Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress

Long sleeved shirt dress with wrinkle texture and layered ruffle bottom. Features drawstring waist. Semi-sheer. *Cotton *Import
overall average rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Customer Reviews for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Review 1 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Bay Area
age:36-40
body type:curvy
so versatile
9.29.2011
"this is so cute and can be worn in so many different ways. Caution it is see through so you need to wear something under it, but super cute, true to size and so versatile!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 2 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Minnesota
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Muy Bonita
6.21.2011
"This dress is just timeless and weightless. I am 5'9" and weigh 130 lbs and I don't have hips at all, so dresses with the cut off in the middle usually look really awkward on me, but not this one! Since this dress is so weightless, the bottom flows beautfully in the wind; just make sure you have on a slip, which is almost necessary with this dress because it is pretty see-through. Dresses like this are the reason I keep shopping at Free People (:"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:miami
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Devine!
6.10.2011
"I bought the pink one, and it is devine. The fabric is beautiful, soft with a bit of transparency. DIVINE!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Venice
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Layering Fun
5.24.2011
"If you buy this dress as a layering piece it could be fun. I did not like it by itself - than I tried with a long sleeve shirt over it and it looks awesome / also with a jacket, like the model is wearing. Anything that would mellow down the tutu..."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:San Antonio
age:26-30
body type:athletic
B-E-A-beautiful!
5.17.2011
"I love this dress. Its perfect. I am 5'0 and the length the material everything about it is perfect. I love it so much I got it in every color. Yes, the plaid and the blue checkered one as well. You can layer the solid colors with one another along with the plaid and the chekered ones. Its amazing. LOVE THEM!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:San Francisco
age:41-45
body type:petite
pretty dress
5.17.2011
"I ordered both colors, they're very cute, especially the pink one. The fabric is a little thin, but that would be perfect for hot summer."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
no way.
5.10.2011
"i wanted this for a while and now that its on sale i decided to try it. seeing the fit on the models, i was skeptical, but decided to give it a shot since it looks so good on them. too bad that this is once again one of those pieces that doesn't work for the petite and or small/short. the proportions make it so that the dropwaist tie is much further down on the torso than the model and the skirt is so long it reached my lower calves. this is a definite no for any petite fp girl"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Score!
5.9.2011
"What a beauty The length is perfect and not too short in the front (I'm 5'9 and around 127-129). As is so with a lot of FP One items, the material is extremely delicate. It is also sheer without being completely see through. I have the Ivory which is a true Ivory. Moves like a dream. A multi functional must have!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:upstate, ny
age:21-25
body type:petite
comfy!
5.7.2011
"this dress really lives up to the positive reviews! I would have to agree that it could be a little tight in places if you choose the wrong size - I'm normally either xs or small and the small fits in a pleasant, loose manner (5'2'', 34C, 115lbs). If I had sized down it would not have closed over my chest and the arms would have been too tight for the loose look this dress is going for. Definitely see-through, but nothing a slip won't fix :) the ivory is more on the yellow than white side, but in a lovely way. A great purchase!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Stunning
5.5.2011
"The lilac dress is such a gorgeous color. Yes, people complain that the dress is sheer, but all problems are solved by a slip underneath. I guess since I'm only about 5'2'' I don't have the problem of it being short in the front, but rather, it's pretty long in the back for me; however, none of that matters because it's just so perfect for spring/summer. It's a little formal, but just dress it down and it's a lovely casual dress you can wear anywhere. I say grab it while you can!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto, ON
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
GORGEOUS!
4.11.2011
"i got this dress in the cream-- and it is very creamy looking!! more on the yellowish side than a white side. but i LOVE it!!! i haven't worn it yet, but an taking it on vacation with me. it is very light, sheer, and great for layering with a little bandeau and lacey shorts, OR a tank dress or slip. I think you can definitely size down if you're between sizes.
I got the L, but i also have a 36DD chest and there was still room. it's such a beautiful dress and it is so perfect for a summer day =)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Ontario
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Cute, but...
4.4.2011
"It's such a cute dress, but it just doesn't fit right on me. The top gapes a bit at the buttons, and the arms are tight, which would normally make me size up, yet the skirt has so much material that if I sized up, I'd drown in it. I have the charcoal, and it's a bit see-through. Nothing a slip underneath doesn't fix. Unfortunately, I have to return this because of the sizing issue."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Chicagoland
age:over 45
body type:hourglass
around town shirt dress
3.10.2011
"I was so excited to get this dress only to find out it was too small, and I ordered a large size. I'm 5'6" and 136 lb. but in all fairness I have wider shoulders than most women. It's really cute but just too small for me. I just sent it back today! Girls that are super thin will look adorable in this."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:canada
age:31-35
body type:curvy
cute fit
3.4.2011
"i think the cut of this dress is really cute. if you're busty, i'd suggest that you size up to ensure that the top fits. i got the ivory, and it's basically totally sheer, so i'd probably always have to wear a slip underneath. i'm short but i still find the front a little scandalously short, but that's where the slip helps too. i'm also a big fan of 3/4 sleeves and i love them on this dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Sacha Waist Belt
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 15 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:Houston
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Beautiful
2.26.2011
"I just bought this from a store and positively love it. It IS see through, so you will definitely need a slip. As for the limo moment mentioned earlier, I think it LARGELY depends on the dress. I am also 5'2'' and tried on an extra small. It fits perfectly. It falls to just above my knees in the front. So, my advice would to only buy it if you can try it on first. They seem to vary."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:UT
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
So Cute
2.17.2011
"I'm 5'5 and 108 pounds, 32D, xs fits so good. I got the white one and it's super cute. love the design and will buy other similar style with different colors. PS, it's seen through, so buy the 78 slip skirt, which will fit great."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:West
age:21-25
body type:petite
Big in a bad way
2.16.2011
"I hate to be the first to give unpleasant comment but I just dont understand why it has to be so large even for size XS. I am 5'4 and 117 this dress fits like a bag on me. Not flattering at all. Size down if you are lucky to be able to but for petite girls try it on before purchasing!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:MI
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
darling
1.20.2011
"I bought this dress, I loved it, but it didn't "love" me.Had to send it back. My weight is in my midriff and it just made me look fat. I bought it in black. I am trying to lose a few pounds, I usually do, should have kept it!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Fabulous
1.19.2011
"I saw this at the store as I was walking out and fell in love with it. I am 5'9'' and the dress was perfect length on me. I got a S, but it is rather tight in the chest area (34C) and shoulders (athletic build) but the M was too tight on the waist, so I resorted to getting the S. I hope it doesnt shrink! This dress is so beautiful the pictures on the catalogue and online don't do it justice. The gray and the ivory are great shades!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP-1 Around Town Shirt Dress
Name:
Location:South Carolina
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Rawk!
1.19.2011
"I love this dress. This is something I’m literally going to wear until it falls apart and slides off my body. I'm 5'8", have a 34C chest and usually wear a 2- the extra small fits perfectly. I ordered the charcoal, but am considering also ordering the ivory for the summer."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>