Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Free People.

Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress

Sheer printed buttondown tunic with mesh inset on the shoulders and upper back. One front pocket at bust. High-low hem. *100% Polyester *Hand Wash *Import Measurements for Size Small: Front Length: 36 " Back Length: 45" Bust: 38"
overall average rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Customer Reviews for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Review 1 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:New York City
age:21-25
body type:slender
One of my Favorite
9.18.2011
" I got this dress in medium b/c there was no small or xs and then I saw the small, so I returned M, and now there is xs... I am usually size xs, but I will probably just keep small since their shipping is super slow.
I am 5'6" and 120lbs and size A.. and it is very roomy and loose, but I really did not see much difference in Medium and Small. I think any size would have been loose on me. They were all baggy, but I love that look, and that look fits me, so I am very happy with it. Material is very good and it has different pattern inside, which is a beautiful detail. I also love how it is long in the back. "
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 2 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:tx
age:21-25
body type:curvy
gorgeous dress...
9.2.2011
" ...for me. however i can't imagine how a true sm/xs size girl would wear this seeing as i'm normally a large and the small still gives me a lot of room. fp has the slowest shipping i have ever experienced, but i guess i will let this one slide only cause i love this dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 3 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:central Texas
age:21-25
body type:petite
not as expected
8.26.2011
" Let me start off by saying I love the print of this dress, and the contrast print on the inside is darling. It is fairly sheer and very large, both of which weren't entirely clear from the photos online. The front portion hits just at the knee on my 4'11" 98lb frame. I just disappear under the shapeless fabric in my usual size XS. It looks decent belted however, which is the only reason I'm keeping it. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 4 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:Los Angeles
age:26-30
body type:slender
Beautiful Casual Dress
8.25.2011
" Just got this dress in the mail and I love it! Defiantly need to wear a slip underneath it. I It looks great dressed up or dressed down. A really nice piece, beautiful material and defiantly worth the sale price. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 5 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:OK
age:26-30
body type:hourglass
Pretty but not for me
8.20.2011
" The fabric is beautiful. I got an extra small, and it still fit me like a sack. I realize it is supposed to be loose, but it really caused my shape to disappear. I plan to exchange this dress for something more flattering on me. "
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 6 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:Darwin, NT, Australia
age:21-25
body type:hourglass
Romantic yet casual
8.18.2011
" I am 168cm, 60kgs, 32D-DD. Ordered the XS.
I sized down for this dress, I am usually a small or size 4. Great buy, very relaxed. The rose print gives it a romantic feel while the collar keeps it casual. The inside of the longer back skirt has a contrast floral print, very cute (not sure that the photo's shows this).
I will wear a black slip under this, as it is a little see-through.
"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 7 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:Colorado
age:26-30
body type:athletic
Love this dress
8.18.2011
" Living in the mountains I am always looking for clothes that I can wear year-round. This is that kind of piece! I wore this to work the other day with a little crocheted sweater and a belt and it looked great. It's so comfortable. I can see wearing it with leggings and a sweater in the winter. I also really like how the print on the outside differs from the print on the inside. I almost want it to be reversible since I love the colors on the underside so much. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 8 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Great dress!
8.16.2011
" Just received this dress and it's beautiful. It's VERY loose so if shift dresses aren't for you then don't buy this. I wore mine with a belt with most of the extra fabric gathered in the back and my husband said it looked great. The only complaint I have is that it is really big under the arms, I wish the shoulders and under arm area fit normally rather than so loose. You will need a slip or something to wear under this though. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Charmene Platform
4.2 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 9 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:San Diego, CA
age:31-35
body type:curvy
Nice but runs very large
8.15.2011
" I'm 5'8", 175...athletic/curvy and this thing is HUGE...(bought the large)...just a warning. I'm not going through the trouble of exchanging...just gonna belt it and keep it. Good quality, etc. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 10 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:Halifax, NS
age:14-20
body type:slender
Stunning!
7.27.2011
" I am so happy with this dress. There are a million ways to wear it and each is more beautiful than the next. The fact that the back is longer than the front is a very nice unique detail. It is very VERY shapeless but that's something I love about it. It looks great with both sandals and boots making it a great piece for all seasons. I'm 5"4 and 115 pounds and the XS is perfect. Check out the "How to Style: Day Dress" video on Free People's Youtube for some ideas on how to style it. It really is a great dress that I'll have a long time. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Craftsman Waist Belt
4.1 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
Forenza Waist Belt
2.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 11 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:Idaho
age:26-30
body type:long and lean
Love!!!!!
7.25.2011
" Let me start by saying if you are a size small or X small don't even try this because you will be swimming. I am a size medium 5'10 and 145lb and I got a small and probably could have worn the xs even better, and I have large shoulders and am on the busty side.
That said if this fits it's great!!!!! It's so soft, and flowing, and I feel like a million $$$ in it. I am really excited to wear it in the winter with a 3/4 sleeve black scoop neck and jeans.
"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
runs large
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 12 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:NJ
age:over 45
body type:long and lean
This Dress Is All Kinds of Awesome
7.25.2011
" I wear this over leggings and sandals now. It'll be perfect with leggings, boots and a long jacket or cardi come Fall. Super comfortable, airy and floaty...runs big so you may want to go down a size. My only complaint? I kind of like the mille fleur lining better than the outside print...and the lining is nowhere you can see it on the outside. I hoped that the dress was reversible and the description just failed to mention it, but no such luck. I love this dress! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 13 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:va
age:21-25
body type:petite
Did not like
7.20.2011
" I ordered this piece after it went on sale. I had my eye on it for a while. I figured it would be extreemly versitle and was looking forward to all the different ways i could wear it but I was very dissapointed when it came. I'm 5'2 105lbs, this garment is not for someone of this size. I ordered it in an XS, it is big and baggy and on either side there is a strange amount of extra fabric that sort of stick right out. I tried belting it, that only seemed to make it worse. The fabric of course is wonderful and soft(FP is always a winner there) And the print is lovely. I wanted to like it, but I had to return it. "
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 14 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:Southern California
age:41-45
body type:pear shaped
so many ways
7.19.2011
" There are so many ways to wear this dress. I wore it with the leapard print shorts from fp under and a cami, as it is sheer. I am looking forward to wearing it like a lovely sheer vest over some of the maxi dresses I have. Would look great over flare jeans, as well. I am really happy with this dress. It is sheer. On me, 5"5" the front hits above the knee. There is alot of flowy fabric, which I love. "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
little bit loose
runs small
true to size
runs large
 
My Product Recommendations
Floral Burnout Tube Dress
4.4 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
Ripped Up Maxi Skirt
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 15 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:------------
age:21-25
body type:athletic
See Through!
6.19.2011
" There's no shape, it's a shift all the way down. The underside has a different subtle pattern, and you can only just see it in person. It's completely see-through and it does not come with a slip. I'm 5'4'', 120 lbs, and bought the XS. It's a little longer on my frame, but otherwise it looks the same as the fifth picture. It's great with belts, too. "
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sizing:
roomy
runs small
true to size
runs large
Review 16 for Sheer Printed Collar Buttondown Day Dress
Name:
Location:Tucson
age:over 45
body type:athletic
Lovely and graceful!
6.19.2011
" I just received this and it is another homerun from FP! I was a little concerned when I ordered it because the sizing shown on the web site states the bust size for a small as 38. I am usually between a medium and large so I was worried the large would be huge. I called them and they stated the small is actually a 32 bust, med 34 and lg 38. I am a 38c so I ordered the large and it is perfect. It's a shirt dress so it does fit loosely so I could have sized down for a tighter fit but I am glad I went with the large. I am 5'10" the front hits a little above the knee while the back is longer like on the model. The print is beautiful and the inside also has a very pretty floral pattern. The fabric is very soft. I usually do not like polyester but this feels more like a soft rayon. If I didn't see the polyester on the tag I would have guessed it was another fabric. This can be worn with a belt or open with something under it or with leggings when it gets cool. It can be dressed up or down. It feel very classy.The print is absolutely beautiful. I am very happy with my purchase. Thank you FP! "
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sizing:
true to size
runs small
true to size
runs large