Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt

Semi-sheer pull-on maxi skirt with brightly colored floral print design throughout. Features a soft opaque waistband. Longer in the back than in the front. *Polyester chiffon skirt. Waistband is cotton and lycra. *Import Front Length: 26" Back Length: 35" Waist Measurements: XS = 22" S = 25" M: 27" L: 29"
overall average rating:
4.531 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Customer Reviews for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Review 1 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Ca.
age:31-35
body type:athletic
Just getting acquainted with FP sizing
7.13.2011
"The size medium skirt when laid flat measures 13.5 inches across… but the fabric provides an easy 7 inch of stretch! That is a LOT of wiggle room! Other reviews claimed the skirt is narrow, but mine felt nothing close to tight even around my 36 inch hips! My “girls” 34 B are simply not enough to hold the skirt up as a dress… I would need to size down for that look. The dress is called “semi” sheer, however, that applies only to the colored portions, the black part of the skirts is plain SHEER for some reason. Maybe it’s just the luck of the drawl, but my skirt was not nearly as bright as the one shown. Mine had a lot brownish/gold… not bad, just meh. Overall, it’s just not worthy of my love… but we could be friends."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Youngstown, Ohio
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Beautiful skirt for a great price!!
7.12.2011
"I have wanted this skirt ever since it appeared on the website, and when it went on sale I knew I had to snag this up fast! So I'm only 5'4" and I can easily wear this as a skirt, all I have to do is fold the waist band in half and it is the perfect length, the back just skims the floor if I wear flats. As a dress it is really cute but its loose and I feel like its going to fall. I should have sized down to an XS. I have the whole outfit she's wearing in the picture and it is so cute! I'm glad I was finally able to get this beauty. And for the fellow short gals out there, do not be scared of the length of this, you can make it work!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:CA Bay Area
age:26-30
body type:petite
Beautiful print beautiful design beautiful price!
7.12.2011
"Everything so beautiful and perfect!!! Cant believe its on sale!!!!! Wear it either as a dress or skirt! It does look amazing!!!! I am 5'4 XS hit 1 inch above my ankles wearing as a dress and would hit the floor as a skirt - guess I have to get a pair of wedges for this babe. I have been hating on wedges/heels but will def get one just for this skirt. Oh my so pretty."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:san diego
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
summery and sheer
7.8.2011
"great layering piece. this skirt is completely see through so you must wear a slip or spandex shorts underneath. The flowery material is sheer and "crunchy" not silky, if that makes any sense. Beautiful fabric from india. I actually fold over the top and wear it as a dress more often because the front hits above my knees for the mini affect and the back flows longer past my knees.
I'm a size27/28 pant with 26 inch waist- pear shaped and the XS fit great. the black part is very flexible and not tight at all. Any bigger and it would not fit my bust as a dress. so i would size down if your bust isnt huge.
The front is ALOT shorter than the back which makes it unique and able to show off your shoes of choice. Also, it's shorter than other maxi skirts and dresses that i've gotten in XS before (chiffon skirt, directions in lace maxi, miles of henly maxi dress too). Better for shorter girls.
a definite summer buy at the sale price!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:connecticut
age:14-20
body type:petite
OMG, i love this!
7.1.2011
"and let me just say right now that you have to look past all the possible flaws and just get it because it is absolutely stunning! i waited and waited for this to go on sale and when it finally did i snagged my usual xs. i was very very skeptical about this based on all the other reviews. i was anticipating not being able to even wear this as a dress, but decided to try it anyway and i am soo glad i did. first of all, the pattern is gorgeous! i would keep this as a decoration even if i couldn't wear it! i didn't even try to wear it as a skirt and immediately pulled it up over my chest to wear as a dress and omg, its perfect! wearing it like this makes it a perfect length maxi dress for my 5'1 self. if i wanted to wear this as a skirt, i'd probably have to pull it up to just underneath my chest in order for it to not reach the floor, so yeah, its really long. the tube part was also a little bit big on me, so you might want to size down. also, the floral part is see-through, so you'll be needing a slip of some kind. petite FP girls, don't be scared of this, give it a try, i think you will love it!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Tokyo
age:31-35
body type:petite
Flowy
6.8.2011
"Love love it! Yes, the skirt is a bit long (5'3 102lbs), but not so long that I couldn't wear it. Since the waist area is stretchy, I pull it to wear it as a tube dress paired with a t-shirt (cropped t-shirt/pink fringe pullover) over it and finish it off with some sandals or cowboy boots. The skirt is soft, delicate, and flowy. The colors are gorgeous and it's perfect for spring and summer. I just love how it flows when you walk!"
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Fringe Pullover
4.4 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 7 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:portland, or
age:21-25
body type:curvy
A Dress
5.7.2011
"I bought this as soon as it came out and couldn't wait for it to arrive. When I got it I was more than a little disappointed. This skirt is super super sheer, like, you can't not wear something under it, it's just not an option. The photos don't even come close to showing how much you can see through the fabric. The other problem is it has that high/low hem thing going on but it's so long in the back. Awesome for a photo of a girl standing on a rock in the desert, not so awesome for a girl living in the city who has to actually wear the thing places. I honestly couldn't make this work at first but the fabric was so pretty I didn't want to return it. I tried tying side knots, wearing it high waisted, thought about hemming it, none of it successful. My friend who works for Free People started messing around with it in store to see if she could figure something out and suggested I wear it as a dress with a top over it. In all honestly it's actually awesome when worn as a dress but that's the only way I can wear it. Which means i end up with a tank dress on underneath, the skirt layered on top, and then another top over that. Adorable but if you aren't prepared for some layering and working with this skirt it's probably not a great buy. At 5'5" even when I pull the skirt all the way up and wear it as a tube dress with heels it still touches the ground.
I'm attaching a photo of the fabric being held up to show how sheer it is (no flash)."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Canada
age:31-35
body type:petite
Beautiful skirt
5.5.2011
"This is an absolutely beautiful skirt, only made better by the fact that it can also be worn as a dress, which I may end up wearing it as more often. True, it is a bit long but that's kind of the point of a maxi skirt. I'm not tall by any means (5'3, 126lbs, size 2), I took a size small and it fits perfectly, and the length is really not too long.
My only complaint? The skirt arrived smelling SUPER musty!! I had to have it professionally cleaned to get rid of the unpleasant scent. FP, I would look into the warehouse where this item is stored, it obviously was exposed at some point to high humidity...."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Indianapolis
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
so dreamy
5.4.2011
"great skirt can be dressed up or dressed down and since summer is on its way i can also wear it as a dress yeeah...but make sure to wear a slip under, unless your very daring (="
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:iowa
age:26-30
body type:curvy
limitless possibilities
4.8.2011
"This is a fabulous skirt! You can make it any length. It works as a dress or skirt. I love the tiered hem. I layered it over a long charcoal tank slip from this winter, and it was amazing. I love creating new combinations with all Free People has to offer. I'm 5'9", 127lbs, 34D. I ordered an x-small which is what I usually take in bottoms from Free People, I accidently received a small. The small worked fine! I'm sure many will agree because of the comfortable waist bands that smalls or x-smalls are interchangeable even though we have a preference. The colors are great to work with!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Berkeley, CA
age:21-25
body type:curvy
Amazing Maxi Skirt.
3.30.2011
"I rarely wear maxi skirts, so when this first came into the store I was a little hesitant to give it a try. I tried it on though, and found it to be fun, colorful and very flattering. A perfect spring wardrobe staple. It looks wonderful just worn as a dress, with a FP seamless tube worn underneath. I wear a bright pink tube top underneath to give it a nice pop of color since the material itself is sheer. I also wear it with slouchy t-shirts on top, and I love the combination. I am 5'4" and 135 pounds and the S fits perfectly. Just be careful with it because the material is fragile, but totally worth the extra care! This is a must have!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:31-35
body type:slender
Perfection
3.24.2011
"Wow. I got this skirt yesterday in the mail, and it is every bit as stunning in person as in the pictures. The colors are amazing. Sheer and flowy, light and fluttery, I feel like a butterfly in it! It is a bit long so if I want to wear it at it's full length I'd need to wear some wedges (I'm 5'2). However, it's so easy to adjust to the right length by just pulling it up and folding the waistband down, so I can wear it with flats, too. In addition, it's totally wearable as a tube dress and maybe even more cute this way! The higher hem in the front is very noticeable and really keeps this skirt flirty and fresh. It's kind of cold and rainy here, so I haven't been able to wear most of my summery FP things yet, but I can't wait to wear this, so I'll put it on over some leggings! :) Definitely one of my favorite FP pieces!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Maryland
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
So Unique
3.17.2011
"I'd been drooling over this skirt and decided to treat myself for my birthday. So pretty in person!! I ordered my usual fp Large and it fits like it should by the pictures. Love the peekaboo front and longer back; the waist material allows it to be worn higher or lower on the waist/hips. Perfect if you want to hide a flaw in that area or raise the hem for shorter girls. For reference, it's the same kind of waist band as the Ruffled Layers Skirt. I thought the skirt part might be a little softer than it is, but that's neither here nor there. As stated before, it's completely sheer, but any sort of slip will solve that problem. Can't wait to wear this beauty out :)"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:So Cal
age:41-45
body type:curvy
Pretty Colors
3.13.2011
"I finally purchased this skirt online and was so excited when it got here yesterday. I love the sheer fabric and the colors are gorgeous, you will need to wear leggings or slip for sure. The length isn't too long at all as long as I wear wedges or platforms (5'5"). I ordered my usual size in fp skirts (L) but it is too loose. The banded waist is super soft and thin and I know it would give after wearing, so I have decided to exchange it for a medium. Can't wait for the new fp pkg at my doorstep!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
very pretty
3.3.2011
"i just got this skirt today at the free people store in my mall and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this skirt. first of all, im short, like 5'1 and a size 4. this skirt falls right by my feet with no shoes and does not drag when I wear espadrilles with it. It is sheer in person, yet, looks great with opaque black tights or charcoal leggings! I suggest styling it with the colors in the image shown because a navy tank with a light blue cardigan or light jacket really sets the colors very well!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:D.C
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
LOOOVE this
3.2.2011
"i recently got this skirt as a gift (it was on my must-have wishlist) and i am absolutely in love with it! I love how it comes up in the front...it just seems totally unique and gives it an awesome feel. like other reviewers have said, it is VERY sheer. I need to wear a tight black mini skirt when i wear it, but it looks amazing as a dress. I will probably wear it more like that than as a skirt! It's worth the money so if you're on the edge, GET THIS!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:orange county, ca
age:14-20
body type:petite
for tall people only....
2.27.2011
"i'm 5'4" and this was long on me as a DRESS! So i ended up returning it...very beautiful, i wish i was taller :("
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
age:14-20
body type:slender
LOVE!
2.25.2011
"I love love love LOVE this skirt. After I saw it online, I got it the first day Free People opened in Pittsburgh. When I wore it for the first time, I got so many compliments. It's so beautiful, yet so different. No one has anything quite like it. This skirt is very VERY sheer, so you must wear something under it. Otherwise, it fits well at 5'5" and 108 lbs. Perfect!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Wyoming
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
cute but keep covered
2.7.2011
"I love this skirt, the design is beautiful and I continue to catch myself watching the way it moves when I walk. However, it is completely translucent (as I have seen pop up recently) as opposed to slightly so. I considered sending it back until I could find something to wear under it.
I am 5 feet 8 inches tall and a size small, the skirt on me hits my ankles, so if you are taller you are likely to not fear walking on this skirt.
Overall this skirt is beautiful and a diverse wardrobe option."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP ONE Desert Florals Maxi Skirt
Name:
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Flowy and Unique
2.6.2011
"What a beautiful peice! The colors are just amazing! This can be worn as a long skirt or a dress. It definately needs something underneath, because it is very sheer. I think it looks even cuter as a dress! I have the Navajo Beaded Earrings from a while back from FP, that I plan on wearing with this, and they totally don't match, which makes it even more boho and adorable. It is supposed to be longer in the back and shorter in the front, but the seam on the waistband makes it so that if you wear it with the seam right in the back, the longer and shorter parts are on the sides, not the front and back, which I think makes it even more unique! I'm going to New York this summer, and I can see myself wearing this in a little restaurant on a warm, balmy night."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>