Product Reviews

Mota Metal Ankle Boot

Distressed and texturized leather ankle boots with ruched detailing in fabric at front of ankle. Elastic insert on both sides of ankle. Back of heel has metal plate detailing. Treaded rubber sole. **Special Note: It is recommended to size up one size when ordering since they run a little bit small. *By Free People
overall average rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Review 1 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:seattle
age:36-40
body type:athletic
too small
11.21.2013
"I wanted to keep these, but they were just too small. The next size up was out of stock. Please get more in brown!!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:nyc
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
amazing
9.5.2013
"These shoes are so amazing that I got them in both colors. I receive so many compliments. My one qualm that I can live with is that a screw fell out of my black one which caused the metal to bend- fixed easily at the hardware store. perfect for the season!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Las Vegas
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Love these boots, way too small
7.20.2013
""I was very hopeful and excited about receiving these boots unfortunately they did not fit. Easy pull on entry, which I loved (busy moms need nonfussy details). The Color was great and would go with just about anything, I would describe it as a midnight hue. I was disappointed as I thought for sure the size 41 would be perfect since they are usually a bit big on me. For reference I am a 10 so depending on the maker usually purchase a 10 sometimes 11 if the style is narrow in the toe region. Oh well, maybe better luck next time. Definately size up on these if your on the fence.""
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:14-20
body type:hourglass
BRING BACK BROWN!!
3.22.2013
"The brown boot seems to be everybody's preference (Restock please!!). I'm a 7.5-- 8 when shoes don't come in half sizes. I purchased the 38 just because I wanted these so badly. I can wear them around and everything, but I'd definitely would buy the 39 if it was available. My big toe would like just another half a centimeter of breathing room. Other than sizing, these are so fab! Was looking for a versatile Chelsea boot with a little pizzazz :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Slovakia
age:over 45
body type:athletic
My favourite
2.7.2013
"Excellent material and design. I am very satisfied, there is nothing to critize, only praise."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:San Francisco, CA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Definitely small
1.31.2013
"These boots definitely run small, so go up a size or two like everyone else said. I'm also surprised that the soles are rubber and not something a little harder like wood. But they are wearable. And the metal detail is the best part of the shoe."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:26-30
body type:petite
Glad I Gave These A Shot
1.25.2013
"The reviews weren't promising but I'm glad I gave these a shot. They look exactly like they do online. I was unsure about the slouchy part but the color and distressing of the leather teamed up with the silver heel makes up for it. As far as sizing goes I ordered up and I'm fine. I don't understand intensely negative reviews on most things but especially concerning a pair of boots. Just order them and if you don't like them exchange or return them."
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:michigan
age:31-35
body type:petite
adorable, but size up
1.7.2013
"very cute and comfy, but buy 1 full size up....run really small. I wear a 7 or Euro 37 and the 38 fit perfect."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:NY
age:26-30
body type:curvy
WAY TOO SMALL
1.7.2013
"I usually wear a size 8. I purchased the Euo equivalent. It was way way to small. So I returned it, and went up one size, and it was STILL too small! Then I returned it AGAIN and went up one more size, and the right shoe was too small and the left was too large! I don't know what Free People is thinking charging so much for a shoe that is terribly made. Super disappointing."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Austin
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Disappointed
1.5.2013
"These were just not what I was looking for in a chelsea boot. With the scrunch and the round toe they just looked like gnome boots on me. The metal is the best part of the boot but the color I thought would be black ended up being straight navy. The sizing is also all messed up. I am usually a solid 8 and fit nicely in 39 euro. The 39 was super tiny. Definitely sending back."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
So comfortable
12.31.2012
"I bought these in NY, because my feet were killing me. I am a Chicagoan & do a lot walking; however, not 5+ miles/day, day after day. My boots had approximately a 2" heel or less but it was too much. I bought these out of desperation and they were fairly reasonably priced for a decent pair of shoes. My feet thanked me, my feet didn't hurt me the rest of the trip & they were so comfortable I went back for the other color. The black looks more navy than black, but I love that because if you wear them with navy, black, or grey they look that color. And a 39 in TRUE European sizing is a size 8. I am an 7.5-8 and usually have to go up a size due to high arches and the 39 were roomy. I think these run a little large if you base it on European sizing."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:Washington DC
age:21-25
body type:petite
Love them but extremely small
12.28.2012
"Shop FP all the time and as usual their quality/style is pretty awesome. Love the look of this boot. The color is just as pictured and the texture is perfectly distressed-- they really have a cool, effortless look about them that could be dressed up or down.
On the other hand, SIZE UP!! I bought these in black in a EU 37 which is supposed to be a US size 7 but it fits like a US size 6. Incredibly disappointing because I gave these as a gift to my sister, who always wears a US size 7, but she couldn't even get her foot in the boot. It would have saved a lot of time and frustration if FP would have sized these correctly or made it known that they run small.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs small
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Mota Metal Ankle Boot
Name:
Location:LA
age:21-25
body type:petite
cute but small
12.28.2012
"Love these boots but they are not true to size. I'm normally a US 8 and Euro 38 but I'm exchanging mine for a 39 because my toes were touching the front.
I recommend sizing up one size.
"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
snug
runs small
true to size
runs large