Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress

Sheer floral lace slip dress with elaborate beaded detailing along the neckline. Fluttery hem. *Free People Exclusive *Silk, nylon, and rayon *Import
overall average rating:
4.136 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Customer Reviews for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Review 1 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Overall, love it
3.2.2011
" My boyfriend got this dress for me though the mail and gave it to me as a gift. I love the fit and the style of this dress. It did have some rips in the lace when I got it in the mail. I was VERY sad by this. The lace is so delicate that it came with rips! I feel that this proves that it was cheap and not the right material to use on a dress. It made me upset enough to upload a pic of one of the holes ( not near a seam even). "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:MI
age:21-25
body type:slender
beautiful lace!
2.25.2011
" I ordered this dress in ivory, in my usual FP size XS. Fits pretty well except it's a little bit snug around the bust(34C). I am 5'8" and it hits my knee just like on the model. The color is more like tangerine than pink in the picture, but it's beautiful all the same! Definitely an eye catching piece, and I love the flow of the lace! Well worth the sale price, and I got a birthday discount on top of it! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:PA
age:14-20
body type:petite
Unbelievable
2.21.2011
" This dress is truly amazing. It's so gorgeous and fits my body like a glove! I have the black version and it's so sexy but classy at the same time. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Midwest
age:14-20
body type:slender
Lace Dream
2.11.2011
" It isn't often I like dresses, but I absolutely fell in love with this one. I purchased it in the black, small size, though I should have gone with xs thanks to some considerable roominess. Unfortunately, there were no more xs sizes available, so I'll just have to make due. The lace is absolutely stunning, heavy and rich, which helps it to drape properly over curves and the slip itself isn't uncomfortable, which is fortunate. It is an extremely beautiful dress and one I recommend, especially at the sale price. Unfortunately, the only drawback is that it wasn't put together as well as it could have been. Loose threads and sequins abound, but that's nothing a little bit of work can't fix. Overall, I am more than content with this beautiful lace dress and think that it makes a nice addition to anyone's wardrobe, especially if you're on the slender side. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Sweet Fairy Dress; Orange
1.27.2011
" Most important note, which other reviewers have mentioned, is that the lining is bright tangerine, making the dress ivory and orange. From the picture online, I was thinking a soft, velvety pink and almost white cream color. Nope!
A really flattering fit, and not just for model types - I'm curvy, with a butt and boobs, and even a bit big these days (135 on 5'5"), and the dress still fits and flatters, especially the way it flares out.
It's so playful and fairy-like that I wonder where I'll wear it. I'm also concerned that the color isn't flattering, so I go back and forth with whether I'm keeping it or not. I'm pretty pale, and normally avoid oranges and yellows, due to my skin tone. However, the orange is toned down under the lace.
As I said, it fits me well now, when I'm "big" me (my weight fluctuates a lot), and I feel confident that, when I lose ten pounds, the small will still fit - the dress will be looser in the torso/bodice, which might just give it a more casual look, like on the model.
I wish it weren't always sold out in the black! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:NYC, NY
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Gorgeous
1.20.2011
" This dress looks amazing. I bought it in black, size Small. I was afraid that this wouldn't fit me as I'm busty, but it looks pretty without being flashy. At 5'2", it is long on me, but still looks great. Very delicate and flowy without being bulky. Be careful not to snag the material and it should last you a long time. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:MA
age:21-25
body type:petite
Fabulous
1.16.2011
" I got the black lace. It is fabulous. But actually it is much longer than the picture shows. It is definitely below my knees, even the shortest part. The neck and arms are really low. I need to wear a layer or tank, otherwise too much exploration. I am 5'3 and usually wear XS. this one I think runs large, especially the upper part. But still, it is a wonderful dress. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego
age:21-25
body type:slender
Maybe my bust is too small...?
1.7.2011
" I got this dress in XS (I am 5'3, 110lb, 32B). It runs large, especially around the bust area. From the side, my bra shows a lot... (maybe 'cause I have a small bust, might be different for others). The color is more orange than pink as it shows on this website but it's still cute. I'll be returning this dress only because it didn't fit me right. The dress itself is very beautiful though. Beads and details of the dress is absolutely gorgeous! ahhh~ I wish it fit me better though!! >_< "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Decorated Officer Jacket
4.2 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Tampa, FL
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Just lovely
12.29.2010
" I wasn't sure about this dress, but fell in love with it once it arrived. It fit perfectly, even though the xsmall would have worked a tad bit better with the sleeves--might have to make small adjustment at tailor.
I wish the black had been in stock when I ordered---looks adorable! The peach is light and beautiful though, perfect length. I am 5'2 132 lbs, 34b, 27. 37.5 Can't wait to wear for New Years! "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
2 Stars for Qulaity, and 5 Stars for Looks.
12.29.2010
" While this dress is beautiful, there were some quality issues that I noticed. First of all, the lace slip is very delicate, especially the bust area. ALL of my FP clothes with this type of bust have ripped along the bust cup seam, or across the back seam. Perhaps a stronger fabric? Next, the under slip barely covered my rear end, but that was not really a big deal since I have other slips.Fit wise, it was perfect. The godets were beautiful and gave me a very 50's inspired silhouette. I am usually between M and L, so I sized up for less strain on the fragile bodice cups. The lace dress was easy to wear and just beautiful with the patterned diamonds slip underneath. This dress is worth the price on SALE. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Seattle
age:14-20
body type:pear shaped
Gorgeous!
12.28.2010
" Although the black one is a little... wicked witch-y, I overall love this dress. The fit is very flattering. It might run a teeny, weeny bit large, but not so much that I would recommend sizing down. The lace is super sturdy and doesn't feel like it's about to fall apart. The sequin/beaded detailing is perfect: eye-catching but not over the top. It is quite a bit longer on me than it is on the model, though. (Below the knee.) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:26-30
body type:slender
Great if you can get the right fit
12.16.2010
" I originally ordered this in a size S since reviews indicated the dress ran small. Normally I run anywhere from a XS-S (or even M), and have an hourglass figure (30C, ~118lbs, 5'3"). The S ran too large on me: although it was a perfect length, it was just too loose in the waist and underneath the bust. I was so sad when the dress was sold out and I couldn't exchange. Fortunately, an XS came in stock and I reordered. This is a much better fit, although I couldn't get it over my shoulders and had to slip it over my hips to get it on (no zipper!) In addition to being 1.5-2" shorter, the lining is a bit stiffer on the XS, so I wonder if there is some variation in make/fit for all dresses.
Overall, I do love the flow and aesthetic of the dress, and am much happier with the smaller size. I may add a little sheer cream fabric to the lining to increase its length slightly. I'd suggest trying on in-store if possible, or be willing to exchange for a different size if ordering online.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Clara In Lace
12.4.2010
" This dress is depicted really beautifully online however, there are many shortcomings once the dress is expereienced in person. I think anyone who is not normally a size small or x-small would have trouble fitting into this dress. The slip inside is not as accomadating as the lace dress itself. Also I had trouble getting the slip to align with the top portion of the dress which created a much messier look than depicted on the model. I would definitely recommend trying on in person before buying. "
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:LA
age:26-30
body type:slender
hip issue
12.3.2010
" i do not recommend this for girls with hourglass figure, this dress has a lot of volume at the hips. Boyish-style bodies: rejoice, this dress is beautiful. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada
age:21-25
body type:slender
not exactly what i was hoping for
12.1.2010
" First off, I had wanted to order an xs based on the comments above however they ran out by the time i ordered so i got a small instead. I was really glad i did this as getting the xs on and off (there are no zippers or buttons and the fabric doesn't stretch much) may have been a challenge.
I was really happy with the beading and the colour of the slip. The main thing i was dissatisfied with however was the lace at the bottom. There is a lot more volume than i was expecting and i was hoping it would be more vintage looking and worn in.
"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:California
age:21-25
body type:slender
Unique Dress
11.27.2010
" Very unique dress, got the dress in both colors (black and cream). The black ran a little smaller so I got it in a size Small. The tangerine one I got in a sixe X-Small. The lace is so intricate. The whole dress is very delicate - I'm worried to even have it dry-cleaned!!! Overall, definitely recommend purchasing BOTH colors. :) "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:NYC
age:31-35
body type:slender
White Dress Fails
11.26.2010
" In the photo the slip looks like a soft pink; it's actually a very bright tangerine. The quality isn't great, and the stitching is a bit wonky in some areas. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:SoCal
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
Adorable
11.22.2010
" I bought this dress for my mom's 80th birthday party. I love it and feel like a fairy in it. I didn't realize the slip was going to be as short as it is. It fits like a dream. I can't wait to wear it. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Michigan
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Love this dress
11.22.2010
" Love this dress! The fit is very flattering. Purchased the Ivory dress. Pics don't do it justice. Beeding on the front is stunning. Can't wait to wear this to the christmas party! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 20 for FP-1 Clara in Lace Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:41-45
body type:slender
I Feel Pretty, Oh So Pretty...
11.18.2010
" Well, I got it in XS (5'4",98lbs) and it fit like the Asian model...form fitting, just right. I could see in the back how some gals with a figure might have a problem as with the Casablanca Dress (bunching up between the gathering at back bust line and godets(?) . Anyways, I am going to keep the dress although I am going to have to reinforce (resew) all the beading, and cut a lot of stray black threads underneath from the beading. I've noticed FP-1 clothes are sewn...erratically...so one XS might not fit like another XS. It forces me to go to the store(s) and try on as many as I can find to get the right one, if there is a right one. The concepts of FP-1 clothes are great, but the quality and fit accuracy are horrible. I ordered 2 FP-1 beaded bralettes, same size....both fit differently, and one, as I was taking it out of the bag, had the beading just falling from it....
So, back to the dress...try to find it in a store, try on different ones of the same size, check the beading and sewing, and if you find the right one, it is one pretty dress. If you order online, and it doesn't fit right, you might try exchanging it for another in the same size...it might fit totally different. Anyways...A Simple, funky and even elegant, if need be, dress.
"
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
1 2 next>>