Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress

Woven multi-directional striped wrap dress with V-Neck. Contrast canvas straps with frayed edges. Upper bodice in back is canvas, as well. Light ruching at waist. Lined.
overall average rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Reviews for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Review 1 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:washington dc
age:31-35
body type:slender
love love love
9.10.2013
"absolutely love this dress! its extremely flattering and can be worn with flats or heels. it definitely fits snug in the chest area as other reviewers have mentioned, but i like that about the dress. my only gripe is that the straps are a bit long. i ended up having them shortened about an inch and now it fits perfectly. realistically i could have gone without the strap alteration since the chest area fit so snug the straps didnt really affect where the dress hung across my chest."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:ohio
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
pears rejoice!
9.9.2013
"This is a beautiful and unusual dress; looking at the images online I never would have thought it would fit me. I'm so glad they carried it in the store to try on!!! I'm short (5'3") and extremely pear-shaped (32a/b bust and 42" hips) and the size medium fits like a dream!!! The top is snug and the gathering across the bodice is flattering and makes my bust look a little bigger (yay!), the skirt flows away from the body and de-emphasizes my hips and bum, while the asymmetrical hemline makes me look like legs for miles! It might be a tough fit if you are especially slender or well-endowed, but pears rejoice! The color is slightly more beige than pictured and the fabric is VERY thin (although the built in slip helps a lot). It seems to resist wrinkles, so will likely travel well. I'm excited to wear it later this month for a beach wedding in Tel Aviv!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:Texas
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
Absolutely love this dress
7.7.2013
"I LOVE this dress. I am 5'6" and 115 and bought an XS. I am very small chested 32B (that's being generous) and it was very tight on my chest and rib cage. It is extremely flattering and the draping on it front and back is really beautiful and unique. It is nice to get a dress from FP that is not big and baggy. I would imagine if you were large busted that this would not work on you unless you would like your girls peaking out the top quite a bit. I bought the berry color--LOVE it love it. I will wear my DV black wedges with it in the summer and my boots in the fall/winter."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Great design
7.2.2013
"I tried mulberry in the store size S and it would be perfect, but for some reason it did not fit around my chest as expected. Because I love the design so much, and how original the dress is(nothing new here), I am thinking , I may have better luck ordering online. Seriously, FP has some great designers!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Falling apart (this is a big long, forgive me)
6.5.2013
"This dress is beautiful, no doubt. I bought the blue one in a small based on the recommendation of an associate (they didn't have any at the store near me so I ordered online). I waited months to wear it because I got it in February and it didn't stop snowing till about May. The first time I got to wear it out, I noticed that the straps were obnoxiously loose and long, so I had to keep pulling up my dress to keep my cleavage at least a little in check. Also, when I took it off, the frayed canvas straps actually began to unravel. I know the designers probably thought it looked really cool and bohemian and hipster and whatnot (hey, so did I), but this is a seriously flawed part of the dress. What will I do when the straps completely unravel and disappear? Can I send it back so you can sew on new straps? It really sucks that this dress has a time limit, for all the money I paid for it. I wore it out again and noticed more unraveling as the day went on--a day of gently strolling through the zoo. I love the dress otherwise and I'll have to keep it now anyway, but I wish there was a little more thought put into the materials."
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb6.6.2013
We're so sorry to hear this. We'll be in touch soon!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:Sonoran Desert
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Perfect fabric for hot weather!
5.11.2013
"I live in the desert so I always look for dresses that are comfortable in this climate and this dress definitely fits the bill! It is a light almost gauze type fabric. Very breathable but most importantly does not need a slip underneath. What's the point of buying a light breathable fabric and then have to pile on another layer? No worries with this one. Like others mentioned the straps are too long but it only took me about 20 minutes to take them up an inch and a half and I am not a fast with a needle and thread! The fit is perfect now. I bought the green black and I love it! I am 5' 10" 160 lbs and the medium fits just right. Overall I am very happy with my purchase."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:over 45
body type:slender
Cute on the model
3.24.2013
"I thought this dress would be a great addition to express my fun quirky style. I was disappointed that it runs large and there seemed to be too much fabric (totally lost my chest). In addition the wide straps contributed to my decision not to try a size smaller, XS. There was just too much fabric."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:BC, Canada
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
A bit big
3.2.2013
"I bought this in green/black in a small, it just got here and it is a work of art. Would be a bit better if it fit me though, its loose in the torso. I think sizing down would have made it fitted like the photographs. I'm 5'9 135lbs 32b. Adjusting the straps and a big push up bra should fix it though"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:nyc
age:31-35
body type:petite
frumpsville
2.24.2013
"This dress is complete frumpsville. Very unflattering. It made me look like I have huge behind and hips of which I have neither. Not such a flattering cut the way it balloons out over the bottom half of your body. I like the fabric and the potential this design has but fp should have shaped the this dress better."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:slender
Decent
2.5.2013
"When I first saw this dress I wanted the blue color, but then decided against it because I was afraid it'd end up looking like I was wearing a bath towel... so instead I purchased the army black/taupe combo and I'm glad I did. I ordered the xs, I'm 5'4 118 lbs and it fits well for the most part, like another reviewer said the straps are too long and will need adjusting. It also seems to hit in a semi-unflattering place which ends up making my waist look larger than it actually is. And the material is a bit on the cheap side, def not worth 128 dollars. I'll keep it if I can't find anything better to exchange it for. Super cute idea I just wish it could have been made with better quality for the $, as usual with FP."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 11 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:Washington
age:21-25
body type:slender
Grunge
2.5.2013
"I really loved the pictures of this dress but when I got it it just turned out to be a little too "grungy" for me so I sent it back. Just not my style. It is very comfortable and will easily allow for a bra underneath. Does not have much stretch, the grey panels in the back are not stretchy. I think it pretty much looks as pictured...just not for me."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:glendale,ca
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
STRIKING!
1.31.2013
"This dress is amazing on! I wasn't too sure about this dress when I first saw it on the catalogue. I didn't think it was to my liking and I am so glad that I tried this on at my FP local store. I was so pleased to received so much compliments from FP staff. They told me it's my loss if I miss out on this dress! It sure gave me nice fit and shape and I love the sideway slit on the back! I purchased the ivory/blue and it is as true in person and on line! I can not pass on this dress, very beautiful!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:The Dakotas
age:31-35
body type:athletic
really cute.
1.25.2013
"I got this in a medium, because I was afraid the small would be too tight in the bust. Now I get the medium and it a little bit too loose in the bust. However this is easily fixable for me since it isn't by much and I sew. The straps are also 1/2 inch too long on each side, also easily fixable. I think I will wear this dress a lot this summer and I'm really excited to do the alterations and wear it. I think the medium was the way to go since on this design I may have been in between sizes and would rather it be loose than tight. I am 5'9, 135 lbs., & a 36B. Also, where she is holding up the side in the pics, it is hard to tell if there is a slit or raised uneven side. There isn't, which I am also happy about. Very soft, flowing, gauzy material too."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh
age:31-35
body type:hourglass
Odd fit
1.24.2013
"I really want to love this dress. But I agree with the previous reviewer - the straps are way too long. I'm not sure why it's made like that. I'm ordered a small, and I'm a 34D. I always have to worry about how things fit in the bust. I definitely don't recommend this one for the busty girls. While the bodice of the dress was way too small & my chest was hanging out, the actual straps were loose and would need taken in. Bizarre fit. The rest of the dress is adorable though. Maybe someone will be built just right in the shoulder/bust area for this one! But not me ):"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP New Romantics Waikiki Wrap Dress
Name:
Location:DMV
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Comfy & Casual but Straps Too Long
1.23.2013
"This dress is very comfortable and a great casual piece. i really like the shape. It is interesting but not over the top. For winter, it is easy to throw a long sleeve over top or a sweater and it looks like a cool maxi dress. I've been wearing it over thick leggings with a thermal on top because it is very thin material and it is quite cold around my parts lately. I am definitely keeping the dress but the straps are too long and can't be adjusted. Now that I look back at the pics, you can kind of tell that in the back of the dress, the top falls below where the back of a bra will show. My bra is completely exposed in the back so I will have to wear a bandeau over it in the summer to make it look okay. Also I am not a huge fan of the material of the straps- kind of canvasy. And the lining might be a little short for when I am not wearing the dress over leggings, but I can deal with that. I do really like the style so I can overlook these flaws."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large