Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Shifty Shift Tunic

Boxy shift tunic with lace portion around the entire bottom. Relaxed fit.
overall average rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Customer Reviews for Shifty Shift Tunic
Review 1 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Massachusetts
age:21-25
body type:petite
Beautiful piece!
12.3.2013
" I got a xs/s and it is pretty huge, but thats exactly what i expected from reading previous reviews. Love this piece! So comfy and looks great with ankle booties or high boots! I've received tons of compliments on it as well. Highly recommended! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:41-45
body type:slender
shapeless
11.24.2013
" Just got it on sale, but it's huge. I mean, seriously huge. Why does FP cut tops either way huge, or really small? Frustrated cuz it would have been a cute top. Can't even belt it because it's still baggy over the top of the belt. Luckily I don't live to far from a store to bring it back. I should have listened to the negative reviews on this one :( "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:over 45
body type:petite
Better the 2nd time around
11.15.2013
" I bought this dress in two different colors and ended up returning it. I gave it one more try in Gardenia (ivory) and love it! For some reason I really like it in this color and not the others. I like to wear a lace tank with it and leggings. It's on sale so order it before FP runs out of stock. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Washington State
age:36-40
body type:slender
beach coverup
11.15.2013
" The label on this item is "FP Beach" yet nowhere in the description does it say that it is a beach cover up. I look forward to wearing it next summer - it is a really cute beach cover up. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Savannah
age:21-25
body type:slender
Mixed Feelings
11.11.2013
" I ordered this online after seeing how versatile this top is in the FP Me pics. However, this top didn't work for me. I tried it as a dress, tunic, with a belt, over leggings and skinny jeans, etc. but there was just too much fabric for my small frame. I love the look of it,, but unfortunately I don;t want to use it as a sleep shirt. I will be returning this. I'm 5'4'', 105 lbs and ordered the xs/s. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Burlington, VT
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
So Pretty AND Comfortable
11.4.2013
" I usually wear a medium in FP sizing. Realizing that the look was roomy on the model, I ordered the small and it fits perfectly. This piece is so comfortable I wish I could wear it every day! The trim on the bottom really makes the look unique. I love it and would definitely recommend it. If you like things roomy, order your regular size, but I did better with a size down. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Long Island
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Great layering piece
10.15.2013
" I read all the reviews. I usually purchase a medium, but bought the XS/S.
The length isn’t as long as I thought but it was so wide when I opened it.
The only drawback is the bottom of the sleeves are slightly snug. Not a big deal. Its sheer so I wear a cami or tank top underneath it. Also looks nice under a sweater that you want a flirty bottom to.
I have worn it so many times since I purchase it, I was glad I did.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:over 45
body type:curvy
roomy and more
10.10.2013
" I think this top looks really cute on the model. On me, not so much. I look like a dumpling. All round and fluffy. This is not a top I would recommend for a curvy girl. I'm 5'3" and am usually an XS in FP, but this top was way huge. Since I'm short it looked awful, since it poofed out at my hips. Definitely returning this. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Australia
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Belle
10.3.2013
" The main downsiide from my point of view regarding this tunic is the large neckline. I find that it is awkward and uncomfortable to have something hanging off my shoulders.
It is very, very large and should be sized as such- not as "true to size". I am going to have a seam taken in down the back so that I can wear it without it falling off my shoulders. I notice that the first picture of the white one didn't show this feature, but the pink one does.
I don't mind the boxy design.
I could easily have ordered a small, but doubt that even then the neckline would not have been too big. Overall this tunic is sweet, but more thought could have been put into the neckline.
"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Charleston, SC
age:21-25
body type:slender
Comfortable
9.30.2013
" This is such a great dress/tunic to just throw on whenever. Run very big and loose but still fits and can be belted. I've only worn mine as a dress so far but I can't wait to wear its with light wash skinny jeans in the fall! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:36-40
body type:slender
LOVE but low quality made
9.22.2013
" I bought the white and green one and they are darlling. I expected the bottom panel to be lace but it is cotton, but I still love it all the same. After washing the white once on gentle cycle it came out with a hole in it. If you like the length when you try it on, then don't put it in the dryer or it will shrink a lot. I wish I would have gotten the pink one! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Austin, TX
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
comfy tunic
9.6.2013
" I am 5'7" and got the XS/S in the blue. It is still really boxy and i wouldnt wear it as a dress/with a tight skirt or shorts just because i have bigger thighs and its not flattering. But I got it to wear in the winter with leggings or skinny jeans and it will be perfect for that, alone, or to throw over another shirt. It is roomy, I cant imagine anyone needing the L size even if you are curvy because it is so big. The linen gives the fabric a cool look with the textured bottom as well. The neckline is cut so it sags a little off your shoulder like on the model but it still looks cute. Glad I bought it on sale! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Plymouth, England
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
My new key piece
9.5.2013
" I absolutely adore this tunic. I got it in the green 'fatigue' colour. I love the unusual patterned bottom, looks like lace but isn't, I actually prefer it to lace.
It is massive though, I am 5'2" and 135lbs usually a UK 10-12/M and I got this in an XS after reading reviews.. I'm really glad I listened to people because the XS is even roomy on me!!
It does look a tad boxy if you hold your arms out wide, but it falls beautifully if you stand naturally. I've tried it both with and without a belt and it looks great either way. It's so versatile that I can wear it with almost anything in my wardrobe!
"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Chile
age:21-25
body type:petite
Hmmm...
8.30.2013
" I bought this tunic in the thundercloud color, xs/s (I'm 5,2'', 114 lb). It is extremely boxy, something you can't really appreciate online, but once you try it and open your arms wide you'll see. I thought the length would be a problem for me, but it wasn't the case; it hits me mid-thigh, which is good. The color is very similar to the pictures, but the fabric not so much; in person it looks like a common t-shirt, and the bottom is somewhat shaggy. Overall it's not great or terrible, just average. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Cincinnati, OH
age:14-20
body type:curvy
New favorite
8.20.2013
" One of my new favorite tunics. Fitted on the sleeves and flowy on the rest. Went with normal size. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:NC
age:31-35
body type:petite
interesting piece...
8.16.2013
" Although I knew that it will be baggy, I was still quite shocked how big this is! The first moment I saw it, I thought I am returning it immediately since there is no way for me to wear it the way shown in the pictures (I am probably xxs small and I look like I am wearing a fancy garbage bag)! Then I gave it a try with a belt and it looked wonderful though still slips from my shoulders time to time. The color and the bottom details is so nice that I cannot return it. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Florida
age:over 45
body type:athletic
great tunic
8.14.2013
" I've been looking at a lot of tunics from FP and decided on this one esp. for the sale price. I'm happy with it and wish to purchase more. The material is soft and the lace is different from what I expected, not exactly lace on the bottom. Which is fine, it's still nice. The fit is roomy but in a flattering way. Doesn't really make your figure bigger than it really is. I'm 36C, 5'7, size 8, The material is transparent, I bought the white color. It looks as if it could be used as a nice comfy sleep shirt. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:14-20
body type:slender
LOVE THIS
8.11.2013
" I love these tunics! I have the ivory and the thundercloud both in size xs/s. I could not be happier with these tunics. They are so versatile. I'm 5'6, 125 lbs, and have a slim build. They are long enough to be worn as dresses with a slip underneath, because they are a bit sheer. I cannot wait to wear these this fall as dresses with a pair of tall socks and boots and as shirts with a pair of cute jeans and boots. Keep in mind that they look really cute left alone with a pair simple sandals in warmer weather. While these do run very large, it's not that type of large that makes one look frumpy. These tunics embrace that effortlessly cool mentality that Free People embodies-- and with the sale price of $30, they're a steal. I could not be happier with these. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Daisy Trail Tall Sock
5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Review 19 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:amherst, ma
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Perfect comy tunic.
8.5.2013
" Like previous reviews said, this top does run very large. If you look at the picture of the models and add about five inches of fabric, that is what the top looks like in person. I am average sized and wear a M in FP, and the M/L size was very large on me but not necessarily in a bad way. The fit is very baggy, which might be too much for some people. You could almost describe the fit as boxy, so if you don't like that then I don't recommend this top. I bought this top to layer and unfortunately this top is too big to layer underneath other items, but you can definitely use this as a top layer. The biggest plus about this top is how soft and comfortable it is - perfect for those days where you don't really feel like trying but still want to look cute. I recommend if you like bigger, baggier fits! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for Shifty Shift Tunic
Name:
Location:Australia
age:14-20
body type:curvy
Not great.
6.24.2013
" This was the first time I've ever been disappointed with anything from Free People. However, it's not as bad as I initially thought. It's quite good as a layering piece in winter - I wear it under a pullover (sometimes a coat as well) and over pretty leggings for a nice look. It's pretty much useless on its own. Not very flattering on anyone who isn't a slender/straight up and down figure. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>