Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Genteel V-Neck Tunic

Oversized open stitch sweater with ribbed 3/4 sleeves. Unlined. *60% cotton, 20% acrylic, 12% rayon, 8% wool *Hand wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 31" Bust: 60" Sleeve Length: 14"
overall average rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Customer Reviews for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Review 1 for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Longer than pictured
12.17.2011
" This is more of a sweater dress than a tunic. If you look at the pictures, the top doesn't look super long, but it is. I'm 5'2" and this swallowed me whole. Not flattering at all, and I am a huge fan of oversized sweaters. If you get this, drop a size or two. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Name:
Location:Seattle WA
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Gentee. - Great Purchase
12.15.2011
" Comfortable, oversized, soft sweather/tunic.
I may need to purchase another color. I am a larger women and feel beautiful and I love it!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
beautiful but huge
12.13.2011
" Very soft. I recommend sizing down twice for this. I think it really only looks nice to wear as the model does with the knot to shorten the length, otherwise the sweater just overwhelms and falls too long and unflattering. The knot as pictured helps to give the sweater structure. Or wear it as a dress with a belt may help. If you love huge sweaters this is for you. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Name:
Location:Kirkland WA
age:31-35
body type:petite
So comfy, cozy and WARM!
12.4.2011
" Love this! I am 5'2" 98lbs and this is defnitely HUGE on me! But I LOVE it! Picked up both colors in size xs. The rose color arrived in perfect condition while the deep teal was balling up like crazy -- boo!
I am sending the deep teal back for an exchange so hopefully I get a good one in return. As the return process takes two week I hope size xs in the teal color doesn't sell out before then!!
Hopefully the deep teal I recieved was just a bad return/lemon as a previous customer stated in the Q&A section.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Name:
Location:Iowa
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Not dissappointed!
10.30.2011
" This sweater is gorgeous.....it's big cause it's supposed to be! So many ways to wear it. I am 5'9" 130lbs. I bought a sm. which is my usual size. So soft and cozy...great quality. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Name:
Location:Edgewood, New Mexico
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Soft, Cozy Knit in a Luscious Color
10.27.2011
" . . . But, ironically, the sweater is shorter than I had expected and hoped for on my 5'9" frame. When I first viewed this piece online, I was immediately attracted to the rose blush color shown on the model as a tunic-style sweater - knotted, long, and roomy. I love this look, but I'm disappointed to say that the effect on my long, lean body is somewhere in-between a tunic and a more traditional sweater. When I first tried it on, it landed just about at the base of my hips after I'd succeeded in tying a knot, which turned out to be quite a feat! Although the knit is loose and has a casual drape, it's still bulky enough to present a challenge for creating a sustainable knot. I guess that I mistakenly thought the featured model was about my height and that I could judge a fairly accurate length by her perceived dimensions. [So, at this point, I'd like to interject a request to Free People: Would you please include each model's height in the "Product Details" section.] I considered returning the "Tunic," but I loved the color; the feel of the fiber; the 3/4 length sleeves that actually stay bunched at my elbows so much so that I opted to work with it, and mold it to my personal specs. Ultimately, I'm glad that I did - with gentle stretching while steaming, I managed to relax the fibers, tie an elegant knot, and lengthen the garment in the back so that it falls softly below my hips. With a little tender loving care, I've customized this sweater-tunic and am so pleased, because its color and versatility are incomparable! My "Overall Rating" is four stars, simply because of the work that was required of me to achieve the featured look shown on the website. I rated the sizing "little bit loose," because the body is relatively wide and flowy. In fact, without a knot or some sort of contouring effect, the tunic's cut is quite shapeless. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
VNeck Tunic
10.12.2011
" Body of tunic is very large
Sleeves are very tight and short
Too much fabric
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Name:
Location:PA
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Big Comfy Sweater
9.18.2011
" This is a big oversized sweater and you shouldn't expect anything different. I bought it at a store and purchased the turqoise... which is gorgeous. However, the blush is beautiful as well. Because the sweater can be worn off the shoulder, it can still be sexy. Worn with leggings, this is a great, comfy, cool day look. I love it, and got tons of compliments. I did get a S, and could have gotten a XS, but liked the longer sleeves on the S. The body size wasn't much different and i did compare them through the M. The real difference was sleeve length. Maybe this should be thought of like a dress... "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Name:
Location:Natick
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Not what I thought
9.15.2011
" I still really love the sweater. But it was too large and I am a big girl. I ordered medium and had to return it and exchange for small. Still have no idea what will it be like, but I do understand why the model ties the bottom, because it flairs out like a bell. I don't think that that is something anyone would want on a sweater that falls below the hips. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Name:
Location:Orange County, California
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Pretty for a Hefty bag.
9.13.2011
" The material in nice. The color (teal) is beautiful. The size? Why is it soooo large? I am 5'5 and 120lbs I bought a small and it went down to my knees. I can't imagine the XS being any better. The sizing on FP is so out of whack. Would be nice if they had sizing measurements for all sizes so you don't have to pay for return shipping when it doesn't fit :-/ "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Name:
Location:Syracuse
age:over 45
body type:slender
love the color!
9.13.2011
" This is a great veratile sweater- you can pair with leggings or skinny jeans- The fit is just a tad large bur I knotted it as shown and love it! "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Genteel V-Neck Tunic
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
Disappointed
9.10.2011
" I ordered this and was excited to get it, but it was huge and hung on me. The knit was much looser than it appears in the photos. I was disappointed - thought it would be a great fall item. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large