Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Boucle Textured Jacket

Super chic boucle knitted menswear style coat jacket. Collared and button-front closure. Two large front pockets. Inside fully lined. Slit at bottom of back. *95% Polyester, 5% Wool *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length: 33 " Bust: 41" Waist: 40 " Bottom Opening: 41" Sleeve Length: 24 5/8"
overall average rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Customer Reviews for Boucle Textured Jacket
Review 1 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Israel
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
First time purchasing online
3.16.2012
"this was a great first online purchase for me. The sale price can't be beat. I bought the medium, it closes well with thin clothes underneath as well as thick sweaters.
It has gotten a ton of compliments already!
the only negative is that it arrived with one of the buttons missing, and the other buttons were not tightly sewn so I am extra careful if I need to button the coat in order to not loose any buttons. FP, is there something I can do about this?
LOVE the jacket though!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:san francisco, CA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
super versatile
3.9.2012
"very solid coat, great weight for San Fran weather - not too heavy, but keeps you warm. Definitely an oversized fit in the arms and upper back, but I found the bottom half to be pretty true to size. I have a bigger booty, and the medium was a bit tight around the hips, but it fit nicely oversized throughout the rest of the coat. Think the large would look too big on mee. I'm 5'7'', broad shoulders and kinda curvy, around 150 lbs. Usually a size 8-10."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Vancouver
age:14-20
body type:curvy
love it
2.6.2012
"i love this kind of oversize jacket!
i usually buy XS or S in jacket, but i bought M for this one. Love this color as well !
Not too warm but ok.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Youngstown, OH
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Love, love, love this jacket!
1.18.2012
"First puchase from FreePeople and very pleased! Sleeves just right in length. Pleased with quality of manufacturing. I usually get Large in everything but chose medium as most reviews said runs a bit larger and found this to be true. I am 5' 8" and 155 pounds.Hope this helps someone else."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Dallas
age:21-25
body type:athletic
Nice Enough
1.11.2012
"Upfront: I'm docking a point because I found the material to be scratchy. If that didn't bug me, this would've been a 5. The fit is cute, though you'll want to drop a size for a fit like the model. The coat is warm enough for Texas winters, but will not hold up against below freezing temps or anything. /shrug, it is in person exactly what it appears online, just scratchy."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Canada
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Well-made and Cozy
1.5.2012
"This is a great well-made coat and I hope to get good use out of it. I am usually a S in FP and I bought this in a S. It is rather roomy but I think its better that way especially for winter when you will wear layers underneath it. I wouldn't recommend it for really petite girls as I imagine it would be pretty overwhelming as I am almost 5'5 and it is quite long on me, a bit longer than mid-thigh. Overall its a great jacket to wear with a number of looks and I am happy with my purchase."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Idaho
age:21-25
body type:athletic
A little extra room
1.4.2012
"I bought this for my mom, and I got her a size down than she usually gets in FP from the previous reviews. She probably could have worn an XS but the small fit, with a little extra room. Overall a great coat that can be dressed up or down!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:over 45
body type:curvy
Love!
1.2.2012
"I am so glad I bought this coat. It looks so cool with just about everything! It is a cross between and jacket and a coat, not quite heavy enough for a winter coat, but not light enough to use as a blazer. It is a wonderfully made fabric and the fit is very good. I normally like my jackets fit a bit big, but I followed the reviewers and got a medium. It fits very well, I think the large would be too big. I'm 5'8" and usually wear an 8 on top. Wonderful buy because it certainly is a stand out!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Tulsa
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Cool Jacket
12.30.2011
"Love this jacket...so comfortable...and stylish. Looks very nice with jeans or leggings. It's good for the chilly weather without being too heavy."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Bay Area, CA
age:31-35
body type:slender
Amazing. Nuff said.
12.30.2011
"Love the oversized cut of this jacket. It's comfy and just warm enough. Roomy for layering, and looks great with almost everything. But specifically with skinnies and a simple top.
If you like your clothing more fitted this jacket is not for you, but if you like things just a bit loose and slouchy, you need to get this jacket! Like NOW! :)
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:31-35
body type:long and lean
Don't pass up this coat
12.19.2011
"I found this jacket on the Le Deux Velvet Tunic in black. PLEASE!!! If you are interested in this jacket go look up the tunic item yourself to see it worn dressy! Make sure to switch the color of the tunic to see the model wearing it in the last photo. AMAZING!!! Beautiful! I have worn it to church, to shop, to holiday party, and plan to even hit the club with the tunic look. I can not tell you what a deal this jacket is on promo. I would buy this jacket full price. Worth every penny. You will love the versatility. I usually wear a small but glad I went with the XS. I am 5'7 120 lbs and the box look is hot. Go for it!!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Ontario Canada
age:36-40
body type:long and lean
LOVE!!
12.8.2011
"This jacket is so amazing and I am so glad I ordered it. It is flattering and looks great on. I ordered my usual size and it fits like it does on the model. I get lots of compliments and have worn it so much since I got it!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Dallas, Texas
age:26-30
body type:slender
Comfortable and Versatile
12.6.2011
"This jacket runs a little big but is the perfect jacket to layer sweaters/t-shirts under. I wear it with skinny jeans or black leggings."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Edgewood, New Mexico
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
Snugly-Woven Boucle
11.30.2011
"I'm always a little hesitant about boucle textured garments, especially when used as the fabric for outerwear, but in this case the weave is tight enough that snagging will be a minor concern. It's really quite a lovely, three-dimensional, softly-nubby surface. Soft enough to provide drape, yet tailored enough to offer a spacious overcoat that can encompass a heavy sweater for winter wear. This is a very well made jacket/coat - fully lined, with deep patch pockets, and a back vent. It has the reminiscence of a man's trench-coat, but all the subtle shaping to make it uniquely womanly. I generally wear a size XS in Free People clothing, but sized up to a S in this one thinking that I'd want extra room for layering. As it turns out, the Extra-Small would have been sufficient, but I chose to keep the Small because the boxy shoulder design probably makes the size distinction negligible. I love the longer length; at 5'9" tall it reaches to the middle of my thighs - a nice length to cover short dresses and a perfect break between tall boots over skinny jeans. An ideal go-to classic!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Melbourne Australia
age:over 45
body type:pear shaped
as pictured
11.16.2011
"I was a bit surprised by feel of fabric initially which is unlike any of my other wool/synthetic mix jackets, it's quite a different feel, not soft. On second feel I decided it will be fine, it's just more coat-ish than jacket. It's heavy and will be very warm especially with a knit beneath for winter. Looks same as photo's and I like that it's fully lined. The pockets are higher than I'm used to but will still work. A very true to 80's style (I was there!) Narrowing to thighs so it doesn't look boxy. It's long, good with skinny pants."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:long and lean
Textured jacket
11.13.2011
"LOVE LOVE LOVE!!
Super cute
Looks good with everything.
Boxy but flattering
Bought an xs
5'9" 120LBS
"
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 17 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Ohio
age:over 45
body type:petite
gigantic
10.28.2011
"If your petite dont order this. I loved it when I saw it but it is huge! I'm 5'1"and 95 lbs and ordered the XS. I could have fit two of me in this jacket. However, it is beautiful and well made. It just won't fit petites."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 18 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:pa
age:21-25
body type:slender
lovely boucle jacket
10.22.2011
"As soon as I saw this jacket in the october catalogue I knew I had to have it. I was initially stuck between buying an XS or S because it is intended to have a more oversized boxy fit, but I went with the S (figuring I will probably be wearing thick sweaters underneath it). After trying it on, the S is a little roomy and I probably could have gone with an XS (i'm 5'5 115lbs.) and still be able to wear sweaters underneath it. However, I found the fit of the S to be very similar to how it fits the model here if that helps! It is lined so it's pretty warm... I'm just hoping it can withstand an east coast winter because the longer length and coziness of this jacket are just perfect!"
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 19 for Boucle Textured Jacket
Name:
Location:Redondo Beach, CA
age:21-25
body type:slender
The Ultimate Jacket/Coat
10.21.2011
"This jacket is just as fantastic as it is pictured on the model. Well tailored, it fits just the way you would want a coat of this weight to fit. The boucle texture is both subtle and interesting and the black, white, and grey flecks are a great alternative to print. The lightness of the jacket lends itself to versatility and I see this being worn as a long blazer and an overcoat. Overall a fantastic timeless style you will be pleased to see in your closet as a go-to!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large