Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Moon Crescent Necklace

Texturized crescent moon pendant necklace with chainlink. Lobster claw clasp closure. *Import *16" chainlink drop, 2 1/4" pendant drop
overall average rating:
3.161 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Customer Reviews for Moon Crescent Necklace
Review 1 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Ct
age:21-25
body type:slender
Wanted to love
1.15.2014
"I fell in love with this necklace online and was debating on whether to get it for months. I finally broke down and bought it. I was a little disappointed when I got it. I loved the design but it looked really cheap in person. However I still thought it was cute and decided to keep it. Big mistake because it broke after only wearing it 2 times! I tried fixing it but it didn't really work out. Idk maybe mine was just defective because I've never had problems with the quality of fp items but I'm still upset I spent 40 dollars on a necklace I only ended up wearing for a few hours :("
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:King of Prussia
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
I'd buy it again
10.18.2013
"I adore this necklace; it adds the perfect statement to all my solid t's. The chain did not break on mine, but the loop that connects the crescent to the chain did shift and release the moon once or twice. I replaced this piece and haven't had problems since! I'd buy it again!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:All over
age:31-35
body type:petite
Love it!! But...
9.6.2013
"I absolutely love the look of this necklace and wear it often. Like others here, I can testify to it having a cheap chain though. While it is delicate and lovely and the only real silver in the necklace, mine was actually broken in one spot and then apparently mended with a tiny piece of flimsy wire. As a result I have to be very careful when getting up from tables as it has a tendency to catch and snap the chain all over again. The silver also rubbed off the clasp(which seems to be a copper blend) with only a month or so of periodic wear."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Illinois
age:14-20
body type:slender
Cheap Chain
7.5.2013
"I really love this necklace and I wore it with everything when I first got it. However, the chain has broken three times in different places. It definitely was not worth the $38 I spent on it. If it weren't for the chain, I would still wear it all the time."
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb7.9.2013
Hi, we're so sorry to hear this! Our team will be in touch to help with this! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:New Orleans, LA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
moon love
6.20.2013
"I love this necklace and wear it all the time. I double it to make it shorter or wear it long. It may just be me, but it does catch on everything - desk, chair arm, purse strap, etc. - so be careful! But it a really cool piece. I took off one star bc I think it is a little overpriced. My chain broke, too but was easily fixed with small jewelry pliers."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Cheap Chain
6.19.2013
"I purchased this a few months ago when I was visiting Colorado. I absolutely love the pendant but the chain felt cheap and broke within the first week I had it. Luckily, I had a few extra chains in my jewelry collection so I can still wear it. This pendant goes with everything and I wear it all the time!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Texas
age:over 45
body type:slender
Overpriced
5.21.2013
"This is really thin metal and could be easily bent. Not at all worth $38 that it costs. I was a victim of impulse buying. I like it, just wish it were better quality and cheaper."
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb5.23.2013
We're sorry to hear this. If you want to return or exchange it, that's no problem! If you need any help, feel free to reach out! http://www.freepeople.com/contact-us/

xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Ut
age:36-40
body type:curvy
Moon Crescent
5.10.2013
"I was pretty excited to wear this necklace! The length is just right and it is pretty but beware of the chain! In the one day that I wore it, it broke twice!"
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb5.13.2013
We are so sorry that the chain broke - we will be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Bay Area, CA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Chain is cheap looking
4.29.2013
"I was obsessed with this forever and finally ordered it... The chain looks much cheaper than I was expecting. Not worth $38... I still LOVE the crescent moon, but eh. It really should not cost that much if it is basically forever 21 quality. I still like it, though."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Austin Texas
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
My new favorite necklace.
4.17.2013
"I love this necklace! I wear it all the time. Be weary-- the chain is pretty weak and breaks easily. Still in love though!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb4.17.2013
We were able to change the chain up a little, so there shouldn't be any further issues. We'll be in touch. xoxo
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 11 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Minnesnowta
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
LOVE
4.15.2013
"I love love love this necklace. I wear it with almost every outfit I own. I have had no problems with it falling apart at all, either."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Florida
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Perfect!
4.6.2013
"I ordered the brass and it perfectly falls right over my chest and accents any clothes a wear with it. It's so beautiful and looks exactly like the picture!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Celestial Bun Picks
4 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 13 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Montezuma
age:26-30
body type:slender
Cheap looking....
3.23.2013
"I love the style and antique looking finish of this online, but when saw it in-person it looked really cheap, almost plastic-y. Sure $38 isn't pricey for a necklace, but this didn't look worth more than $15 (and I'm not picky about jewelry quality, so that says a lot coming from me). Thumbs down."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
I love this..
2.24.2013
"I really like this necklace. I tried this on in my local Free People Store and since I just bought the Sapphire Globe and the Timer Pendant, I went for the Silver. I like how it's not very big and how it's made."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:petite
Yawn
2.23.2013
"I was not as thrilled by the look of this as some of the other reviewers. Okay okay.  MAYbe I was just a tad obsessed when I first saw it pictured with some of the new tops before it actually became available. And MAYbe I checked FP every chance I got for weeks to see if it had appeared yet. And MAYbe I snapped up the brass the second it became available. 
But...
Unfortunately, it is not what I had been expecting or hoping for. It's a decent weight and size, but it has a very dull brown (yawn) boring finish. The online pictures show some sheen and shininess so you can see all the lovely texture details. The one I received just looks dull brown when worn, and you can only notice the texture if you hold it at a certain angle to bright light which, I mean who's going to stand around and do that all day? So basically, it's a plain, flat, dark brown moon on a chain.  Plus it hangs a bit oddly. Normally I don't bother to return inexpensive items such as this because it's not worth the hassle and out of pocket expense from Canada. However, I've had several disappointing purchases recently (What's going on FP?) and will just return them in a batch. Really wish I could spend more money on FP items and less on return shipping. 
[Note to anyone who's concerned about breaking. Pretty much all the long crescent moon necklaces are prone to breaking. I have the Lune Necklace (which I love) and have almost broken it a few times. It's the shape (a hook) that grabs things like your purse strap or the dishwasher rack and then when you move it gets yanked.  It's not necessarily workmanship. ]"
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 16 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:New York
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Cheap looking
2.22.2013
"For $40, this necklace is not worth it. The chain is very thin and cheap looking. It looks like it could break easily. I was expecting a better quality necklace from FP considering the price but was disappointed."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Boulder, Co
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
I wanted to love it...
2.22.2013
"This necklace is really cute. BUT horrible horrible horrible quality. I wore the necklace two times before the moon broke off of the rest of the chain. I was literally just sitting in a desk at school when the moon fell off out of nowhere. I usually LOVE FP everything, but I'm super disappointed that I spent 40 bucks on a necklace that lasted me only hours."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.27.2013
We are so sorry this happened; a member of our service team will be in touch to offer help! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 18 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Calgary, Alberta, Canada
age:over 45
body type:slender
It's ..... ok
2.19.2013
"I think I feel similarly to the other reviewers with concerns about the quality and strength of the chain. I purchased this necklace because my daughter absolutely loved it and she agrees we will have to be uber careful with it. We plan to purchase a more skookum chain for it. It looks lovely with the outfits she's worn so far. I really like it."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:Bloomington, IN
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Cheap
2.11.2013
"Cheaply made. Probably cost them a dollar to make and are charging $38. Returning."
Response from Free People:By FreePeopleWeb2.12.2013
We are sorry that you were unhappy with your purchase. A member of our service team will be in touch! xoxo
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Moon Crescent Necklace
Name:
Location:South Dakota
age:41-45
body type:athletic
Disappointed!!!
2.10.2013
"Pendant was great! The chain, however, was less than great, felt very cheap. Sad to say, the necklace was returned."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>