so glad that I got one of the last ones. I'm planning to wear it this weekend. For me it fit TTS. I'm larger chested and it fit perfectly and is so comfortable. As a matter of fact, this dress seems like it was made just for me. The slit on the side is awesome! I'm so glad I held out buying this because all of a sudden their is a blue version of it. Its absolutely gorgeous and I can't wait to wear it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:mountains
age:41-45
body type:athletic
beautiful~
12.4.2012
"I ordered this on a whim to go under the Sparkle and Whimsy slip dress. (I was very challenged to find an under layer for that one!)
This worked out perfectly for me and I have since found many things in my closet to pair with it! It is super comfortable and I feel wonderful in it...The pink (slate) color is amazing. My only wish is that the straps were adjustable.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:San diego, CA
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Absolutely stunning!
11.27.2012
"this is dress was so amazing i had to get the pink and the silver color. I'm 5'3 120 lbs and the small was a little bit loose. i got lots of compliments on the dress and the slit up the side is not to revealing. i have yet to receive the pink color yet but the silver was exactly the same color as the picture. worth every penny :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:Finland
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Lovely dress
11.1.2012
"I'm 5'5", 128 lbs and 36/25/38. I bought this dress in size M. M just touches the floor, so it's perfect with heels. It is a bit loose around waist, but not too much, and fit is comfortable around chest and hips.While I'm slim, my abs are not in perfect condition right now, so I didn't want this dress to be too tight around waist anyway, and I think it will shrink down a bit when I wash it.
I thought this dress would be dark/grey silver like in pictures, but it is more light grey/silver. It is a still very beautiful dress"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:nyc
age:over 45
body type:curvy
love this dress
11.1.2012
"another fabulous piece from Free People.....simple, sexy and very cool, great fit."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:seattle!
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
beautiful
10.20.2012
"I absolutely love this dress! the color is amazing and the fit is comfortable.for people on the shorter side this dress is pretty long. I am 5'4" and this dress reaches to my feet. it's easy to be dressed up but it could also be causal if you wear layers. all in all it's amazing."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:Arctic Tundra
age:over 45
body type:petite
Wish it came in XSmall
10.17.2012
"I agree with the previous reviewer that I wish FP had put this one out in XSmall. At 5'2" it just grazes the tops of my feet, but it is just a bit loose in the body and the straps are just a bit too long. The fabric is super gorgeous and the color is an awesome shade of silver and gray that captures the light just perfectly. This can be dressed both up and down, and it is not too over the top for daytime. Please FP, make this in an XSmall and other colors, too!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Velvet Gown Slip
Name:
Location:Houston, TX
age:26-30
body type:petite
Silvery comfort
10.16.2012
"This dress is soooo comfortable. The color is very dark and rich and this dress is easy to dress up, down or use as a layering piece. Now, the straps are not adjustable and for shorter girls it may require some hemming. I have small shoulders and am only 5 ft, tall. I will not be hemming the dress as I will probably be wearing it with heels. With a good 4 inch pair of shoes, the dress JUST grazes the floor. The strap length was also fine - it hangs only a LITTLE low if you're the modest sort, but would only need to be taken in by a small amount. (I'm able to deal with the length on my small shoulders as is). Now, the dress is VERY true to size in that if you typically wear an XS, the small is a little loose. The fabric bunches a little on my waist and if I take in this dress at all, it would be for this. That's why I gave it four stars - I wish it came in XS, but there's no way I'm sending this dress back!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large