Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Guatemalan Fringe Crossbody

Mini multicolor woven blanket cross body purse with tassel detailing all across the bottom. Made out of hand woven Guatemalan blankets. Flap opening and metal coin and suede fringe detailing. Long strap is woven and removable. Because the blankets used to create this bag are hand woven, no two bags are exactly alike. This is a Free People exclusive! *Textile, Suede *Made in Los Angeles, USA *8 1/2" depth, 6" width across front *28 1/2" strap drop, 3 1/2" fringe length
overall average rating:
2.2 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Customer Reviews for Guatemalan Fringe Crossbody
Review 1 for Guatemalan Fringe Crossbody
Name:
Location:TN
age:14-20
body type:petite
My Favorite Purse... Ever!
9.8.2012
" I bought this bag about a month ago, and I waited this long to write a review on it in case it broke like many other reviews said it would; however, it's perfect! Whenever I received it, I sewed some reinforcement stitches right where the strap connects to the purse and it's still in great condition! I even carry around in it my wallet, camera, and phone! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Guatemalan Fringe Crossbody
Name:
Location:San Antonio
age:over 45
body type:curvy
poor workmanship
8.25.2012
" Purchased this bag for a special event but couldn't use it. As I was walking out my front door, the strap broke. I stitched it back on and tried again. Before I even made it out of the parking lot, the button fell off. I ditched the bag in the car and later returned it to the store. The manager told me that every one of these purchased from her store were returned for poor workmanship and they were being removed from inventory and returned to corporate. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Guatemalan Fringe Crossbody
Name:
Location:Austin
age:26-30
body type:petite
Unique bag and strap
6.19.2012
" I got this bag in rose and it is exactly as pictured. I really like the shoulder strap, it's very unique. The fringe at the bottom is a little tangled but overall the purse is very cute. The shoulder strap is a little long but you can tie a knot to shorten it. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Guatemalan Fringe Crossbody
Name:
Location:Tempe, AZ
age:21-25
body type:slender
worst product ever
6.11.2012
" I purchased this in stores for Coachella this past April. I decided to use it the day before we were leaving to see how much it could hold, and within an hour the strap broke where it connects to the body of the purse. I took it back to the store and received another, since it was the bag I was using while at the mall, I took my glasses case and wallet out of the old one and put it in the new one and left the store. It broke by the time I reached the Nordstrom parking lot. I went back and got yet another of these same super terrible, horrible bags. This time I was walking out of the store (I put my glasses case and wallet in a Free People bag so the bag was completely empty at this point) and despite being empty the bag broke at the same place yet again. I have never been so disgusted with product quality. I mean this bag retailed for like $50, that's not super expensive, but you can get the same bag in Mexico for $8 and it will last you years. This product is cute, but it is beyond reproach how cheaply made it is. I would buy it again and reinforce all the stitches, but I don't know how. Sorry, but forget about this product if you aren't pretty handy with a needle and thread. "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Guatemalan Fringe Crossbody
Name:
Location:northeast
age:41-45
body type:long and lean
I Should Have Read These Reviews First!
5.18.2012
" I could have saved a trip back to the store if I had read these reviews before I bought it. So cute, but the strap broke after an hour of use. If you have your heart set on this one, you must reinforce the loops that attach the bag to the clips. My guess is, it will probably still come apart because those little loops didn't just break open, they frayed. Not worth $50!! "
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Guatemalan Fringe Crossbody
Name:
Location:Chicago
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Reinforce the Strap
4.30.2012
" This purse was too cute! I saw the reviews stating that the strap broke, so I reinforced mine with some hand stitched. The strap can be taken off and worn as a little belt. Also, you can use the strap clips to hook unto your belt loops to make the most adorable little hands-free pack. I got the orange and the colors were a little different, but beautiful. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Guatemalan Fringe Crossbody
Name:
Location:California
age:14-20
body type:petite
Disappointed
4.8.2012
" SO CUTE in person, and the colorful strap is adorable. I got a ton of compliments in the first few minutes I was wearing it. However, the strap broke the first night I wore it ;( it's also smaller than it looks in the picture. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
little bit tight
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Guatemalan Fringe Crossbody
Name:
Location:Italy
age:41-45
body type:curvy
very small and poor quality
3.28.2012
" It is a very little and a poor quality. Somehow I expected it to be a slightly larger, but a bag is of size of my palm, hardly for mobile phone and a wallet, nothing more. And looks a bit like a toy-bag, not for real use. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 9 for Guatemalan Fringe Crossbody
Name:
Location:new york
age:21-25
body type:petite
broken bummer
3.23.2012
" Got this bag for my bday from my family. It is the cutest bag ever, fell in love with it the minute I saw it. I wore it for less than an hour and the strap broke off. Clearly, this bag isnt made well at all. Its sad because the bag is so cute. "
Response from Free People:By Free Peopleweb3.27.2012
We're sorry to hear this! We can help with a gift return. Please contact us at service@freepeople.com with your order number and we can walk you through the process of exchanging or returning a gift.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 10 for Guatemalan Fringe Crossbody
Name:
Location:philadelphia
age:21-25
body type:slender
Not well made
3.18.2012
" I really liked the way this bag looked, so unique. I thought it would be perfect for concerts and summertime outings. Unfortunately, the very first night I took it out the strap completely broke and I spent the rest of the night holding a busted bag. I only had my cell phone and wallet in the purse so there's no reason why the bag should have broken, I hate to say it but it's just poorly made. I would stay away from this one. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5