Product Reviews

Got You Hooked Maxi

Two-tone maxi dress with high-low bottom hem and button opening at front of chest.
overall average rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Got You Hooked Maxi
Review 1 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:FL
age:26-30
body type:curvy
Cute, but see through
12.3.2013
"This dress has a great fit. True to size. I'm 130lbs, 5'4'', 32D and curvy. Fit really nicely. Only dislike is that the fabric is pretty see through. I suppose if you had a nude slip or body suit you could wear this out. Otherwise, wear it to the beach over your swimsuit or around the house as a lounge dress. Very soft."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:athletic
love, loVE, LOVE
11.1.2013
"Bought this dress when it first came out in the pink/red combo, and it's amazing! I get compliments all the time... my best friend even went out and bought it in green. Super casual, but pretty dress! Runs a little long, but washed it hot. Now it's perfect. A must buy!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:36-40
body type:athletic
Not for me
8.27.2013
"Really wanted to love this but it just wasn't flattering on me at all. I'm athletic in build but with a lean look yet the fit was very Little House on the Prairie on me. Way too frumpy. Ended up returning it."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
age:31-35
body type:slender
Hooked... not really:(
8.5.2013
"I wish I could give it a 5 star, but settled at 4 star for size. I love on the color combo, style and fabric, but wish it fit, then I'd be hooked. I am 36D and M was too snug around my chest area, which was not flattering at all. If there was large, I'd be in love, hopefully FP will re-stock it again."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:United States
age:26-30
body type:slender
Maybe I'll get all the colors?
8.4.2013
"I'm 5'4", less than 100lbs, 30B-32B.
I'm XXS, XS, 00 or 0.
I ordered a XS in cream/ivory combo.
Free People's xs is usually kind of roomier on me than I want it to be, unless it runs small. I knew this dress was going to be long for me and I expected it to be sheer as well. But I had a perfect slip to go underneath so I took the risk and ordered the color I wanted.
OH MY OH MY.
It fits just right. The arms and the chest area is hugging and form fitting but not too snuggle. and the rest of the dress#the bottom skirt part# drops and flows and makes me look feminine and long.
Because I;m not that tall I never really was able to "work" a maxi. This one works! I look tall, long and lean.
Yes, it is a little long on the back. I think I should trim about 2-3inches off to be comfortable and not worrying about stepping on it as I walk in flats or 2.5inch kitten heels. The front length is perfect. It hits about in the middle of my ankes and knees.
It is sheer. You would not want to wear it in public without a slip or tunic that covers your butt. your bra will show through whatever the color. Buff toned bras will show as buff tone bras. I got a seamless overall in ivory long time ago from FP and will be using that. however, that will show as well if you stand in a certain shade of sunlight.
How the model in gray combo fits into the dress made me worry about my bra showing in the back as it looks like it's cut quite deep. But XS actually fits me tighter than how she is wearing it and the cut is not THAT deep. just right. shows off your neck and back elegantly.
I read another reviewer saying this is the 'Pride & Prejudice'#movie# dress.It certainly is. I like wearing my hair down. but for this one I feel like pulling it all up like Keira Knightly in the movie.
The only one is is that the ivory/cream color garmet is on the sheer side a little too much and that I have to trimm the back length.
I am waiting for that perfect breeezy autum weather so I can wear this. It makes me feel so feminine and calm#?#. Love it.
Might have to get the purple one as well.
"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
love
7.25.2013
"Great dress. Colors as shown. Well made. In the fall plan on layering my olive Hard Candy Stripe shirt, small belt same colour as lower dress and my chocolate brown boots. Great buy.. if large chested...may find a little tight across the top."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:31-35
body type:slender
Very cute
7.16.2013
"I just ordered and received this dress in a size small and it fits great and is super comfy! Can't wait to wear it! I'm just bummed that it went on sale the day after I ordered it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Cornwall, UK
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Hooked
7.1.2013
"This is a lovely, comfy, cosy dress that I find myself wearing quite a lot. I have the army combo and the mix of colours works really well. I bought the dress in large and it is a little on the roomy side on me-but I wouldn't want it too figure forming anyway. The shorter bit at the front is just a few inches below my knees as I am over six feet tall but I find this handy as I wear it with the black sheer spotty maxi skirt underneath and this works really well I think. Really love it."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:illinois
age:21-25
body type:petite
LOVE IT!
5.28.2013
"I can't even express how much I'm in love with this dress. I ordered an XS in the purple and green dress and they are both gorgeous! I'm extremely petite at only 4'8'' and 75 lbs and I felt like it fit pretty good through the shoulders and arms. I can see how for most people it would fit a little snug but for me it was perfect. I did have to cut the back of the dress so it wasn't dragging on the floor. Besides the few minor tweaks it fits perfect. I always have to keep my arms covered in the summer because I get sunburn very easily... but It's nice, VERY comfortable, airy, and cool for the summer. I liked the fabric of it and I love that's it's not see through. I feel like a faerie princess whenever I wear the dresses! I really hope they end up making more colors in these dress because I would wear them everyday if i could!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
cheap
5.12.2013
"i purchased this in the army green and black and the colours are very nice, the fit is also flattering but its cheap! the fabric is flimsy and there was a hole in the arm seam where the stitching was not done properly, disappointing because the fit and colour are well done."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Sooo soft!
4.6.2013
"I originally tried the red color this fall but didn't like the fit. Then I saw the lavender color and couldn't resist. To my surprise the fit seemed a lot better on these latest colors. If you are a busty girl, definitively get your real size. The color is muted but very pretty. My only issue is that the dress clings to the legs if you wear tights ...."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Midwest USA
age:over 45
body type:slender
Get off the fence and buy it.
4.5.2013
"I LOVE THIS DRESS! I am an "older" customer...(57). I am sure that there will be some of you who feel I don't belong on here...but guess what, Free People reflects my style, on steroids! I can't wear everything on FP, but I dress for comfort and style, and this dress has both! I am 5'4', weigh 123, and purchased the XS. Overall it fits great. Was a little long, but I took someone elses advice-with a sharp pair of scissors, and trimmed off excess. If you are on the fence about this one, jump off and buy it. :)"
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:CA
age:41-45
body type:hourglass
Unflattering; flimsy
4.5.2013
"The dress did nothing to flatter my small waisted figure, and the fabric is too thin and flimsy for work. The bodice made my B cups look like Cs, but not in a good way. Too big everywhere except the chest. I usually wear XS and ordered S, but I will return the dress instead of exchange it because of the poor quality of the fabric."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Indonesia
age:14-20
body type:curvy
LOVELOVELOVE IT !!
4.1.2013
"I've been waiting this dress, and when got it omaigosh !!! its amaaziiiinglyy flattering to my body figure. Im a Curvy Girl, so i think this is the best maxi dress i ever get from free people <3"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Washington, US
age:21-25
body type:slender
Soft, flowy, comfortable
3.10.2013
"This was one of those items that I kept looking at, exiting out of, coming back to, and never fully committing to buying. It wasn’t until FP offered up their “Purple Haze” lookbook that I realized how I definitely needed to just sit down and buy it. And I wasn’t disappointed. The dress is INCREDIBLY soft (for which I’m very thankful for right now—I chose the day I had to get up extra early thanks to daylight saving’s time to wear it, and the fact that it practically feels like a nightgown is fantastic) and its fit is just right. I’m 5’6”, about 110lbs, and I ordered the dress in a medium hoping for a little snugness here and there but otherwise wanting some flow and room. I got exactly that! The picture is also true to color. I got the lavender combo and wasn’t met with any surprises. While it is a smidge thin, I just made up for that with a basic camisole in a similar color. Gorgeous and comfy dress! I’m definitely planning on ordering more in the future for the sure-to-be muggy Seattle summers ahead!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 16 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Seattle, WA
age:14-20
body type:athletic
My Pride and Prejudice dress
2.25.2013
"I LOVE this dress. It's very flattering and reminds me of the empire waist dresses from the olden estate days. Just got it and it is just the most comfortable thing! I am a 32DD and I bought a small Surprisingly the dress isn't too revealing if I button up all of the clasps... or if you prefer you can wear a cami/ or halter bra with it. I'm 5'6" and the length is perfect. It does need nude underwear because it is slightly sheer. Great with a jean jacket, rugged boots and a statement necklace!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Vancouver, Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
Dream Beach Dress!
2.19.2013
"I fell so in love with this dress; I drooled over it for weeks. I'm 5'5, 125 lbs, and I ordered it in an XS (my usual size) in the Military color and it fits perfectly! It looks exactly like the stock photo, and although it is thin, it isn't see-through. The fabric is so soft and airy; perfect for summer. I can't wait to wear it!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:NYC
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
So soft
2.15.2013
"This dress is soft and lovely. I am 5'3 and about 130 pounds, got a size small and its perfect. I read some reviews that said it is see through so i got the darkest color (military) and thankfully its not see through at all. Great dress!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Canada
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
So cute but...
2.1.2013
"Really love this dress. I'm not yet sure if I can wear it out as it is very revealing. I am not modest, but my chest is very much out there with this one. 5"11 155 36c"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Got You Hooked Maxi
Name:
Location:Canada
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Love, Love, Love!!
2.1.2013
"Absolutely love the way this dress fits and feels. You really don't want to take it off. The material is lightweight, but somehow cozy.
I truly was thrilled with it. I love how flattering it is.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>