Product Reviews

Thrifty Eyes Dress

Beautiful sleeveless crochet mini dress. Unlined. Looks adorable when worn with a peter pan collar around the neckline, as shown in the catalog. *60% Cotton, 40% Polyester *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33" Bust (all around): 34 1/2" Bottom Opening (all around): 39" Armhole Opening: 9"
overall average rating:
3.533 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Review 1 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:14-20
body type:athletic
Interesting dress
1.16.2013
"I bought this dress, size small, in the "black" color.
When I received it in the mail I was surprised to see it wasn't as black as it looks in the pictures. Its very muted... closer to a gray almost brownish color. A slip is definitely needed unless you want to wear it to the beach with just a swimsuit underneath. Also, it runs large and is rather shapeless. Id suggest sizing down. I'm 5ft 7in and have an athletic body (130lbs)
I do believe I will get good use out of this dress after a wash or two
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Not So cute...
1.4.2013
"I ordered this dress online and was so excited to get it because it looks so cute in the picture, but I was really disappointed when I received it. I am 5'9'' and 130 lbs, and ordered this in a medium, which is normally my size, and it was huge on me! Not only that, but it is completely see through...the model in the picture must be wearing a slip underneath. it really has no shape to it and bascially looked like a bag on me. If you do decide to get this, make sure you have a white slip to wear under it and you order a size down."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:MI
age:21-25
body type:slender
Cute dress, not the most flattering though
12.17.2012
"Got a white S on sale My usual FP size is XS but it's out of stock, so I expect the S to be a looser fit. The dress is very nicely made, but it's not the most flattering piece I own. I am quite tall(5'8") and reasonably skinny, but I do have a butt. The dress doesn't hug me at my small waist(perhaps because it's one size too big) and flares out at my butt. I wouldn't say I look thick in this dress, but it's just not a very flattering fit. It's an adorable little dress though, so I am thinking of cinching it with a thin belt, or just keeping it as a beach cover-up. This dress is made for girls who are super tall(like 6'1" Karlie) and stick thin."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:Canda
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
Great Dress!
12.11.2012
"This dress fits very true to size. I got the dark grey colour and I'm excited to find some different coloured slips to put underneath. Such a versatile dress. Not quite as short as it looks on the model."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:Fort Worth Texas
age:over 45
body type:petite
Love this Dress
11.1.2012
"I just got this dress today and it is really cute. I am 5'4" and 112lbs. I am wearing a black slip under it with flat boots. Its a little short for my comfort level for daytime so I am going to wear on date night with hubby! I got the xs and it fits me exactly as shown in the picture."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 6 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:Wilmington NC
age:36-40
body type:petite
Super cute!
10.30.2012
"I was very nervous about this because of the reviews. I am very glad I focused on the positive ones because it is AWESOME! I got the black/brown/navy one. HAHA! I have tried it on with different slips and body cons and it really seems that whatever you choose to wear underneath it, will determine the color! It is really soft too btw. I got the small and I feel very comfortable layering it. It is not bulky and it's very pretty. Definitely a great piece. I say get it if you are on the fence."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 7 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:LA, CA
age:41-45
body type:slender
Very pretty summer dress
7.26.2012
"Since I like this dress a lot, I bought both White and Black.
Black one doesn't really black, it is more like faded navy.
I'm 5'4, 110, and XS fits like Size S.
I wish I could wear this dress in four seasons, because I like this a lot!!
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:petite
Nothing like pictured
5.20.2012
"This dress looked so cute online in the white but i didn't like it enough to buy it. i tried it on in the store a while later. The darker color isn't like pictured, its more gray not dark gray or black. They only had that color in my size so i tried it on in the hopes of ordering the white if i liked the fit. Well, i didn't like the fit! it hugged my body too tight for this dress and is longer in person so it flares out close to the knee, which isn't flattering at all. And you need a slip under it too. This dress is just not for me, or anyone else that isn't stick thin."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:CA Bay Area
age:26-30
body type:petite
BIG and SHAPELESS
4.14.2012
"It does look good on Karlie and only on her, not even on the other models. Guess you have to be super tall and skinny to be able to look good in it. The material is not delicate and the dress look quite cheap in real life. Also quite long and big on a petite frame. Not worth $78 at all."
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:Milwaukee
age:over 45
body type:petite
Cute dress but too faded!
4.4.2012
"I actually like the fabric and fit of this dress. Normally I can wear a size small in Free People but purchased this in the xs and it fit my straight frame well (35-27-35). Unfortunately, I didn't like the faded black and wished they had just done a "true" black that would match better with capris, etc. It looks like it faded from wear, so back it goes."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:Washington, D.C.
age:14-20
body type:petite
too big :(
4.2.2012
"I usually wear an xs, but this dress in an xs is the size of a medium. Not only is it see-through, but it fits like an over-sized nightgown. Getting it in at least one size smaller and trying it with a belt might make it work. It looked so cute in the pictures... what a disappointment."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
No thanks
2.28.2012
"Tried this on in the store and it's a disaster. The fit is bulky, the material is thick and doesn't move, the shape is shapeless, and if you have *any* sort of curve at all (good or bad), they'll get lost in this potato sack. I'd size based on your bust. Start with your usual size and go down if you are less chesty, go up if you are more. But I wouldn't recommend buying this... ever. NOTE: Totally sheer/see through."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:Alabama
age:21-25
body type:athletic
<3 <3 <3
2.28.2012
"LOVE this little dress! It is so cute in person! I usually wear a small, but ordered an xs after reading that it ran large. It does, and also the fabric will give a little. I definitely recommend sizing down. Cute little piece with gladiator sandals or boots!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:orange county
age:31-35
body type:petite
runs big
2.3.2012
"This dress is definitely cute. I really wanted to buy it, becuz it looked so great on the model. I'm 5'1 and 105 pounds, very petite. I tried it on in extra small. It wasn't flattering on me at all. The crochet material is really cute. However, it just fit me like a paper sack. I thought it would cling, be shorter or fit to my body more. I even layered it w/the slip (pictured) and with the seamless romper. It just didn't do it for me. I wish it fit better): But this review is only 2 stars because i'm petite. It might be lovely on someone else. It's definitely just a shift dress."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Thrifty Eyes Dress
Name:
Location:Wyoming
age:over 45
body type:slender
Very cute!
2.1.2012
"I got this in white, with the plan to use it as a cover up and a casual dress. It's pretty and fun and just what I wanted. I do think it runs a bit large though. I ordered a S because I was concerned about it fitting my hips, but I really could have used an XS., as it's a bit big in the bust and plenty loose in the hips. I have a simple, short ivory/nude slip that works with it."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large