Product Reviews

Retro Sleeve Dress

Retro printed dress with 3/4-length sleeves with button front closure. Outer side of sleeves are decorated with an embroidered floral design with cutout detailing. . Cinched at the waist with light ruching. Bottom of dress has double layered pleats. *51% Viscose, 49% Cotton *Machine Wash Cold *Import Measurements for Size Small: Length in front: 34 1/2" Length in back: 33 3/4" Bust (all around): 37" Armhole Drop: 9" Sleeve Length (from shoulder): 18"
overall average rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Retro Sleeve Dress
Review 1 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:New Jersey
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
adorable but not perfect
12.6.2012
"I didn't think much of this dress online, but fell in love with it in the store; it's comfortable and a great mix of casual and dressy. I went a size down because it definitely runs loose. The fabric is pretty delicate so I've been super careful of pulling at any of the seams because I can definitely see it pulling apart, so I guess you have to weigh how careful you are with your clothing against the price of this dress and how cute it is. It really is so different, and I get compliments on it all the time, but my main issue with it is that once you stain it in any way it seems like it'll never come out, something about the material holds onto stains, which is a real bummer since the color is so light. But the sleeves are gorgeous, the dress is comfy, and it hangs really nicely on if you size down."
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Florida
age:14-20
body type:slender
Seems fragile, but is hanging in there
11.27.2012
"This dress is more thin than I had imagined it to be. I have it in the cream color. It's very nice for a day when you don't want to think about your outfit, while still looking fashionable of course!"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Sydney
age:21-25
body type:pear shaped
Love it love it
11.21.2012
"Love this dress sooooooooo much! The color is what you see from the web, I bought the sea color and size small, I'm 173cm and 60kg, is a little bit loose than what I respect for, Anyway it's a beautiful dress and worth the price! Thanks FB! I love YA!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:los angeles
age:21-25
body type:petite
inconsistent product
10.9.2012
"I have this dress in blue in an extra small that I bought in the summer, which I'm in love with and wear all the time. I saw that they brought it back online and in another color so I got really excited and headed to the store to purchase it in the new white color. I wanted to try it on before buying it, and the fit was SO DIFFERENT than the one I own. It was WAY bigger, it just didn't fit as well and looked dumpy. I was very disappointed because I really wanted the dress, but the fit was just awful; the waist was so much bigger."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Melbourne, Australia
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Love it!
8.22.2012
"I was a bit iffy about buying this dress after reading the reviews that had been left, but I took the plunge and decided to purchase a size M. As I live in Australia, the sizing is a bit different, and as I have a much larger chest than the average (34 E), I wasn't sure if the M would fit, but it fits perfect. I love the drop waist, it suits my larger bust and hips and is a great length. The only thing I would say is that the elastic in the hem of the sleeves is quite tight, but not too tight that it is uncomfortable. Overall, a gorgeous dress."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Southeast Asia
age:31-35
body type:slender
Hmm
8.16.2012
"I ordered this in blue, and though it looks like it would be a flattering fit, it wasn't. Well, not on me anyway. The top half is really boxy and the sleeves kind of accentuate the shapelessness of the dress and made me look like I had huge arms. The skirt half is cute though, and a nice length (I'm 5'7, 120lbs) It also runs really big. It could probably work if you sized down and paired it with a belt. Unfortunately I had to return this. It just didn't work for me, although the concept of it is cute."
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:NY
age:26-30
body type:slender
Yikes
7.30.2012
"This looks great on the model. They must have it clipped in back. I bought this in an extra small (color: antique) and its super roomy/baggy around the waist. It looks ridiculous. I'd also like to mention that it's very see through. Very, very. I tossed a slip on under and it just felt bulky and uncomfortable. The material is heavy and really not great for summer. What a shame."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Washington
age:14-20
body type:long and lean
Lovely but....
7.17.2012
"I ordered this dress for my High School graduation and it is a lovely dress but it is certainly flawed... First off it is very sheer (in the white), I had to wear a slip and very plain underwear. Secondly it is much more roomy on me than pictured and I bought a small and lastly it is VERY short!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am fairly tall (almost 5'9) but I figured the models were too and it almost goes to their knees... Well on me it was a mini mini dress, I had to be very careful of sitting, bending and truthfully even walking which was not pleasant. All of that aside I received lots of compliments and it does have pockets which it a major plus for me! So if you are fairly short and okay with a sheer dress this could work for you!"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 9 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Atlanta
age:21-25
body type:petite
NOT FOR ME!
6.24.2012
"105 lb 5'2 32D 24inch waist bought XS
this dress made me look so fat! also it was so baggy in the waist.. also kind of long. Its pretty, not a huge fan of the material. I can see it looking good on someone who is tall and lean. No for someone petite!
I see XS is sold out now, ill be returning mine so if your looking for one one will b back in stock soon :)"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:glendale,ca
age:36-40
body type:hourglass
gorgeous!
6.24.2012
"The first time I saw this dress on line I told myself I gotta have it! I bought the ivory and I was very impressed by the quality and the embroidery design around the arms, well done! Size wise it's a little roomy, you may want to go one size down and if you are tall the length is slightly short."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 11 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:wichita
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
NOPE
6.8.2012
"I ordered the sea blue color, and all though it was pretty, a great length, and well made it was not for me. You def. will need to jazz this up A LOT. The fabric is not good for summer either. If you are on the fence keep looking. Hope this helps."
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Hawaii, USA
age:14-20
body type:slender
BEAUTIFUL!
6.4.2012
"i bought this dress after seeing karlie kloss wear it in the catalog an i'm so glad i did! it's very beautiful and vintage looking-- very unique. the only problem is that this thing is huge! i'm 5'4 103 lbs 32A chest (so on the small side), i got an xs and i was swimming in this dress! the elastic band didn't fit me so i had to get this dress tailored and even after that i feel like it still doesn't fit well. however, i wore this to the hunger games premiere a few months ago hoping that it would look like the dress katniss wears at the reaping, and it was fantastic! i still love it. i'm glad to see that they added it in white too :)"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
age:26-30
body type:pear shaped
Spring Revival Piece
2.26.2012
"Once again FP does it again...another gorgeous dress that I love! The color is amazing in person and as the other reviewers said it does run a size larger. For reference, I am 5'7 with a 34B bust and 26" waist. So glad I was able to get this dress while it lasted!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Catasauqua, PA
age:over 45
body type:petite
Retro Sleeve Dress
2.15.2012
"I like this dress, it's very comfy, but I am petite (4'10") and weigh about 95 pounds. I got a size medium because of my 38C chest...but the dress is HUGE on me. I washed it thinking/hoping it might shrink a little, but it doesn't appear to have shrunk. I'll wear it, but I was hoping it would fit me better. Very nice dress, bit expensive."
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 15 for Retro Sleeve Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
VINTAGE LOVE
2.14.2012
"I absolutely looooove this dress. One of the best quality pieces I've bought from Free People. The material is very high quality and is cut very well. The colors are more true to the online photos however and are not as pale as they look in the catalogue photos. This dress also runs pretty big. I am normally a medium in dresses (and in free people), but I ordered a small and it still feels very roomy---you definitely want this still to hang more loosely, but I still think I'm going to try to exchange this for an extra small because this is just a bit too big. Definitely recommend this dress to girls who love the look of vintage , and who know that vintage pieces embody a certain style and quality that is hard to come by in affordable modern day clothing--this piece does!
Giving it four stars because my dress has a defect! The cut-outs on the sleeves are only on one of them!..Even if I keep the small, I'll be exchanging it for one that is not defective.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large